SELCS
Facebook IconTwitter iconSoundcloud IconYouTube IconLinkedIn Icon

Contact Us

Postal Address:

School of European Languages, Culture & Society
University College London
Gower Street
London
WC1E 6BT
Fax:
+44 (0)20 3108 4034
or +44 (0)20 7679 3589
Location of Department:

33-35 Torrington Place, London, WC1E 7LA

View Torrington Place on map

(Bloomsbury Campus - see UCL maps)

Key Staff Contacts

 
School Director Dr Dilwyn Knox
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3509
Internal: 33509
Room: 1.4, 33-35 Torrington Place
Office hours: Contact Amy Connolly for appointments
d.knox@ucl.ac.uk
School Manager
Catherine Ballade
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 4368
Internal: 34368
Room: 1.1, 33-35 Torrington Place
Office hours: Monday to Friday, 10am - 12.30pm and 2pm - 5pm
c.ballade@ucl.ac.uk
School Departmental Coordinator Team Leader Els Braeken
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3113
Internal: 33113
Room: Room 346, Third Floor, Foster Court
Office hours: Monday to Friday, 10am - 12.30pm and 2pm - 4pm (term time only)
Email: e.braeken@ucl.ac.uk
Finance & Staffing Officer Farbin Begum
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3046
Internal: 33046
Room: 1.3, 33-35 Torrington Place
Office hours:
farbin.begum@ucl.ac.uk
Departmental Equal Opportunity Liaison Officer (DEOLO)
Dr Novella Mercuri
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3272
Internal: 33272
Room: G4, 33-35 Torrington Place
Office hours: by appointment
m.mercuri@ucl.ac.uk

Undergraduate

 
Undergraduate Admissions Tutor Dr Kevin Inston
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3081
Internal: 33081
Room: 209, 1 - 4 Malet Place
Office hours: Thursdays 2 - 4pm
k.inston@ucl.ac.uk
Admissions Officer Joe Tilley
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3096
Internal: 33096
Room: 1.2, 33-35 Torrington Place
Office hours: Monday to Friday, 10am - 1pm and 2pm - 4pm. Other times by appointment.
joseph.tilley@ucl.ac.uk
Undergraduate Tutor Dr Isabelle Moreau
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3085
Internal: 33085
Room: 110, 1 - 4 Malet Place
Office hours: Thursdays 2 - 4pm or by
appointment
i.moreau@ucl.ac.uk
Undergraduate Officers

Caroline Lenihan
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 4339
Internal: 34339
Room: 1.2, 33-35 Torrington Place
Office hours: Monday to Friday, 9am - 5pm
selcs.yearabroad@ucl.ac.uk
selcs.affiliates@ucl.ac.uk

Karin Charles (Part-time)
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 7176
Internal: 37176
Room: Scandinavian Studies Office = Room 205, 17 Gordon Square/ SELCS Office = Room 1.2, 33-35 Torrington Place
Office Hours:

  • Mondays – SELCS
  • Tuesdays – Scandinavian Studies
  • Wednesdays – Scandinavian Studies
  • Thursdays – Scandinavian Studies
  • Fridays – SELCS Office

k.charles@ucl.ac.uk

Undergraduate Examinations Tutor




Professor John Dickie
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3988
Internal: 33988
Room: 355, Foster Court
Office hours: by appointment
j.dickie@ucl.ac.uk
Examinations Officer
Dr Novella Mercuri
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3272
Internal: 33272
Room: G4, 33-35 Torrington Place
Office hours: by appointment
m.mercuri@ucl.ac.uk

Postgraduate

 
Postgraduate Programmes Tutor Professor Andrew Leak
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3079
Internal: 33079
Room: 107, 1-4 Malet Place
Office hours: Tuesdays 2pm – 3pm and Wednesdays 11am – 12pm
a.leak@ucl.ac.uk
Postgraduate Officer Patrizia Oliver
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 7024
Internal: 37024
Room:
Office hours:
patrizia.oliver@ucl.ac.uk
 Admissions Officer








Joe Tilley
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3096
Internal: 33096
Room: 1.2, 33-35 Torrington Place
Office hours: Monday to Friday, 10am - 1pm and 2pm - 4pm. Other times by appointment.
joseph.tilley@ucl.ac.uk

Research

 
Research Director

Professor Andrew Leak
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3079
Internal: 33079
Room: 107, 1-4 Malet Place
Office hours: Tuesdays 2pm – 3pm and Wednesdays 11am – 12pm
a.leak@ucl.ac.uk

Postgraduate Officer Patrizia Oliver
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 7024
Internal: 37024
Room:
Office hours:
patrizia.oliver@ucl.ac.uk
Admissions Officer Joe Tilley
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3096
Internal: 33096
Room: 1.2, 33-35 Torrington Place
Office hours: Monday to Friday, 10am - 1pm and 2pm - 4pm. Other times by appointment.
joseph.tilley@ucl.ac.uk

Year Abroad & Study Abroad

 
Affiliate Tutor Dr Mererid Davies
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 2576
Internal: 32576
Room:402, German Dept, 17 Gordon Square
Office hours: Thursdays 12 noon - 2pm 
mererid.davies@ucl.ac.uk
Year Abroad Tutor Dr Katherine Ibbett
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3075
Internal: 33075
Room: 108, 1-4 Malet Place
Office hours: Tuesdays 10am - 11am and 2pm - 3pm
k.ibbett@ucl.ac.uk
Year Abroad & Affiliate Officer Caroline Lenihan
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 4339
Internal: 34339
Room: 1.2, 33-35 Torrington Place
Office hours: Monday to Friday, 9am - 5pm
selcs.yearabroad@ucl.ac.uk
selcs.affiliates@ucl.ac.uk

Public Engagement

 
Public Engagement Tutor Dr Debbie Martin
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3107
Internal: 33107
Room:
Office hours: Mondays 12pm - 1pm and Tuesdays 4pm - 5pm
deborah.martin@ucl.ac.uk