News and Events

Read all the latest news within the Division of Psychology and Language Sciences.


PALS_Silver_SWAN_Small

Read more about the PALS Swan Silver Award


Divisional Subject Pool

Access and sign up for the Divisional Subject Pool.


Green Issues

The Division has won the Silver Award for the UCL Green Impact scheme


CPD@PaLS Courses

The Division runs Continuing Professional Development courses.


Experimental Psychology

People


Academic | Executive Officer | Teaching Fellows | Emeritus |


Academic Staff
daniel_bendor_image_small
Daniel Bendor
Lecturer
d.bendor@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 7580
Research: My research group investigates how neuronal ensembles encode information within the context of perception and memory.
shelley.jpg
Shelley Channon
Professor of Clinical Neuropsychology
s.channon@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 1099
Research: Neuropsychology of executive functions, memory and learning in relation to social and non-social cognition, including problem-solving, planning, decision-making and interpersonal communication; acquired and developmental neurological and neuropsychiatric disorders.
kearsy.jpg
Kearsey Cormier
Senior Researcher at DCAL
k.cormier@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 8674
Research: The linguistics of sign languages, particularly British Sign Language (BSL) language typology and language modality, the relationship between gesture and language, sign language acquisition.
r_custers.jpg
Ruud Custers
Senior Lecturer
r.custers@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 5353
Research: Nonconscious processes in social cognition, motivation, and behaviour; Priming; Implicit learning; Agency experiences
josephdevlin.jpg
Joseph Devlin
Head of Department/Reader in Cognitive Neuroscience
joe.devlin@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 4276
Research: Neural information processing of human language; anatomical language circuits; comparative neuroanatomy and language evolution; semantic memory; reading; morphology; functional and structural neuro-imaging, TMS; computational modelling.
john_greenwood_image
John Greenwood
MRC Career Development Fellow
john.greenwood@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 207 679 1020
Research: Visual perception, examined primarily using techniques from behavioural psychophysics. Specific topics include peripheral vision and crowding, amblyopia and development, and the perception of motion, depth, position, faces, and numerosity/density.
anaguinote.jpg
Ana Guinote
Senior Lecturer
a.guinote@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 5378
Research: Interplay between social and cognitive processes. The social hierarchy defined by power, status or membership in a minority or majority group affects attentional control and the individual's mindset, and how this in turn affects the ways individuals pursue goals (e.g.performance). Research into mood; social hierarchy; behaviour variability; motivation, cognition and behaviour.
adamharris.jpg
Adam Harris
Lecturer
adam.harris@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7679 5412
Research: Judgment and Decision Making, Evidential Reasoning
nigelharvey.jpg
Nigel Harvey
Professor of Judgement and Decision Research
n.harvey@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 5387
Research: Judgement and decision making, particularly with reference to the role of judgment in forecasting and control of streams of data.
peterhowell.jpg
Peter Howell
Professor
p.howell@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 7566
Research: Speech production, perception and hearing. Research interests in stuttering as a developmental speech disorder and its relationship to fluent development of speech and language.
k_jeffrey2
Kate Jeffery
Professor of Behavioural Neuroscience
k.jeffery@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 5308
Research: My research investigates how our subjective experience of the world arises in the brain. In particular, I study how variability in the architecture of sensory cortex relates to perceptual function.
alanjohnston.jpg
Alan Johnston
Professor of Psychology
a.johnston@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 5310
Research: Psychophysical and Mathematical research in Visual Perception
eva_image
Eva Krumhuber
Lecturer
e.krumhuber@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Social perception, cognition and attribution; emotion expression; nonverbal behaviour; facial movement and animation; trustworthiness; mind perception; dehumanization; empathy
lagnado.jpg
David Lagnado
Reader
d.lagnado@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 5389
Research: Causal and probabilistic reasoning, multiple cue probability learning, judgement and decision under uncertainty, issues of rationality.
keithlangley.gif
Keith Langley
Senior Lecturer
k.langley@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 5440
Research: Computer vision and hearing; models of biological processing; neural networks; visual psychophysics
brad.jpg

Bradley Love
Professor

b.love@ucl.ac.uk
Email only

Research: Cognitive Science; Decision Making; Human and Machine Learning; Model-Based fMRI Analysis

head-alastair
Alastair McClelland
Departmental Tutor and Senior Lecturer
a.mcclelland@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 5384
Research: Human memory; the semantic/episodic distinction; implicit and explicit memory; meta-memory; psychological aspects of probability and statistics; lay concepts of probability; probabilistic and statistical reasoning; calibration of probability judgements.
danielrichardson.jpg
Daniel Richardson
Senior Lecturer
dcr@eyethink.org
+44 (0) 207 679 5208
Research: Cognition in a social context; eye movements during language, memory and decision making.
jennirodd2.jpg
Jennifer Rodd
Senior Lecturer
j.rodd@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 1096
Research: Neural and Cognitive Systems involved with Language Comprehension.
s_schwarzkopf.jpg

Sam Schwarzkopf
Research Associate

s.schwarzkopf@ucl.ac.uk

Research: My research investigates how our subjective experience of the world arises in the brain. In particular, I study how variability in the architecture of sensory cortex relates to perceptual function.
martysereno.jpg
Marty Sereno
Professor of Cognitive Neuroimaging
m.sereno@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 5462
Research: Visual cortical areas and visual modelling, functional MRI (+ EEG and MEG); Attention, Auditory processing; Computational modelling; Evolution; fMRI; Hippocampus; Language; Motor Control; Neuroimaging; Neurophysiology; Psychophysics; Vision
dshanks
David Shanks
Head of Division/Professor
d.shanks@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 7588
Research: Human learning and memory; judgment and decision-making; computational modeling, especially with neural network models; amnesia, the hippocampus, and the implicit-explicit distinction; economic psychology and rationality
talisharot.jpg

Tali Sharot
Wellcome Trust Career Development Fellow

t.sharot@ucl.ac.uk

Research: I am interested in how motivation and emotion shape human judgment, memory and action. I use a combination of techniques including behavioural, computational, pharmacological, neuropsychiatric, and brain imaging methods to elucidate the underlying processes on three levels: behaviour, neural systems and neurotransmitters.
Jeremy_I_Skipper_2
Jeremy I Skipper
Lecturer
jeremy.skipper@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Neural mechanisms of language understanding in the real-world; Approach questions about the neurobiology of natural language use with neuroimaging and more naturalistic stimuli; Rather than focus on traditional linguistic levels (like phonology or syntax), I ask how listeners' brains use prior knowledge/expectations to unconsciously extract information from preceding discourse content and body movements (like gestures) to support face-to-face communication.
s_solomon.jpg

Samuel Solomon
Senior Lecturer

s.solomon@ucl.ac.uk

Research: I am interested in the work done by the eye and the brain to analyse the visual world and support visual perception. I'm particularly interested in how visual perception reflects the basic properties of networks of nerve cells at each level of the visual pathway.
maarten.jpg
Maarten Speekenbrink
Lecturer
m.speekenbrink@ucl.ac.uk
Research: Human learning in probabilistic multiple cue tasks.
hugo2.jpg

Hugo Spiers
Lecturer
h.spiers@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 7553
Research: Memory, spatial cognition and goal directed behaviour. Single unit recording, functional neuroimaging and neuropsychology as research tools. Current experiments include probing the contribution of rodent prefrontal neurons to navigational guidance.
gabriellav.jpg
Gabriella Vigliocco
Professor of Psychology of Language
g.vigliocco@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 5345
Research: Psychological and neural mechanisms of human language; development of a theoretical framework for sentence production and development of explicit computational models of lexical semantic representation informed by cognitive science and neuroscience. At present, our two main projects address: (1) the relationship between language and throught in spoken and signed languages; (2) the representation of abstract knowledge.
d_vinson.jpg David Vinson
ESRC Future Leaders Research Fellows
d.vinson@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 5311
Research: Language and cognition. How meaning is represented and processed in spoken and signed languages; interplay between language and other cognitive functions; integration of gesture and speech, and integration of separate articulators in sign language.
benciewoll.jpg
Bencie Woll
Professor & Director of DCAL
b.woll@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 8670
Research: Topics related to sign language including the linguistics of British Sign Language (BSL) and other sign languages, history and sociolinguistics of BSL and the Deaf Community, psycholinguistics, including the development of BSL in young children, and studies of sign language and the brain, including functional imaging of the deaf brain, and the developmental and acquired sign language impairments.
Emeritus
ruthcampbell.jpg
Ruth Campbell
Honorary Emeritus Professor
r.campbell@ucl.ac.uk
Cognitive neuroscience of face reading including the analysis of speech, reading, facial expression and the use of the face in sign.
d_green.jpg
David Green
Professor
d.w.green@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 7567
Research: Bilingualism
 
Teaching Fellows
stephanie.jpg
Stephanie Baines
Teaching Fellow
s.baines@ucl.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7679 5412
Research: Cognitive neuroscience of attention, reward, executive function; perceptual and cognitive information processing, reinforcement learning, decision making, EEG and fMRI methodology.
Executive Officer
antonietta.jpg
Antonietta Esposito
Executive Officer
a.esposito@ucl.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 20 7679 5332
Executive Officer and Postgraduate Administrator to Cognitive, Perceptual and Brain Sciences

Academic | Executive Officer | Teaching Fellows | Emeritus |

Back to Top