Department of Spanish, Portuguese & Latin American Studies

Contact Details

Ms Clare Szembek
(Departmental Co-ordinator Mon-Wed)

Ms Alex Lopez Alvarez
(Departmental Co-ordinator Wed pm-Fri am)

tel 020 7679 3109;
internal extension X33109;

Dr Humberto Núñez-Faraco
(Head of Department)

tel: 020 7679 4332;
internal extension X34332;


Departmental Coordinators

Ms Alex Lopez Alvarez (Wednesday pm - Friday am)

Ms Clare Szembek (Monday - Wednesday)

Academic Staff

Dr Zoltán Biedermann
Senior Lecturer in Luso Brazilian Studies

Dr Jo Evans
Senior Lecturer in Spanish Film and Literature

Dr Tyler Fisher
Lecturer in Peninsular Literary Studies

Professor Stephen M. Hart
Professor of Latin American Film, Literature and Culture

Dr Claire Lindsay
Reader in Latin American Literature and Culture

Dr Deborah Martin
Lecturer in Latin American Cultural Studies

Dr Humberto Núñez-Faraco
Lecturer in Spanish-American Literature

Dr Alexander Samson
Lecturer in Golden Age Literature

Dr Ana Cláudia Suriani da Silva
Lecturer in Portuguese Studies

Dr Gareth Wood
Senior Lecturer in Post-1800 Spanish Peninsular Literature

Teaching Fellows

Dr Stephen Fay

Diego de Jesús Flores-Jaime

María Teresa Forteza-Rey

Dr Guadalupe Gerardi

Dr Guillermo Laín Corona

Dr Rhiannon Mcglade

Mazal Oaknin

Joana Rita Ramalho

Emeritus Professors and Honorary Research Associates

Dr María del Pilar Blanco
Honorary Lecturer

Mrs Maria Darnley
Associate Staff

Dr Francesca Denegri
Honorary Research Associate

Professor Evelyn Fishburn
Honorary Professor

Professor Angel María García Gómez
Emeritus Professor of the University of London and Honorary Professor of UCL

Dr Robert Goodwin
Honorary Research Associate

Dr David Henn
Emeritus Reader of the University of London and Honorary Reader of UCL

Professor Alberto Moreiras
Honorary Professor

Professor Peter Standish
Honorary Senior Research Associate

Professor Jason Wilson
Emeritus Professor of the University of London and Honorary Professor of UCL