News and Events

Read all the latest news within the Division of Psychology and Language Sciences.


PALS_Silver_SWAN_Small

Read more about the PALS Swan Silver Award


Divisional Subject Pool

Access and sign up for the Divisional Subject Pool.


Green Issues

The Division has won the Silver Award for the UCL Green Impact scheme


CPD@PaLS Courses

The Division runs Continuing Professional Development courses.


MPhil/PhD Experimental Psychology

General Information About MPhil/PhD Research Programmes

Content

Information about Research in Experimental Psychology Research Department:

Research focuses on behaviour and its neural underpinnings and covers behavioural neuroscience, perceptual and cognitive sciences and cognitive neuroscience. Members of the research department are directly involved in several research centres and institutes including the ESRC Deafness, Cognition and Language (DCAL) Research Centre, the Institute of Behavioural Neuroscience (IBN), the Birkbeck/UCL Centre for Neuroimaging (BUCNI) and the Centre for Mathematics and Physics in the Life Sciences and Experimental Biology (CoMPLEX). Research facilities available to members of staff comprise state-of-the-art equipment for most types of behavioural research, scanning facilities (MRI), eye- and motion-tracking facilities as well as TMS facilities.

For more information about the Research Department, including a list of members of staff and their research interests, please see http://www.ucl.ac.uk/psychlangsci/research/cpb

Structure

General Information about Studying for an MPhil/PhD in our Division:

The MPhil/PhD programme commences in late September/early October for full-time students.  UCL regulations require that initial registration is for the MPhil degree until the student upgrades to a PhD candidate in their second year.

First year students take a range of courses designed to equip them for research. including two Masters-level modules relevant to their thesis work, a course in either Statistics or Qualitative Methods, and a research methods seminar.  These are designed to help them develop key research skills such as the ability to critically evaluate the literature in an area or to perform advanced statistical analyses.  Second year students are expected to upgrade to PhD candidates through a combination of a written submission and an oral presentation of the work completed to date.  The full-time PhD typically lasts for 3 years, including the time registered as an MPhil student, and if the thesis is not submitted within this time then students may register as Completing Research Students for 1 additional year. The Division is assessed on how many PhD students finish on time.

For the duration of the PhD, a research student works with a staff member who is their principal supervisor, responsible for directing their research training.  A second supervisor also provides additional guidance and monitors progress.

For information on part-time study for a research degree in the division, click here

Part-time study for a research degree

The Division offers the MPhil/PhD programme on a part-time basis, although the majority of students register on a full-time basis. The academic criteria and selection process are identical to those for the full-time PhD.

The programme of study for a part-time PhD may be completed in a minimum of 3 years; it typically lasts for 5 years, and if the thesis is not submitted within this time then students may register as Completing Research Students for 2 additional years. The Division is assessed on how many PhD students finish on time.

Candidates are expected to work no less than 50% of full-time on the PhD project for the duration of the PhD. Part-time PhD students need to demonstrate that they will be able to actively pursue the PhD project throughout the relevant period, and will have sufficient time and commitment to sustain the amount of research activity needed to complete their studies. For many part-time PhD students, the PhD project is linked to employment on a funded research project involving the supervisor.

Staff

PhD Supervisors
 
Francesca Cacucci
f.cacucci@ucl.ac.uk
Shelley Channon
s.channon@ucl.ac.uk
Kearsy Cormier
k.cormier@ucl.ac.uk
Sarah Crawford
s.crawford@ucl.ac.uk
Ruud Custers
r.custers@ucl.ac.uk
Joseph Devlin
joe.devlin@ucl.ac.uk
Ana Guinote
a.guinote@ucl.ac.uk
Adam Harris
adam.harris@ucl.ac.uk
Nigel Harvey
n.harvey@ucl.ac.uk
Peter Howell
p.howell@ucl.ac.uk
Kathryn Jeffery
k.jeffery@ucl.ac.uk
Alan Johnston
a.johnston@ucl.ac.uk
David Lagnado
d.lagnado@ucl.ac.uk
Bradley Love b.love@ucl.ac.uk
Daniel Richardson dcr@eyethink.org
Jennifer Rodd j.rodd@ucl.ac.uk
Marty Sereno m.sereno@ucl.ac.uk
David Shanks d.shanks@ucl.ac.uk
Tali Sharot t.sharot@ucl.ac.uk
Hugo Spiers
h.spiers@ucl.ac.uk
Gabriella Vigliocco g.vigliocco@ucl.ac.uk
Bencie Woll b.woll@ucl.ac.uk

A summary of their research interests and the group each of them lead can be found at this link:

https://www.ucl.ac.uk/psychlangsci/research/CPB/people/

Research Topics

Research Topics within the Department of Experimental Psychology
 
Behavioural Neuroscience
Francesca Cacucci
f.cacucci@ucl.ac.uk
Kathryn Jeffrey
k.jeffery@ucl.ac.uk
Hugo Spiers
h.spiers@ucl.ac.uk
 
Cognitive and Decision Sciences
Adam Harris
n.lavie@ucl.ac.uk
Nigel Harvey
n.harvey@ucl.ac.uk
David Lagnado
d.lagnado@ucl.ac.uk
Brad Love
b.love@ucl.ac.uk
David Shanks
d.shanks@ucl.ac.uk
Tali Sharot
t.sharot@ucl.ac.uk
 
Language and Cognition
Shelley Channon
s.channon@ucl.ac.uk
Joseph Devlin
joe.devlin@ucl.ac.uk
Jenni Rodd
j.rodd@ucl.ac.uk
 
Multimodal Communication
Bencie Woll
b.woll@ucl.ac.uk
Kearsy Cormier
k.cormier@ucl.ac.uk
Gabriella Vigliocco
g.vigliocco@ucl.ac.uk
 
Social Cognition
Ruud Custers
r.custers@ucl.ac.uk
Ana Guinote
a.guinote@ucl.ac.uk
Dan Richardson
daniel.richardson@ucl.ac.uk
 
Perception
Peter Howell
p.howell@ucl.ac.uk
Alan Johnston
a.johnston@ucl.ac.uk
Martin Sereno
m.sereno@ucl.ac.uk
 

Careers

Experimental Psychology Careers

Many students who complete a PhD in the department stay in academia, either going on to become postdoctoral researchers or research assistants, and ultimately lecturers. Some go on to further training in fields such as clinical psychology, educational psychology, consultancy or applied research. A PhD degree taken here is recognised both nationally and internationally as a qualification of the highest status.

Scholarships

Scholarships

UCL has been selected as a Doctoral Training Centre by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) and the Division can offer a small number of ESRC funded PhD Studentships. These are available to UK/EU students only.

The Division also awards a number of Demonstratorships/Teaching Assistantships. These involve a set number of hours teaching but also allow time for MPhil/PhD study. These awards include a stipend and tuition fees for MPhil/PhD. They are open to UK/EU and International Students.

UCL also awards a small number of Graduate School Research Scholarships on a competitive basis. Students must be first nominated by the Research Department in order to apply. These Scholarships are open to UK/EU or Oversees students (full stipend, or fees only).

Other sources of funding include the UCL Grand Challenges studentship programme, UCL Graduate Research Scholarships, UCL Overseas Research Scholarships, and the 4 year Welcome Scholarship. Prospective supervisors may also be able to suggest sources of funding related to their specific topic of interest.

Individual members of staff may sometimes be able to support students with the help of research funds that they have obtained from the Research Councils or from various charities or other funding bodies. In this latter case, students usually enrol on a part-time basis.

Overseas Students

There are several sources of funding available specifically for overseas students to undertake graduate training in the UK. Some funding is awarded on a competitive basis by UCL to students nominated by their Departments (e.g. UCL Graduate School Scholarships). Other sources of funding require students to apply independently, (e.g. British Council, Commonwealth, Chevening, WHO and NATO Scholarships, Government or Employers' Schemes). It is important to make early enquiries about these independent schemes (up to a year in advance).

Scholarship Opportunities

UCL ESRC-MRC Multidisciplinary PhD Studentships for students starting in 2014

An up-to-date list of funding opportunities can be found at:

http://www.ucl.ac.uk/prospective-students/scholarships/graduate

FURTHER INFORMATION

Please click on the link below for further information

UCL Graduate Prospectus

Admin contacts

PhD Administrator: Antonietta Esposito
a.esposito@ucl.ac.uk