2013 Neuroscience Symposium

21 June 2013, Institute of Education

The 2013 Neuroscience Symposium, hosted by the UCL Neuroscience Domain, took place at the Institute of Education on Friday June 21 2013. A blend of more than 720 Neuroscientists from across the community joined us this year to find out more about the latest research in neuroscience at UCL, share expertise and enhance relationships.

There were two very busy poster sessions which featured almost 150 research and lab posters across 6 themes, as well as a well-attended ECN Networking Event and Wine Reception.


This year’s Symposium featured Cambridge’s Prof Nicky Clayton as keynote speaker, and she gave a talk on ‘Ways of thinking: from crows to children and back again.

We also had 3 sessions of talks which featured 8 speakers from UCL who included:

Professor Maria Fitzgerald – Department of Neuroscience, Physiology & Pharmacology); Painful beginnings: The development of nociceptive circuits

Dr Parashkev Nachev – Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience; Turning brain science on its head

Professor John Hardy – Institute of Neurology; Finding genes for disease: The endgame

Professor Alex Thomson – School of Pharmacy; Cortical circuitry: How far have we come and where are we going?

Professor Kenneth D. Harris – Institute of Neurology and Department of Neuroscience, Physiology & Pharmacology; Integration of internal and external signals in sensory cortex

Dr Joerg Albert – Ear Institute; From the sense of sound to a sense of time: The mechanosensory bases of fruit fly behaviour

Professor Patricia C. Salinas – Department of Cell and Developmental Biology; The birth and death of synapses

Dr David Osborn – Mental Health Sciences Unit; Hearts and minds: Targeting cardiovascular risk in people with schizophrenia

Early Career Neuroscience Prize

The 2013 Early Career Neuroscience prize was won by Dr Fernando Bartolome-Robledo (Junior Category Joint Winner), Dr Julija Krupic (Junior Category Joint Winner), and Dr Christoph Schmidt-Hieber (Advanced Category).

The prize aims to recognise outstanding work published in the past year by early career UCL neuroscientists in any field of neuroscience, and is awarded in two categories; junior scientist (PhD students or post-docs with up to 3 years post-doc experience) and advanced scientist (from 4 and up to 10 years post-doc experience). Winner received a cash prize and had the chance to present a talk on their winning paper at the Symposium.

Junior Category (Joint Winners)

Dr Fernando Bartolomé-Robledo – Institute of Neurology

Winning Paper – Pathogenic VCP mutations induce mitochondrial uncoupling and reduced ATP levels. Neuron 78: 57-64 (2013). Bartolomé F, Wu HC, Burchell VS et al

Dr Julija Krupic - Department of Cell and Developmental Biology

Winning Paper – Neural representations of location composed of spatially periodic bands. Science 337, 853-7 (2012). Krupic J, Burgess N and O’Keefe JK.

Advanced Category

Dr Christoph Schmidt-Hieber - Wolfson Institute for Biomedical Research

Winning Paper – Cellular Mechanisms of Spatial Navigation in the Medial Entorhinal Cortex. Nature Neuroscience 429:184–187 (2013). Schmidt-Hieber C and Häusser M.