A A A

Contact us

The Widening Participation and UK Undergraduate Recruitment Office leads the development and implementation of UCL’s UK undergraduate recruitment strategies, with particular emphasis on widening participation from students and young people from underrepresented groups. 

General Enquiries

Policy and Strategy

Name
Role Email
Telephone
Katy Redfern
Head of Access
k.redfern@ucl.ac.uk
020 3108 8266
Robin Barrs Access Manager - Recruitment and Transition
r.barrs@ucl.ac.uk  020 3108 8268
Steve Grundy Access Manager - Teacher and Professional Engagement s.grundy@ucl.ac.uk  020 7911 5495
Alison Forbes Access Manager - Pre 16  a.home@ucl.ac.uk  020 3108 8267
Lucie March
Access Manager - Communication and Planning  l.march@ucl.ac.uk  020 3108 8281

Pre-16 Team

The Pre-16 Team run events and programmes for students in years 7 to 11, and also for families and teachers.

Name
Role
Email
Telephone
Alison Forbes Access Manager - Pre 16  a.home@ucl.ac.uk 020 3108 8267
Amandip Bisel

Senior Access Officer

UCL Horizons, University Challenge, Inspire, Year 11 Summer Challenge

a.bisel@ucl.ac.uk
020 3108 7645
Vijdan Zorba

Senior Access Officer

UCL Sutton Scholars, Bring your Family to University, Junior Conferences, Explore UCL Year 11 Summer School

v.zorba@ucl.ac.uk

scholars@ucl.ac.uk

020 3108 8275
Louise Sung 

Access Officer

General pre 16 school visit requests, University Challenge, Year 11 Summer Challenge, Inspire 

louise.sung@ucl.ac.uk 020 3108 8280
Clare James

Access Officer

Bring your Family to University, Junior Conferences, Explore UCL Year 11 Summer School

clare.james@ucl.ac.uk 020 3108 7641
Lisa Nicholls

Access Officer 

UCL Horizons, Year 11 Summer Challenge

lisa.nicholls@ucl.ac.uk 0203 108 7680

Recruitment and Transition Team

The Recruitment and Transition Team works with students in years 12 and 13 in secondary schools, sixth form colleges and FE colleges. We also deliver the UCL Transition programme, which provides all first year undergraduates with a mentor from their department.

Name
Role
Email
Telephone
Robin Barrs
Access Manager (Recruitment and Transition) r.barrs@ucl.ac.uk
020 3108 8268
Amber Cuttill Senior Access Officer
a.cuttill@ucl.ac.uk 020 3108 7644
Paulette Williams Senior Access Officer paulette.williams@ucl.ac.uk 020 3108 7679

Jennifer Whitney Senior Access Officer
Leads on September 2015 Open Day
j.whitney@ucl.ac.uk 020 3108 8243
Ben Lund-Conlon Access Officer b.lund-conlon@ucl.ac.uk 020 3108 8277
Sophie Tuhey Access Officer s.tuhey@ucl.ac.uk 020 3108 7647
Farhana Ghaffar Access Officer f.ghaffar@ucl.ac.uk 020 3108 7642
Jenny Shouler Access Officer j.shouler@ucl.ac.uk 020 3108 7643

Communications and Planning Team

The Communications and Planning Team coordinates UCL’s attendance at UCAS and HE fairs, and leads on the evaluation and monitoring of Widening Participation and UK Undergraduate Recruitment programmes. The team also supports UCL's academic departments with the development of their own widening participation initiatives, and leads on internal and external communications.  The team runs UCL's Y12 Summer School programme, Taster Days and Summer Challenge short courses.

Y12 Summer Schools

Summer Challenge

Taster Days

Name
Role
Email
Telephone
Lucie March Access Manager (Communications & Planning) l.march@ucl.ac.uk 020 3108 8281
Amy Suddards  Senior Access Officer (Evaluation)
a.suddards@ucl.ac.uk
020 3108 8273
Gianpaolo Manalastas Senior Access Officer (Departmental Liaison) g.manalastas@ucl.ac.uk
020 3108 8272
Anna Batcheler Access Officer (SLASH)  a.batcheler@ucl.ac.uk 020 3108 7640
Helen Anderson Access Officer (SLMS) h.anderson@ucl.ac.uk 020 3108 8270
Raoul Morley Access Officer (UCAS and HE fairs)
raoul.morley@ucl.ac.uk

020 3108 8278
Post vacant - contact Gianpaolo Manalastas with BEAMS queries Access Officer (BEAMS)    
Hannah Searle
Access Assistant

hannah.searle@ucl.ac.uk

020 3108 8279

Teacher and Professional Engagement Team

The Teacher and Professional Engagement Team leads UCL's support for teachers and related professionals in their widening participation and access work.  The team is currently developing a long-term engagement programme for Y12 and Y13 students to encourage them to find out more about careers in teaching and education. The team also leads on UCL's residential Teacher Summer School programme.

Name
Role
Email
Telephone
Steve Grundy
Access Manager (Teacher and Professional Engagement) s.grundy@ucl.ac.uk

020 7911 5495
Jade Hunter
Senior Access Officer
jade.hunter@ucl.ac.uk
020 7331 5222

Anna Leamon
Senior Access Officer
anna.leamon.14@ucl.ac.uk
020 7911 5489