Home Menu


European Languages, Culture and Society

The School of European Languages, Culture and Society comprises six departments - Dutch, French, German, Italian, Scandinavian, and Spanish and Latin American Studies - and several interdepartmental programmes. In any given year, the school teaches 100 Master's students and 50 graduate research students.

Graduate programmes focus on the literatures, linguistic traditions, history, sociology, philosophy, art, film, and other cultures associated with the languages taught in the school. The school has a cluster of research themes on which a number of colleagues work: visual culture, trauma, crime, borders and the book. Research applications are welcome in these fields, and in any other relating to staff research interests.