News and Events

Read all the latest news within the Division of Psychology and Language Sciences.


PALS_Silver_SWAN_Small

Read more about the PALS Swan Silver Award


Divisional Subject Pool

Access and sign up for the Divisional Subject Pool.


Green Issues

The Division has won the Silver Award for the UCL Green Impact scheme


CPD@PaLS Courses

The Division runs Continuing Professional Development courses.


MPhil/PhD Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience

| Information About | Other Programmes in the Division

Content

Information about Research in Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience Research Department:

The Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience (ICN) is an interdisciplinary cross-departmental research department within the Division of Psychology and Language Sciences (PaLS) in UCL’s Faculty of Brain Sciences. Researchers at the ICN are drawn from many different research departments. ICN is also a central part of UCL Neuroscience , which facilitates a wide range of potential PhD opportunities.

Structure

General Information about Studying for an MPhil/PhD in our Division:

The PhD commences in late September/early October and runs usually for three years (full-time students) or for five to seven years (part-time students).

As all students initially register for an MPhil degree, in order to progress to their registration for a PhD degree, they must pass an upgrade examination. This takes place towards the end of the first term of the second year of study for three-year PhDs.

In the first year of a PhD the student will be expected to engage in certain MSc modules and research methods courses to enable the development of necessary skills (for example, practice in analysis of statistical data, computer programming and critical literature evaluation).

Some ICN PhD students are funded through four-year programmes, whereby the first year is spent on rotation in three labs of the student’s choice. This enables the student to get a flavour of the research carried out in different departments and also broadens his/her choices. The second year of study is therefore effectively the first year of the PhD proper, and the upgrade takes place at the beginning of the third year. Links to some four-year programmes from which students have come to the ICN in previous years can be found here:

http://www.icn.ucl.ac.uk/PhD-Students/index.php?Membertype=STD

The application process for these programmes differs from a standard PhD, and details can be found on the relevant four-year programme websites.

Staff

Research Topics

Research Topics within the Department of Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience
 
Action
Patrick Haggard
p.haggard@ucl.ac.uk
 
Attention and Cognitive Control
Nilli Lavie
n.lavie@ucl.ac.uk
 
Awareness
Geraint Rees
g.rees@ucl.ac.uk
 
Cognitive Electrophysiology
Leun Otten
l.otten@ucl.ac.uk
 
Cognitive Neurology
Masud Husain
m.husain@ion.ucl.ac.uk
 
Clinical Neurophysiology and Memory
Emrah Duzel
e.duzel@ucl.ac.uk
 
Cognitive Neuropsychiatry
Jonathan Roiser
j.roiser@ucl.ac.uk
 
Developmental
Sarah-Jayne Blakemore
s.blakemore@ucl.ac.uk
Uta Frith
u.frith@ucl.ac.uk
 
Metacognition and Executive Functions
Paul Burgess
p.burgess@ucl.ac.uk
Tim Shallice
t.shallice@ucl.ac.uk; shallice@sissa.it
 
Motor Control
Joern Diedrichsen
j.diedrichsen@ucl.ac.uk
 
Numeracy and Literacy
Brian Butterworth
b.butterworth@ucl.ac.uk
 
Space and Memory
Neil Burgess
n.burgess@ucl.ac.uk
 
Speech Communication
Sophie Scott
sophie.scott@ucl.ac.uk
 
Visual Cognition
Vincent Walsh
v.walsh@ucl.ac.uk
 
Visual Communication
Mairead MacSweeney m.macsweeney@ich.ucl.ac.uk

Careers

Cognitive Neuroscience Careers

Many students who complete an ICN PhD stay in academia, either going on to become postdoctoral researchers or research assistants, and usually progressing to lectureships. Some go on to further training in fields such as clinical psychology, educational psychology, consultancy or applied research. A PhD degree taken at the ICN is recognised both nationally and internationally as a qualification of the highest status. ICN is a much sought-after institution because PhD students and early postdoctoral researchers find that there is a wealth of advice and counselling available to them from highly experienced senior academics. Many ICN PhD students and those taking up early career postdoctoral positions have progressed to exciting opportunities in positions both within academia and also outside it (for example in private industry and in the media, notably in the field of public engagement with science).

Scholarships

Scholarship Opportunities

ICN scholarship opportunities can be found at this link: http://www.icn.ucl.ac.uk/PhD-Students/index.php?Membertype=STD

A list of UCL’s neuroscience-related PhD programmes and scholarships is provided on the UCL Neuroscience website at this link:

http://www.ucl.ac.uk/neuroscience/prospective-students/doctoral

Admin contacts

PhD Administrator: Rosalyn Lawrence rosalyn.lawrence@ucl.ac.uk