A A A

Contact us

The Widening Participation and UK Undergraduate Recruitment Office leads the development and implementation of UCL’s UK undergraduate recruitment strategies, with particular emphasis on widening participation from students and young people from underrepresented groups. 

General Enquiries

Policy and Strategy

Name
Role Email
Telephone
Katy Redfern
Head of Access
k.redfern@ucl.ac.uk
020 3108 1195
Robin Barrs  Access Manager r.barrs@ucl.ac.uk  020 3108 4107
Caroline Fionda  Access Manager c.fionda@ucl.ac.uk  020 7679 1365
Steve Grundy  Access Manager s.grundy@ucl.ac.uk  020 7911 5495
Alison Home  Access Manager a.home@ucl.ac.uk  020 7679 7762

Pre-16 Team

The Pre-16 Team run events and programmes for students in years 7 to 11, and also for families and teachers.

Name
Role
Email
Telephone
Alison Home Access Manager  a.home@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 7762
Amandip Bisel

Senior Access Officer

Leads on: UCL Horizons

a.bisel@ucl.ac.uk
020 7679 2994
Vijdan Cakli

Senior Access Officer

Leads on: UCL Sutton Scholars, Explore UCL Year 11 Summer School

v.cakli@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 0489
Louise Sung 

Access Officer

Leads on: school visit requests, University Challenge Year 9 days, Explore UCL Year 11 Summer School

louise.sung@ucl.ac.uk 0203 108 1088
Clare James

Access Officer

Leads on: Bring your families to university days, Junior master classes

clare.james@ucl.ac.uk 0207 679 5758
Nika Farnworth

Sutton Scholars Officer 

Leads on: UCL Sutton Scholars

scholars@ucl.ac.uk 0203 108 1123

07469 118172
Post vacant Access Officer     

Recruitment and Transition Team

The Recruitment and Transition Team works with students in years 12 and 13 in secondary schools, sixth form colleges and FE colleges. We also deliver the UCL Transition programme, which provides all first year undergraduates with a mentor from their department.

Name
Role
Email
Telephone
Caroline Fionda-Dedman Access Manager (Recruitment and Transition) c.fionda@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 1365
Amber Cuttill Senior Access Officer a.cuttill@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 5733
Post vacant Senior Access Officer    
Ben Lund-Conlon Access Officer b.lund-conlon@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 3089
Sophie Tuhey Access Officer s.tuhey@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 7003
Farhana Ghaffar Access Officer f.ghaffar@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 2035
Jenny Shouler Access Officer j.shouler@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 3471

Communications and Planning Team

The Communications and Planning Team coordinates UCL’s attendance at UCAS and HE fairs, and leads on the evaluation and monitoring of Widening Participation and UK Undergraduate Recruitment programmes. The team also supports UCL's academic departments with the development of their own widening participation initiatives, and leads on internal and external communications.  The team runs UCL's Y12 Summer School programme, Taster Days and Summer Challenge short courses.

Y12 Summer Schools

Summer Challenge

Taster Days

Name
Role
Email
Telephone
Robin Barrs Access Manager (Communications & Planning) r.barrs@ucl.ac.uk
020 3108 4107
Amy Suddards  Senior Access Officer (Evaluation)
a.suddards@ucl.ac.uk
020 3108 1122
Gianpaolo Manalastas Senior Access Officer (Departmental Liaison) g.manalastas@ucl.ac.uk
020 3108 4106
Anna Batcheler Access Officer (SLASH)  a.batcheler@ucl.ac.uk 020 7670 0680
Helen Anderson Access Officer (SLMS) h.anderson@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 3456
Raoul Morley Access Officer (UCAS and HE fairs)
raoul.morley@ucl.ac.uk

020 7679 3929
Vijdan Cakli Access Officer (BEAMS) v.cakli@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 0489
Hannah Searle
Access Assistant

hannah.searle@ucl.ac.uk

020 7679 3456

Teacher and Professional Engagement Team

The Teacher and Professional Engagement Team leads UCL's support for teachers and related professionals in their widening participation and access work.  The team is currently developing a long-term engagement programme for Y12 and Y13 students to encourage them to find out more about careers in teaching and education. The team also leads on UCL's residential Teacher Summer School programme.

Name
Role
Email
Telephone
Steve Grundy
Access Manager (Teacher Engagement) s.grundy@ucl.ac.uk

020 7911 5495
Jade Hunter
Senior Access Officer
jade.hunter@ucl.ac.uk
020 7331 5222

Anna Leamon
Senior Access Officer
anna.leamon.14@ucl.ac.uk
020 7911 5489