News and Events

Read all the latest news within the Division of Psychology and Language Sciences.


PALS_Silver_SWAN_Small

Read more about the PALS Swan Silver Award


Divisional Subject Pool

Access and sign up for the Divisional Subject Pool.


Green Issues

The Division has won the Silver Award for the UCL Green Impact scheme


CPD@PaLS Courses

The Division runs Continuing Professional Development courses.


Developmental Science

People


Academic | Executive Officer | Researchers  | PhD Students | Emeritus | Honorary | Affiliates | Clinical |


Academic Staff
wbestsm.jpg
Wendy Best
Professor of Communication Science and Language Therapy
w.best@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4257
Research:  Investigation of and therapy for speech and language difficulties in children and adults. Current projects focus on: word-finding, gesture, auditory comprehension and conversation. Facilitating links between research and clinical practice. Previous research has included work with people with anomia, developmental dyslexia, category specific semantic disorder and with word sound deafness.
s_bow.jpg
Suzanne Bow
Teaching Fellow
s.bow@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4268
Research: Inclusive Practice
michaelclarke.jpg
Michael Clarke
Senior Lecturer
m.clarke@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4253
Research: My research interests include the development of social communication in non-speaking children with complex motor disorders, outcomes of augmentative and alternative communication (AAC) interventions, and AAC devise usability.
chrisdonlan.jpg
Chris Donlan
Deputy to Head of Division of Psychology and Language Sciences
c.donlan@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4243
Research: Language and mathematical cognition, with a special interest in development and disorders. Most of my research has been with children with Specific Language Impairments (SLI). Recent findings concern the impact of SLI on the development of mathematical language, skills, and concepts.mathematical language. Associated with the following HCS research categories: Development, Language, and Cognitive Science
s_grobler
Simon Grobler
Teaching Fellow
s.grobler@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4176

Research:

Community rehabilitation for adults with communication and swallowing disorders. Social reintegration for people with chronic communication disorders; COPD and dysphagia LSVT; Optimising student placements for the benefit of both students and service.

lorna.jpg
Lorna Halliday
Lecturer
l.halliday@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4265
Research: Auditory processing; Developmental disorders of communication (dyslexia, SLI, mild to moderate sensorineural hearing loss); Auditory training.
silhouette-f.jpg
Laura Hogben
Teaching Fellow
l.hogben@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4229
Research: tbc
c_hulme.jpg
Charles Hulme
Professor
c.hulme@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4285
Research:  Current research interests include the development of reading and language skills in children, and developmental disorders of these skills.  He has published widely on different developmental disorders including Autism, Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, Developmental Coordination Disorder, Dyslexia, Dyscalculia, Speech and Language Impairment, and genetic disorders including Down syndrome and Williams syndrome.  He has wide experience of Randomised Controlled Trials evaluating treatments for reading and language difficulties in children.
merle3.jpg
Merle Mahon
Senior Lecturer
merle.mahon@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4036
Research: Interaction and spoken language development in deaf children; deaf and hearing children for whom English is an additional language; Conversation Analysis methodology.
cnewton.jpg
Caroline Newton
Lecturer
caroline.newton@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4222
Research: Research currently focusing on: The assessment of speech discrimination skills in various clinical populations, in particular the use of eye gaze as a means of assessment; Long-term outcomes for children provided with augmentative and alternative communication systems; The impact of unfamiliar speaker accent on auditory comprehension in adults with aphasia.
alex perovic Alexandra Perovic
Lecturer in Developmental Clinical Linguistics
a.perovic@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 207 679 4277
Research:Typical and atypical language development, especially the syntactic development in children with developmental disorders: Autism Spectrum Disorders, Down syndrome, Williams syndrome; acquisition of Serbian/Croatian
rachelrees.jpg
Rachel Rees
Teaching Fellow
rachel.rees@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4226
Research: Deaf children's speech processing skills, assessment of deaf children's speech, role of orthography in deaf children's speech development, effects of Cued Speech on speech and literacy development
anneschlottmann.jpg
Anne Schlottmann
Reader in Cognitive Development & Third Year Tutor
a.schlottmann@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 5383
Research: Cognitive development; causal reasoning and perception in children and adults; probability understanding in children; Information Integration Theory
silhouette-f.jpg
Sarah Simpson
Lecturer
s.simpson@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4218
Research: Speech and language therapist interested in the links between written and spoken language difficulties in children of school age. Associated with the following HCS research categories: Development, Language, and Cognitive Science
nicholastuart2.jpg
Nichola Stuart
Teaching Fellow
n.stuart@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4265

Research:Typical and atypical language and literacy development (with a focus on Specific Language Impairment and Developmental Dyslexia); the phonological difficulties that characterise both SLI and dyslexia and the semantic/syntactic interface in SLI.
jsw2.jpg
John Swettenham
Senior Lecturer
j.swettenham@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4220
Research: Processes underlying the development of social communication in normal and abnormal populations. This includes work on attention and perception, joint attention and face processing in autism. Associated with the following HCS research categories: Development, Language, and Cognitive Science
janetwood.jpg
Janet Wood
Lecturer
janet.wood@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4241
Research: Interagency service development for children with speech and language difficulties: an investigation within a naturalistic setting.
Researchers
k_burgoyne.jpg

Kelly Burgoyne
k.burgoyne@ucl.ac.uk

+44 (0) 20 7679 4292

Research: Previously she worked as a Research Fellow with Down Syndrome Education International. Kelly’s research interests focus on reading and language development for typically-developing children and children with intellectual disability, and on developing and evaluating interventions to support these skills. 
lucy_hughes.jpg
Lucy Hughes
lucy.hughes@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4283
Research: investigation of word-finding difficulties in children and how these can be remediated. I am currently working on an ESRC-funded project, which brings together researchers from three institutions: UCL, Birkbeck and the Institute of Education.
maria_kyriacou
Maria Kyriacou
m.kyriacou@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4293
Research: Maria’s research interests include the writing and language development of children from birth to eleven, the assessment of writing skills, and the design and evaluation of experimental interventions to improve children’s literacy.
samantha_wallis
Samantha Wallis
samantha.wallis@ucl.ac.uk
Email only
Research: Functional gaze control in young children with cerebral palsy.
Emeritus
janatkinson.jpg
Jan Atkinson
Emeritus Professor
j.atkinson@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 7574
Research: Visual development in term & preterm infants, infant vision screening, development of visual attention, visual development in children with Williams Syndrome.
silhouette-f.jpg

Oliver Braddick
Visiting Professor
oliver.braddick@psy.ox.ac.uk

+44 1865 271410

Research: Visual processes: local and global processing in motion, pattern, and spatial vision. Visual and visuomotor development in infants and children.
Honorary
roz_barker

Roz Barker

Principal Speech and Language Therapist at Great Ormond Street Hospital, Cochlear Implant Programme
+44 (0) 20 7813 8316
BarkeR1@gosh.nhs.uk
Visit GOS website

Research: Deafness and Cochlear Implants
silhouette-f.jpg

Lindsey Edwards

Principal Clinical Psychologist at Great Ormond Street Hospital, Cochlear Implant Programme

+44 (0) 20 7813 8316

EdwarL@gosh.nhs.uk
Visit GOS website

Research: Cochlear Implants
gisela.jpg
Gisela Szagun
gisela.szagun@googlemail.com
Research:Language development in children with normal hearing and children with cochlear implants; inflectional morphology; developmental model of multiple influences on language development in children with cochlear implants.
 
Affiliates
mairead_macsweeney.gif
Mairead MacSweeney
Lecturer
m.macsweeney@ich.ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 1157
Research: Neuropsychology of language processing in deaf people: BSL, speechreading and text reading. Cognitive development in deaf children.
francesrice.jpg
Frances Rice
Honorary Lecturer
f.rice@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4257
Research:  I am interested in developmental psychopathology, especially the aetiology of emotional problems in young people. I use a number of approaches to try and identify proximal risk factors for psychopathology in children and adolescents including behaviour genetics, quasi-experimental designs, longitudinal research and neuroimaging.
 
Clinical Doctorate
pam.jpg

Pam Czerniewska
Research Student
pam.czerniewska.10@ucl.ac.uk
Prinicipal Supervisor:

Dr John Swettenham

Secondary Supervisor:
Dr Shula Chiat, Elaine Clark

Research: Autistic spectrum disorder; interventions for under 5's; parent support.

Autism; socio-developmental approaches; group-based intervention.

k_price.jpg
Katherine Price
Research Student
k.price@ich.ucl.ac.uk
Principal Supervisor
Dr Michael Clarke
Secondary Supervisor
Dr John Swettenham
Research: Communication difficulties for children with cerebral palsy
     
Research Students
maryam_b.jpg
Maryam Bahakeem
zczlft5@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Typical phonological development in Saudi Arabic-speaking children.
f_clayton.jpg
Francina Clayton
f.clayton.12@ucl.ac.uk
Research: The typical and atypical development of reading skills in children; in particular how letter speech-sound correspondences are learnt and contribute to reading acquisition.
silhouette-f.jpg
Fleur Corbett
Research Student
fleur.corbett.10@ucl.ac.uk
Principal Supervisor
Jan Atkinson
Research: Examination of the contribution of visual perceptual processing deficits to Developmental Coordination Disorder
h_dyson.jpg
Hannah Dyson
hannah.dyson.12@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Vocabulary acquisition and its effects on reading comprehension
tom_smallphoto.jpg
Tom Griffiths
tom.griffiths.11@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Development of social cognition in children with cerebral palsy.
louisa.jpg
Louisa Kulke
louisa.kulke.12@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Typical and atypical development of attention in infants and the brain connections involved in this development.
julian_smallphoto.jpg
Julian Tillmann
julian.tillmann.11@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Development of multisensory integration and attention in children with Autism Spectrum Disorders
lulin2.jpg
Lulin Zhou
ucjtlz5@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Cognitive skills as predictors of learning to read Chinese characters.
 
Executive Officer
silhouette.jpg Richard Jardine
Executive Officer
r.jardine@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 4245
Executive Officer and Postgraduate Administrator to Developmental Science

Academic | Executive Officer | Researchers  | PhD Students | Emeritus | Honorary | Affiliates

Back to Top