Education Committee reports to Academic Committee


Professor Anthony Smith

Who to contact

Ms Lizzie Vinton

for agendas and minutes; apologies for absence 
020 3108 7603


Academic Manual
Key Resources for Staff
UCL Committees

Education Committee

Constitution and Membership for 2017-18

Where the name of a committee member appears in square brackets, this indicates that member’s second or subsequent appearance in the committee’s membership.

Number in brackets to the right-hand side of a committee member’s name indicates length of continuous service in years, up to and including the 2016-17 session. Length of service is not indicated for ex officio and student members, or for observers.

Ex officio

Vice-Provost (Education and Student Affairs) (Chair) Professor Anthony Smith
Chair, Academic Regulations and Quality Assurance Sub-Committee
Professor Norbert Pachler
Chair, Quality Review Sub-Committee
Professor Tim McHugh
Director of Academic Services Mr Derfel Owen
Director of Education Planning
Ms Clare Goudy
Registrar Ms Wendy Appleby
Students' Union Education Officer Ms Sarah Al-Aride
Students' Union Welfare & International Officer Ms Aiysha Qureshi
Students' Union Postgraduate Students' Officer Mr Mark Crawford

Faculty Tutors:
Arts and Humanities Dr Arne Hofmann
Brain Sciences  Dr Julie Evans
Built Environment Vacancy
UCL Institute of Education  Dr Tracey Allen
Engineering Sciences Dr Simon Banks
Laws Ms Olga Thomas
Life Sciences Dr Hazel Smith
Mathematical and Physical Sciences Vacancy
Medical Sciences  Ms Blathnaid Mahony
Population Health Sciences  Dr Mike Rowson
Social and Historical Sciences [Dr Arne Hofmann]


One member of staff of UCL Arena, nominated by the Director of UCL Arena

  • Dr Dilly Fung (3)

One member of staff of the Finance and Business Affairs Division, nominated by the Director of Finance and Business Affairs

  • Mr Ian Davis (-)

One member of staff of the Information Services Division, nominated by the Director of Information Services

  • Dr Fiona Strawbridge (7)

One member of staff of Library Services, nominated by the Director of Library Services

  • Ms June Hedges (7)

One taught graduate student, nominated by the Students' Union

  • To be notified

One undergraduate student, nominated by the Students' Union

  • To be notified


Three academic staff - including at least one professor and one non-professor - elected by and from among the professorial and non-professorial academic staff members of Academic Board

  • Dr Ben Clifford (1)
  • Professor Eva Sorensen (1)
  • Professor Angie Wade (1)


  • Ms Stefanie Anyadi (-)
  • Dr Helen Matthews (-)
  • Dr Aeli Roberts (-)

Secretary Ms Lizzie Vinton

Terms of Reference

Subject to any general or particular direction that may from time to time be given by the Academic Committee, the Education Committee is charged by Council:

1. On behalf of Academic Committee, to define, monitor and review UCL strategy, policy and procedure in respect of UCL's taught students (including undergraduate and postgraduate-taught students) relating to:

i. student registration;

ii. student attendance at, and completion of, programmes and examinations;

iii. UCL’s Academic Regulations governing taught programmes;

iv. The annual and periodic review of the academic standards and the quality of the student experience on taught programmes;

v. the operation of UCL's student complaints procedures for taught students and monitoring thereof by consideration of an annual report thereon;

vi. all aspects of the taught student experience.

2. On behalf of Council and Academic Committee, to monitor and review the implementation of UCL’s Education Strategy.

3. To approve new taught programmes and their subsequent amendment and withdrawal.

4. To define, monitor and review UCL Academic Regulations governing the approval and review of programmes of study and their constituent modules.

5. To maintain oversight of the UCL Programme and Module Approval, Amendment and Withdrawal Procedures and to receive reports on proposals for new programmes and the amendment and/or withdrawal of existing programmes.

6. To consider reports of the Quality Review Sub-Committee on the maintenance of standards and the quality of the student experience at UCL.

7. To maintain oversight of UCL’s Academic Partnerships that involve UCL credit and qualifications.

8. To receive an annual report on the proceedings of Faculty Teaching Committees/equivalent bodies within Faculties, during the preceding 12 months.

9. To submit for approval by the Academic Committee recommendations for the award and revocation of taught degrees of UCL and of the University of London.

10. To refer to the Academic Committee such matters as the Education Committee deems to entail academic standards, quality assurance, or student experience implications which require the attention of Academic Committee.

11. To report to the Academic Committee by (i) the submission of an annual report on the work of the Education Committee in the preceding 12 months, and (ii) the submission to the Academic Committee officers of the Minutes of each meeting of the Education Committee.

12. To consider any matters referred to or delegated to it by Academic Committee and to express opinions on such references or such other matters as seem relevant to it.

Meeting Dates 2017-18

  • Monday 30 October 2017, 11.00am
  • Wednesday 13 December 2017, 2.00pm
  • Wednesday 28 February 2018, 2.00pm
  • Thursday 26 April 2018, 10.00am
  • Tuesday 12 June 2018, 2.30pm
  • Thursday 19 July 2018, 10.00am