News and Events

Read all the latest news within the Division of Psychology and Language Sciences.


PALS_Silver_SWAN_Small

Read more about the PALS Swan Silver Award


Divisional Subject Pool

Access and sign up for the Divisional Subject Pool.


Green Issues

The Division has won the Silver Award for the UCL Green Impact scheme


CPD@PaLS Courses

The Division runs Continuing Professional Development courses.


Language and Communication

People


Academic  | Research Staff | Research Students | Emeritus | Affiliates | Honorary | Executive Officer |


Academic
suzanne.jpg
Suzanne Beeke
Senior Lecturer
s.beeke@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4215
Research:  Interaction between people with acquired disorders (particularly aphasia) and significant others; the application of Conversation Analysis to the study of acquired disorders and therapy interactions; the comparison of conversation and language data elicited by clinical testing; the evaluation of conversation-based therapy for people with aphasia; conversations and typical ageing.
stevebloch.jpg
Steven Bloch
Lecturer
s.bloch@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4269
Research: Interaction between people with progressive neurological conditions and significant others; the use of AAC systems by adults in conversation; the application of Conversation Analysis in the study of progressive dysarthria and AAC
carolynb.jpg
Carolyn Bruce
Lecturer
c.bruce@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4225
Research: Research interests centre on the rehabiliation of acquired aphasia. Currently investigating the use of voice recognition writing software, developing and evaluating novel approaches to intervention and exploring barriers to successful return to work.
stefaniebucher.jpg
Stefanie Bucher
Teaching Fellow
s.bucher@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4271
Research: Rehabilitation of acquired aphasia in community setting Speech, swallowing and communication disorders in progressive neurological conditions
silhouette-f.jpg

Lesley Cavalli
Lecturer

l.cavalli@ucl.ac.uk

Research: Speech and language therapist and lecturer with a specialist interest in the area of voice disorders and ENT.
silhouette-f.jpg
Janet Collier
Teaching Fellow
j.collier@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4176
Research: Speech & Language Therapist working in the acute hospital setting with special interests in neurology and care of the elderly caseloads.  Planning to commence a piece of research into inter-rater reliability between qualified nurses and SLTs on a swallow screening tool in acute stroke.
m_dean.jpg
Michael Dean
Teaching Fellow
michael.dean@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4249
Research: Acquired language disorders and their rehabilitation; cognitive neuropsychology; awareness of deficits; the role of memory, attention and executive skills in therapy; event conceptualisation for language production.
silhouette-f.jpg
Anne Edmundson
Lecturer
a.edmundson@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4221
Research: Single case study investigations of acquired language disorders from a cognitive neuropsychological perspective (particular interests include reading and spelling difficulties); The use of computer techology (e.g. voice recognition systems) to compensate for acquired literacy problems Associated with the following HCS research categories: Communication, Disorder and the Brain
s_grobler


Simon Grobler

Teaching Fellow
s.grobler@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4176
Research: Community rehabilitation for adults with communication and swallowing disorders; Social reintegration for people with chronic communication disorders; COPD and dysphagia; LSVT; Optimising student placements for the benefit of both students and service.
silhouette-f.jpg
Ann Parker
Senior Lecturer
a.parker@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4228
Research: Responsible for the teaching of professional studies in speech and language therapy. Her main research interests are the development of clinical skills, and the speech and communication of deaf people. Associated with the following Language and Communication research categories: Interprofessional Education, and Health Studies
carolsacchett.jpg

Carol Sacchett
Director of Studies in Speech and Language Therapy.

Senior Teaching Fellow/Clinical Placements Manager (SLT)
c.sacchett@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4252

Research: a) Aphasia theory and intervention, in particular non-verbal communication b) Event processing and the relationship between language and cognition c) Access to information for people with communication problems d) Practice-based/professional learning
csmith.jpg

Christina Smith

Lecturer
christina.smith@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4233

Research: Investigations into swallowing in healthy individuals, disorders of swallowing and their rehabilitation. Speech production and areas of breakdown.
r_varley.jpg
Rosemary Varley
Chair in Acquired Language & Communication Disorders/Head of Department of Language & Communication
rosemary.varley@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4234

Research: Aphasia, apraxia of speech; neurobiology of speech and language; the role of language in thought; cognition in severe aphasia.

Research Staff
f_beckley


Firle Beckley
Research Associate / Speech and Language Therapist
f.beckley@ucl.ac.uk

+44 (0) 20 7679 4255



Research: Aphasia; Adult neurological disorders
silhouette-f.jpg


Louise Little
Research Assistant
louise.little.09@ucl.ac.uk
Research: acquired neurological conditions, in particular aphasia, currently working on a project to develop a conversation therapy resource for student SLTs.
n_sirman


Nicola Sirman
Research Assistant
n.sirman@ucl.ac.uk

+44 (0) 20 7679 4296



Research: Acquired neurological conditions, in particular aphasia.
vitor3.jpg

Vitor Zimmerer

Postdoctoral Researcher
v.zimmerer@ucl.ac.uk

+44 (0) 20 7679 4270

Research: I research syntactic processing in healthy speakers and people with aphasia. I am particularly interested in basic storage and sequence processing mechanisms involved in language, their role in other areas of cognition, and how they can break down resulting in language disorder. I find usage-based theories of language, such as usage-based construction grammar, useful in that regard.
Emeritus
janemaxim.jpg

Jane Maxim
Emeritus Professor
j.maxim@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4227

Research:  Speech and language processing in normal and abnormal populations, Conversation Analysis intervention for people with aphasia, evaluating communication training for care workers.
 
Affiliates
wbestsm.jpg

Wendy Best
Professor of Communication Science and Language Therapy

Research Department of Development Science

w.best@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4257

Research:  Investigation of and therapy for speech and language difficulties in children and adults. Current projects focus on: word-finding, gesture, auditory comprehension and conversation. Facilitating links between research and clinical practice. Previous research has included work with people with anomia, developmental dyslexia, category specific semantic disorder and with word sound deafness.
michaelclarke.jpg
Michael Clarke
Lecturer in Department of Developmental Science
m.clarke@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4253
Research: Communication in children with physical disabilities and complex needs, including children who have been provided augmentative and alternative communication (AAC) systems. Associated with the following HCS research categories: Communication, Disorder and the Brain.
jennifer_crinion.jpg
Jenny Crinion
Speech and Language Therapist
j.crinion@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 207 679 1129
Research: MRC Clinical Scientist. As a neuroscientist and speech and language therapist my current research aims to understand why only some patients recover from anomia (word finding problems) following aphasic stroke, and for those who don’t, how the treatment of anomia might be more effective. I work on this project together with Dr Rachel Holland. The neuroimaging techniques we use include functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) and transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS).
chrisdonlan.jpg
Chris Donlan
Deputy to the Associate Dean of the Division of Psychology and Language Sciences
c.donlan@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4243
Research: Language and mathematical cognition, with a special interest in development and disorders. Most of my research has been with children with Specific Language Impairments (SLI). Recent findings concern the impact of SLI on the development of mathematical language, skills, and concepts.mathematical language. Associated with the following HCS research categories: Development, Language, and Cognitive Sciences.
judit.jpg
Judit Druks
Senior Lecturer in Department of Linguistics
j.druks@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4261
Research: Semantic, syntactic and morphological impairments in aphasia and dementia: syntactic comprehension deficits in aphasia, impairments of grammatical morphemes and prepositions in aphasia, acquired dyslexia and noun-verb differences in different populations.
merle3.jpg
Merle Mahon
Senior Lecturer in the Department of Developmental Science
m.mahon@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4036
Research:Interaction and spoken language development in deaf children; deaf and hearing children for whom English is an additional language; Conversation Analysis methodology.
cnewton.jpg
Caroline Newton
Lecturer in the Department of Developmental Science
caroline.newton@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4222
Research: Research currently focusing on: The assessment of speech discrimination skills in various clinical populations, in particular the use of eye gaze as a means of assessment; Long-term outcomes for children provided with augmentative and alternative communication systems; The impact of unfamiliar speaker accent on auditory comprehension in adults with aphasia.
rachelrees.jpg
Rachel Rees
Lecturer in the Department of Developmental Science
rachel.rees@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4226
Research: Deaf children's speech processing skills, assessment of deaf children's speech, role of orthography in deaf children's speech development, effects of Cued Speech on speech and literacy development.
silhouette-f.jpg
Sarah Simpson
Lecturer in the Department of Developmental Science
s.simpson@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4218
Research: Speech and language therapist interested in the links between written and spoken language difficulties in children of school age. Associated with the following Research Department of Developmental Science research categories: Development, Language, and Cognitive Science.
janetwood.jpg
Janet Wood
Lecturer in the Department of Developmental Science
janet.wood@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4241
Research: Interagency service development for children with speech and language difficulties: an investigation within a naturalistic setting.
 
Research Students
silhouette-f.jpg Sharon Adjei
Research Student
s.adjei.12@ucl.ac.uk

Principal Supervisor
Dr Suzanne Beeke

Secondary Supervisor
Dr Carol Sacchett


Research:
Forthcoming
silhouette-f.jpg

Aseel Al-abdulkarim
Research Student
aseel.alabdulkarim.09@ucl.ac.uk

Principal Supervisor
Dr Steven Bloch

Secondary Supervisor
Professor Jane Maxim

Research: Developing a communication participation scale: A comparison between self-reported assessment and proxies assessment.

maschael2.jpg

Mashael Faisal
Research Student
m.faisal@ucl.ac.uk

Principal Supervisor
Dr Steven Bloch

Secondary Supervisor
Professor Jane Maxim


Research: The relationship between communication and quality of life in people with amyotropic lateral sclerosis
silhouette-f.jpg

Maria Gkori
Research Student
maria.gkori.13@ucl.ac.uk

Principal Supervisor

Dr Christina Smith

Secondary Supervisor

Dr Ben Hanson

Research: Prescribed diets: quantifying the effect of mechanical consistency on health, patient safety, and quality of life
silhouette-f.jpg

Susan Howell
Research Student

s.howell.12@ucl.ac.uk

Principal Supervisor
Dr Suzanne Beeke

Secondary Supervisor
Prof. Rosemary Varley

Research: Forthcoming
fiona_johnson.jpg

Fiona Johnson
Research Student
fiona.johnson.09@ucl.ac.uk

Principal Supervisor
Dr Suzanne Beeke

Secondary Supervisor
Dr Wendy Best

Research: Aphasia, conversation, therapy evaluation, and specifically what ingredients within therapy are effective for changing conversational behaviour. I am currently working alongside the Stroke Association project to evaluate a new conversation therapy for people with aphasia.
leela.jpg

Leela Koran
Research Student
l.koran@ucl.ac.uk

Principal Supervisor
Dr Suzanne Beeke

Secondary Supervisor
Professor Jane Maxim

Research: Conversations of adults with aphasia in a linguistically diverse society. The focus is on Malaysian bilinguals.

silhouette-f.jpg Sabrina Mahmood
Research Student
sabrina.mahmood.13@ucl.ac.uk

Principal Supervisor
Prof. Rosemary Varley
Research: Forthcoming
silhouette-f.jpg

Clare Thomas
Research Student
clare.thomas.10@ucl.ac.uk

Principal Supervisor
Professor Jane Maxim

Secondary Supervisor
Dr Carol Sacchett

Research: Acquired brain injury and community integration.

Evaluation of a multidisciplinary community rehabilitation intervention for adults with acquired brain injury: A case series exploring community integration.

silhouette.jpg

Chetan Vyas
Research Student
c.vyas@ucl.ac.uk

Principal Supervisor
Dr Christina Smith

Research: Forthcoming
 
Honorary
     
silhouette-f.jpg
Susan Edwards
Visiting Professor
s.i.edwards@reading.ac.uk
Research: Acquired and developmental language disorders in adults and children; nature, assessment and treatment
Claudia Heilemann Claudia Heilemann
Honorary Research Assistant

Research: Neurogenetic speech and language disorders; conversation therapy for people with aphasia
silhouette-f.jpg
Christina Shewell
Honorary Senior Lecturer

Communication skills trainer, theatre voice teacher, speech and voice therapist and university lecturer
 
Executive Officer
silhouette.jpg
Richard Jardine
Executive Officer
r.jardine@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4245
Executive Officer to Dr Suzanne Beeke, Head of Research Department

Academic  | Research Staff | Research Students | Emeritus | Affiliates | Honorary Research Staff | Executive Officer |

Back to Top