A A A

Widening Participation and UK Undergraduate Recruitment

The Widening Participation and UK Undergraduate Recruitment Office leads the development and implementation of UCL’s UK undergraduate recruitment strategies, with particular emphasis on widening participation from students and young people from underrepresented groups.

Management, Policy and Strategy

Katy Redfern Head of Access k.redfern@ucl.ac.uk 020 3108 1195
Lisa Schappert Access Manager (Liaison and Recruitment) l.schappert@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 1365
Lucie March Access Manager (Academic Skills) l.march@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 0651

Central Team

The Central team coordinates UCL’s attendance at UCAS and HE fairs and the evaluation and monitoring of the Widening Participation and UK Undergraduate Recruitment projects.

Robin Barrs Senior Access Officer r.barrs@ucl.ac.uk 020 3108 4107
Raoul Morley Access Officer

raoul.morley@ucl.ac.uk

 020 7679 3929

Pre-16 Team

The Pre-16 Team works with primary and secondary schools up to Year 11 through a variety of activities including mentoring, summer schools, HEAD days and University Challenge days.

Caroline Fionda
Senior Access Officer c.fionda@ucl.ac.uk  020 7679 3016
Vij Cakli Access Officer v.cakli@ucl.ac.uk
020 7679 0489
Louise Sung  Access Officer louise.sung@ucl.ac.uk 020 3108 1088

Post-16 Team

The Post-16 Team works with students in years 12 and 13 in secondary schools and Sixth Form Colleges and with those studying at FE colleges.  Activities include masterclasses, conferences, open days, taster days and school visits.

Gianpaolo Manalastas Senior Access Officer g.manalastas@ucl.ac.uk
020 3108 4106
Lucy Salmon Access Officer l.salmon@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 3089
Amber Cuttill Access Officer a.cuttill@ucl.ac.uk 020 3108 1093

Horizons sustained engagement programme

Horizons is a long-term engagement programme which works with students from Year 7 through to Year 13.

Alison Home Senior Access Officer

a.home@ucl.ac.uk

horizons@ucl.ac.uk

020 7679 7762
Rachel Leighton Access Officer

r.leighton@ucl.ac.uk

horizons@ucl.ac.uk

020 7679 2994

Unilink sustained engagement programme 

Unilink offers intensive support for an annual cohort of 100 students throughout Year 12 and 13.

Anna Batcheler Access Officer a.batcheler@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 0680

Languages Summer School

UCL runs a two-week residential summer school, giving students with no GCSE in a foreign language the chance to learn a new language from scratch.

Alice Salmon Senior Access Officer alice.salmon@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 7003

Transition Programme

UCL runs a Transition Programme for all new first-year undergraduate students to support them through the first weeks and months at UCL.

Alice Salmon Senior Access Officer alice.salmon@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 7003
Amy Suddards Access Officer a.suddards@ucl.ac.uk  020 3108 1122

Museum Outreach

UCL has a successful outreach programme which uses our three museums and our collections.

Celine West Head of Museum Learning celine.west@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 2151
Alice Salmon Senior Access Officer alice.salmon@ucl.ac.uk 020 7679 7003