Types of programme

UCL's taught programmes are designed to meet a range of needs. Some, for example, may lead to professionally recognised qualifications fulfilling the requirements of particular career paths – either in conjunction with a first degree or as a conversion programme. Others form a foundation for research degree study. All provide an opportunity for advanced study in your chosen field. Many programmes have been designed to offer flexibility, with part-time or flexible/modular learning options allowing you to combine your degree with professional or personal commitments.

The types of degree offered by UCL are listed below with explanations of their normal duration and structure.

  • Master of Arts – MA
  • Master of Science – MSc
  • Master of Architecture – MArch
  • Master of Fine Art - MFA
  • Master of Laws – LLM
  • Master of Clinical Dentistry – MClinDent
  • Executive Master of Public Administration - EMPA

These programmes normally extend full-time over 12 months, or part-time over two years. An increasing number are offered on a flexible learning basis over three to five years. Please see individual departmental entries for details. The programmes normally consist of taught plus a research project or dissertation submitted at the end of the programme in September.

The MRes degree normally extends full-time over 12 months, starting in September, although certain MRes programmes may also be offered part-time; please refer to the specific information for your chosen programme for details of the mode and duration of study.

The degree has been designed to include structured and progressive research training which can be a foundation for doctoral study or a research career. This training in research techniques is combined with taught elements, plus a significant research component, which focus in-depth on your field of study.

Postgraduate Diploma (PG Dip) programmes usually share an identical syllabus with the taught component of a corresponding Master's programme, and extend over nine months full-time. This may extend over two years if taken part-time, or longer, up to five years, if flexible study is offered.

UCL's Postgraduate Certificate (PG Cert) programmes provide an opportunity to undertake study leading to a certificated qualification over a shorter period, usually equating to 15 weeks of full-time study which may be undertaken on a full-time basis, or spread over one or two years if taken flexibly. The syllabus often consists of selected components of a corresponding Master's or Postgraduate Diploma programme.

For details of free-standing Graduate Diplomas in Archaeology or Civil Engineering, please contact the relevant department.

A small number of UCL graduate programmes can be studied on a distance learning basis, whereby all teaching is delivered online. Please see individual programme entries (listed alphabetically at www.ucl.ac.uk/graduate/degrees) for information.