News and Events

Read all the latest news within the Division of Psychology and Language Sciences.


PALS_Silver_SWAN_Small

Read more about the PALS Swan Silver Award


Divisional Subject Pool

Access and sign up for the Divisional Subject Pool.


Green Issues

The Division has won the Silver Award for the UCL Green Impact scheme


CPD@PaLS Courses

The Division runs Continuing Professional Development courses.


MPhil/PhD Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences

| Information About | Other Programmes in the Division

Content

Information about Research in Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences

  • Our internationally leading research on the perception and production of speech spans the disciplines of phonetics, hearing, perception, neurobiology and computational modelling.
  • Basic science connects to practical applications addressing hearing impairment, atypical perceptual and cognitive development, language training, and security/forensic technologies.
  • We share a refurbished building and state-of-the-art laboratory facilities with UCL Developmental Science, Language and Communication, and Linguistics.
  • We have close ties to the Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience and the UCL Ear Institute, and industrial links with major cochlear implant manufacturers and companies in the speech technology sector.

Structure

General Information about Studying for an MPhil/PhD in our Department:

Full-time: 3 years, including the time registered as an MPhil student, and if the thesis is not submitted within this time then students may register as Completing Research Students for 1 additional year.

Part time: 5 years, including the time registered as an MPhil student, and if the thesis is not submitted within this time then students may register as Completing Research Students for 2 additional years.

Staff

Research Topics

Research Topics within the Department of Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences.
 
Accents, sociophonetics, and talker interaction
Bronwen Evans bronwen.evans@ucl.ac.uk
Valerie Hazan v.hazan@ucl.ac.uk
Mark Huckvale m.huckvale@ucl.ac.uk
Paul Iverson p.iverson@ucl.ac.uk
 
Audiovisual speech perception
Andrew Faulkner a.faulkner@ucl.ac.uk
Valerie Hazan v.hazan@ucl.ac.uk
Jyrki Tuomainen j.tuomainen@ucl.ac.uk
 
First and second language acquisition
Bronwen Evans bronwen.evans@ucl.ac.uk
Valerie Hazan v.hazan@ucl.ac.uk
Paul Iverson p.iverson@ucl.ac.uk
Yi Xu y.xu@ucl.ac.uk
 
Hearing, hearing impairment, and language disorders
Andrew Faulkner a.faulkner@ucl.ac.uk
Valerie Hazan v.hazan@ucl.ac.uk
Stuart Rosen s.rosen@ucl.ac.uk
Jyrki Tuomainen j.tuomainen@ucl.ac.uk
 
Neuroimaging of speech processing
Andrew Faulkner a.faulkner@ucl.ac.uk
Paul Iverson p.iverson@ucl.ac.uk
Stuart Rosen s.rosen@ucl.ac.uk
Jyrki Tuomainen j.tuomainen@ucl.ac.uk
 
Speech recognition in noise and degraded conditions
Bronwen Evans
bronwen.evans@ucl.ac.uk
Andrew Faulkner a.faulkner@ucl.ac.uk
Valerie Hazan v.hazan@ucl.ac.uk
Mark Huckvale
m.huckvale@ucl.ac.uk
Stuart Rosen s.rosen@ucl.ac.uk
Jyrki Tuomainen j.tuomainen@ucl.ac.uk
 
Speech technology
Mark Huckvale m.huckvale@ucl.ac.uk
Yi Xu y.xu@ucl.ac.uk
 
Tone, prosody, emotion and pitch processing
Andrew Faulkner a.faulkner@ucl.ac.uk
Yi Xu y.xu@ucl.ac.uk
 

Careers

Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Science Careers

Recent graduates have secured academic positions in speech or hearing science in the UK at institutions such as Kingston University, City University, Manchester University, and UCL; and across the world at the University of Canterbury (New Zealand), and University of Washington. They have secured positions in the speech technology industry in companies such as Microsoft and Toshiba UK.

Scholarships

Scholarship Opportunities

Further information about funding and scholarships can be found here http://www.ucl.ac.uk/psychlangsci/research/speech

Admin contacts

PhD Administrator: Natalie Berry n.berry@ucl.ac.uk