News and Events

Read all the latest news within the Division of Psychology and Language Sciences.


PALS_Silver_SWAN_Small

Read more about the PALS Swan Silver Award


Divisional Subject Pool

Access and sign up for the Divisional Subject Pool.


Green Issues

The Division has won the Silver Award for the UCL Green Impact scheme


CPD@PaLS Courses

The Division runs Continuing Professional Development courses.


Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences

People


Academic | Executive Officer | Researchers  | Emeritus | Honorary |

Academic Staff
patti.jpg
Patti Adank
Lecturer
p.adank@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 9041
Research: Neurobiology of speech processing
bronwen.jpg
Bronwen Evans
Lecturer
bronwen.evans@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4089
Research: Experimental Phonetics.
andy

Andy Faulkner
Professor of Speech and Hearing Science

Head of Research Department of Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
a.faulkner@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4075

Research: Speech perception in normally-hearing and hearing-impaired listeners, audio-visual speech perception, psychoacoustics of normal and impaired hearing, speech signal processing in hearing aids and cochlear implants, assessment of speech perceptual ability.
val.jpg
Valerie Hazan
Professor of Speech Sciences
v.hazan@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4076
Research: Development of phoneme categorisation in normally-hearing and hearing-impaired children and in second-language learners; effects of listener- and speaker-related factors on speech intelligibility; effects of auditory and auditory-visual training for second-language learners.
mark.jpg
Mark Huckvale
Senior Lecturer
m.huckvale@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4087
Research: Speech and language technology as a means to model human language processing and to build a conversational interface to computers.
piverson.jpg
Paul Iverson
Reader in Speech Sciences
p.iverson@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4237
Research: Speech perception, language learning and development, cochlear implants, musical timbre
srsmall.jpg
Stuart Rosen
Professor of Speech and Hearing Sciences
s.rosen@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4077
Research: Perceiving speech in noise; The interface between hearing and speech; Auditory processing in developmental disorders (dyslexia and
specific language impairment); Hearing impairment; Functional
neuro-imaging of speech processing; Improving speech processing schemes
for users of cochlear implants.
jyrki.jpg
Jyrki Tuomainen
Senior Lecturer
j.tuomainen@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4214
Research: Audio-visual speech perception and attention; processing of verbs and nouns; speech motor disorders.
yi2.jpg
Yi Xu
Reader in Speech Sciences
yi.xu@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4082
Research: Mechanisms of speech production; melodic aspect of speech; intonation modeling, synthesis and recognition; and speech perception as it is related to production.
Researchers
marine.jpg

Marine Ardoint
Research Associate

m.ardoint@ucl.ac.uk


+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4235

Research: Speech perception with cochlear implants and hearing aids. auditory processing of temporal fine structure
Tim Green

Tim Green
Senior Research Fellow

tim.green@ucl.ac.uk

+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4098

Research: Speech processing for cochlear implants; pitch perception in cochlear implant users; auditory attention, especially in relation to frequency selectivity
kath

Kathleen McCarthy
Research Associate

kathleen.mccarthy@ucl.ac.uk

Research: Development of speech perception
melanie
Melanie Pinet
Research Associate
m.pinet@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4094
Research: My main research interests are focused on L1 and L2 accent interactions in noise, bilingual speech processing and general aspects of L2 speech perception and production.
silhouette-f.jpg

Outi Tuomainen
Research Associate

o.tuomainen@ucl.ac.uk

 
Honorary
Santitham_1.JPG

Santitham Prom-on

santitham@cpe.kmutt.ac.th

Research: Modelling speech prosody based on communicative function and articulatory dynamics
katrin

Katrin Skorrupa
kskor@essex.ac.uk

Currently Lecturer in Psychology, University of Essex

Research: The linguistic development of children with hearing impairment using conventional hearing aids or cochlear implants. How various acoustic cues help children with and without hearing impairment in building up their native syntax and vocabulary, and in the role of these acoustic cues in allowing children to segment the otherwise continuous speech stream into words. Studies will involve both behavioural and electro-physiological (EEG) measurements.
young_shin_kim
Young Shin Kim
Honorary Research Associate
young.s.kim@ucl.ac.uk
Lecturer from 2014 at Seoul National University
Research: Nasals and nasality; Korean learners' perception and production of English speech
 
Emeritus
evelyn2.gif

Evelyn Abberton
Honorary Senior Research Fellow
e.abberton@ucl.ac.uk

Research:  Voice and intonation description and analysis in normal and disordered speech and hearing; interactive displays in the (re-) habilitation of speech and hearing disorders and in foreign language learning; speech perceptual and productive development in deaf children.
michael.jpg
Michael Ashby
Honorary Senior Lecturer
m.ashby@ucl.ac.uk

Research:  EFL: treatment of vowels in weak syllables, stress in phrasal verbs and idioms; general phonetic theory (especially the nature of phonetic categorisation by trained observers); English intonation (again from EFL/pedagogical angle).
adrian1.gif
Adrian Fourcin
Emeritus Professor of Experimental Phonetics
a.fourcin@ucl.ac.uk

Research:  Speech perception and production; Spoken Language Engineering.
jill2.jpg
Jill House
Teaching Fellow
j.house@ucl.ac.uk
Research:  Phonology and phonetics of prosody (stress, intonation); discourse prosody; intonation and pragmatic interpretation; modelling prosody for text-to-speech synthesis; phonetics of present-day English and French.
johnm2.gif John Maidment
Retired
j.maidment@phon.ucl.ac.uk
Research:  The history of /r/ in English phonology; how speech differs with rate of speaking; laryngeal characteristics of adults' speech directed toward children; phonology of (English) intonation; phonetics and phonology of Irish; ejectives: their occurrence and phonological patterning in the languages of the world.
roger2.gif Roger Moore
Visiting Professor
r.k.moore@dcs.shef.ac.uk
Research: Speech technology research and development.
johnwells.gif

John Wells

Emeritus Professor of
Phonetics
j.wells@ucl.ac.uk

Research:  EFL-oriented English phonetics; phonetics in lexicography, including the investigation of speakers' pronunciation preferences, multilingual comparative phonetics: symbolization, notation; English accents.
 
Executive Officer
silhouette-f.jpg
Richard Jardine
Executive Officer
r.jardine@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4245
Executive Officer to Head of Department.

Academic | Executive Officer | Researchers  | Emeritus | Honorary |

Back to Top