News and Events

Read all the latest news within the Division of Psychology and Language Sciences.


PALS_Silver_SWAN_Small

Read more about the PALS Swan Silver Award


Divisional Subject Pool

Access and sign up for the Divisional Subject Pool.


Upcoming Events




Linguistics

People


Academic  | Researchers | Associated Staff | Emeriti | Research Students | Executive Officer |

Academic Staff
klaus.jpg
Klaus Abels
Reader in Linguistics
k.abels@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4061
Research:  Syntactic theory; universal aspects of word and morpheme ordering; representational and computational properties of syntax and the relation between them;
richardb2.jpg
Richard Breheny
Reader in Linguistics
r.breheny@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4039
Research: Semantics, pragmatics, the development of semantic and communicative competence, psycholinguistics (experimental pragmatics), philosophy of psychology and linguistics.
robync
Robyn Carston
Professor of Linguistics
robyn.carston@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4037
Research: Pragmatics, semantics, non-literal uses of language, tropes and imagery, cognitive processing, cognitive architecture, philosophy of language, communication and interpretation, theory of mind and metarepresentation.
judit.jpg
Judit Druks
Senior Lecturer
j.druks@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4261
Research: Semantic, syntactic and morphological impairments in aphasia and dementia: syntactic comprehension deficits in aphasia, impairments of grammatical morphemes and prepositions in aphasia, acquired dyslexia and noun-verb differences in different populations.
harris.jpg
John Harris
Professor of Linguistics
john.harris@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4042
Research: Phonological theory; phonetics-phonology interface; phonological disorder; variation and change in English.
nathank.jpg
Nathan Klinedinst
Lecturer in Pragmatics
nathank@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4062
Research: Meaning and communication in natural language, as a part of the cognitive sciences.
silhouette.jpg
Geoff Lindsey
Teaching Fellow
g.lindsey@ucl.ac.uk

Research:

http://englishspeechservices.com/blog

ad_2013.jpg
Ad Neeleman
Head of Research Department, Professor of Linguistics
a.neeleman@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4045
Research: Syntactic theory; the interaction between syntax and other linguistic modules; the flexibility of syntactic structures.
a_nevins.gif
Andrew Nevins
Professor of Linguistics
a.nevins@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4278
Research: Phonological and Morphological Theory; Improved Empirical Foundations of Linguistic Data Collection. Recent Research Includes: Whistled Languages, Conjunct Agreement, Reduplication, Ergativity, Diminutive Formation, Clitic Restrictions.
nausica.jpg
Nausicaa Pouscoulous
Lecturer in Pragmatics
n.pouscoulous@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4073
Research: Theoretical and experimental pragmatics, semantics, the development of pragmatic and communicative competence, language acquisition, philosophy of language.
matthew_reeve_sm.jpg
Matthew Reeve
Teaching Fellow
m.reeve@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Syntactic theory; the syntax of clefts and other copular sentences; the relation between syntax and information structure; rightward 'movement' phenomena; the syntax of Russian; ellipsis phenomena (especially gapping); binding theory (especially Condition C).
a_santi.jpg

Andrea Santi

Lecturer in Neurolinguistics
a.santi@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44(0) 20 7679 4017

Research: Neurolinguistic and psycholinguistic studies of syntactic processing with an emphasis on syntactic dependencies; neurocognition of semantic memory and its relation to language.
silhouette.jpg Yasutada Sudo
Lecturer in Linguistics
y.sudo@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44(0) 20 7679 4021
Research: Formal semantics/pragmatics, syntax-semantics interface.
kriszta.jpg
Kriszta Szendroi
Senior Lecturer
k.szendroi@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4063
Research: Syntax and its interfaces, particularly topic and focus, acquisition of syntax and semantics; language processing.
hans2.jpg
Hans van de Koot
Reader in Linguistics
h.v.d.koot@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4049
Research: Syntax; dependencies; the relation between syntax and syntax-external systems (argument structure; information structure); the relation between competence and performance.
Researchers
silhouette.jpg
Dirk Bury
Honorary Research Associate
Research: Syntax, theories of phrase structure, syntax of Welsh and other verb-initial languages, language change
Nino Grillo

Nino Grillo

FCSH-CLUNL-Universidade Nova de Lisboa
Honorary Research Associate

Research: Processing and representation of syntax, event structure and the availability of passivization in the nominal and verbal domain, attachment preferences and universality of parsing principles, language acquisition and breakdown.
silhouette-f.jpg
Alison Hall
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
a.hall@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Pragmatics, philosophy of language, semantics, in particular the semantics-pragmatics distinction, pragmatic enrichment and lexical pragmatics.
luisa.gif
Luisa Marti
Honorary Research Fellow
Research: Meaning and communication in natural language, as a part of the cognitive sciences.
cilene.jpg

Cilene Rodrigues
Honorary Research Fellow

cilene.rodrigues@ucl.ac.uk

+ 00 44 (0) 20 7679 4048

Research: Romance linguistics, dialectal variation. Specialization: morpho-syntactic variation: Number & gender agreement and null subjects.
paularubio.gif

Paula Rubio Fernandez

Postdoctoral Researcher

Research: Theoretical and experimental pragmatics, psycholinguistics, social cognition and communication, figurative language, word processing.
MikaSato
Mikako Sato
Honorary Research Associate
mikako.sato@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Psycholinguistics (L1/L2 development and processing; automaticity of the sentence processing routines; processing of structural dependencies; the mental lexicon); Language acquisition, especially in relation to conceptualisation, categorisation and the interface between language and perception; Bilingualism
Associated Staff
Daniel_Rothschild_image Daniel Rothschild
Reader in Philosophy of Language (Philosophy Department)
d.rothschild@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Semantics, pragmatics, and philosophy of language, with a focus on modals, conditionals, questions, descriptions, implicature, presupposition, and dynamic semantics.
samek_lodovici_image Vieri Samek-Lodovici
Reader in Linguistics (Department of Italian)
v.samek-lodovici@ucl.ac.uk
Research:  Syntactic theory; the syntax of focus and givenness, the syntax-prosody interface, optimality theory.
Emeriti
brody.jpg

Michael Brody
Emeritus Professor of Linguistics
m.brody@ucl.ac.uk

Research: Syntactic theory (in the principles and parameters and the minimalist frameworks); the development of elegant syntax in which apart from a near trivial core that specifies possible representations, standard functions of syntax are reassigned to interpretive components.
hudson.jpg

Richard Hudson

Emeritus Professor of Linguistics

r.hudson@ucl.ac.uk

Research: His main area of research is Word Grammar, which embraces all of language (syntax, morphology, semantics and maybe even phonology) and integrates it with general cognition. It has implications for theories of social variation, the psychology of language processing, acquisition (i.e. learning) and even language teaching. He is interested in developing all these areas of theory, but even more interested in applying the theory to description. He also has a strong non-research interest in disseminating linguistics through the schools.
neilsmith.jpg Neil Smith
Emeritus Professor of Linguistics
+ 44 (0)20 7679 4021
Email: n.smith@ucl.ac.uk or smthnv@gmail.com
Research: Language acquisition and psycholinguistics more generally; the Savant Syndrome; general Linguistic theory and its philosophical implications; pragmatics; Chomsky's linguistic and political thought.
deirdre.jpg

Deirdre Wilson
Emeritus Professor of Linguistics

+ 44 (0)20 7679 4021
deirdre.wilson@ucl.ac.uk

Research: Pragmatics, semantics, style, poetics, philosophy of language.
moira2.jpg Moira Yip
Emeritus Professor of Linguistics
Email: m.yip@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7679 0684 (x30684)
Research: Phonology, Optimality Theory, tone, morphophonology, Chinese linguistics.
 
Research Students
zoe_belk
Zoë Belk

Research Student
zoe.belk.09@ucl.ac.uk

Research: DP syntax, and particularly prepositional and adjectival modifiers of nouns; linearity and adjacency constraints; ordering restrictions.
natalia.jpg Natalia Cichosz
Research Student
n.cichosz@ucl.ac.uk

Research: Argument structure and case assignment in dative experiencer contructions.
harris_c.jpg Harris Constantinou
Research Student
h.constantinou@ucl.ac.uk


Research: The cross-linguistic distribution of Intensifiers and Reflexives

felicity.jpg Felicity Deamer
Research Student
f.deamer@ucl.ac.uk

Research: Figurative language processing and lexical pragmatics.
Giulio_Dulcinati Giulio Dulcinati
Research Student
g.dulcinati.11@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Experimental pragmatics.
silhouette-f.jpg Elizabeth Eden
Research Student
elizabeth.eden.11@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Measuring language distance through phonological parameters and constraint ranking; Historical Linguistics; Corpus collection and compilation; Phonetics and Phonology.
Patrick Elliott Patrick Elliott
Research Student
p.elliott@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Syntactic and semantic theory; Syntax-semantics interface; Pragmatic theory; Ellipsis phenomena (especially clausal ellipsis); Degree constructions; Binding theory
matthew2.jpg Matthew Gotham
Research Student
m.gotham@ucl.ac.uk

Research: Lexical, compositional and pragmatic factors in predication and semantic anomaly.
claire_scahill.jpg

Claire Grant

Research Student
claire.c.grant@ucl.ac.uk

Research: The development of morphology and syntax in child English.
s_green.jpg Sam Green
Research Student
sam.green.10@ucl.ac.uk

Research: Phonological development in infants, and language acquisition in general; phonetics; corpora (use and creation); psycholinguistics; models and methods of learning.
jiri2.jpg

Jiri Kaspar
Research Student

jiri.kaspar.10@ucl.ac.uk

Research: Syntactic theory; syntax-morphology interface; homophonous functional categories; left periphery; tag and echo questions; restrictions on scrambling.
Ya-Fang Lu Ya-Fang Lu
Research Student
ya-fang.lu.10@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Tone processing in Mandarin-speaking children with autism
Diana Mazzarella

Diana Mazzarella
Research Student

diana.mazzarella.11@ucl.ac.uk



Research: Semantic underdeterminancy, lexical pragmatics and figurative uses of language.
nick1.jpg
Nick Neasom
Research Student
nicholas.neasom.10@ucl.ac.uk

Research: Phonological theory, in particular synchronic and diachronic chain shifts; phonological typology; learnability experiments.
isabelle.jpg

Isabelle Needham-Didsbury
Research Student

isabelle.needham-didsbury.10@ucl.ac.uk



Research: Figurative language processing, in particular the role of metaphor in psychotherapy
panitz.jpg
Ezekiel Panitz
Research Student
e.panitz.11@ucl.ac.uk

Research: Syntactic theory; locality; areas of syntax in which locality constraints are circumvented (sluicing, resumption, and wh-in-situ questions).
Thanasis Soultatis Thanasis Soultatis
Research Student
athanasios.soultatis.11@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Syllable structure and repair strategies in modern Greek dialects.
silhouette-f.jpg Chao Sun
Research Student
uczlsun@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Experimental pragmatics, particularly on-line comprehension of conversational implicatures.
silhouette-f.jpg Irini Symeonidou
Research Student
i.symeonidou@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Psycholinguistics, experimental pragmatics, social cognition
misako2.jpg Misako Tanaka
Research Student
misako.tanaka.10@ucl.ac.uk

Research: Syntax-semantics interface; scope freezing and the contrast between covert and overt scope shift.
k_tang.jpg Kevin Tang
Research Student
kevin.tang.10@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Investigation of naturalistic "Slips of the Ear" using statistical and computational modelling, particularly with English and Chinese languages; Corpus collection and compilation; Constrain models of diachrony with synchronic data; Psycholinguistics; Speech (mis)perception; Speech segmentation; Phonetics and Phonology.
y_tian.jpg Ye Tian
Research Student
ye.tian.09@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Experimental pragmatics, especially negation processing and quantifiers in natural languages.
silhouette-f.jpg Catalina Urquiza Arribas
Research Student
catalina.arribas.10@ucl.ac.uk



Research: Word meaning, lexical pragmatics and the role of memory traces
maria2.jpg Maria Varkanitsa
Research Student
maria.varkanitsa.09@ucl.ac.uk
Research Interests: Syntactic and morphological impairments in the language of Greek-speaking patients with aphasia.
xiaobei.jpg Xiaobei Zheng
Research Student
xiaobei.zheng.10@ucl.ac.uk



Research: Common ground; theory of mind.
 
Executive Officer
silhouette.jpg Richard Jardine
Executive Officer
r.jardine@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4245
Executive Officer to Head of Department