Department of Political Science


MPhil/PhD Students & Research Staff

Research Students at Department of Political Science

Dissertation topic
Dina Abdelazeem Decentralisation of education - policy transfer - politics of policy change dina.hamad.14@ucl.ac.uk
Jean-Baptiste Allegrini  The competition for power and inter-sectarian dialogue in Lebanese Municipalities facing the Syrian refugee crisis: The Cases of Baalbek, Tripoli and Zahle jean-baptiste.allegrini.13@ucl.ac.uk
Christiane Bjerglund Andersen Coalition politics - party strategies; pre-electoral coalitions; Indian politics c.andersen@ucl.ac.uk
Luca Bellodi The liberalisation of the railway industry in Europe luca.bellodi.17@ucl.ac.uk
Cristobal Bellolio Political Theory - Freedom from religion cristobal.bellolio.13@ucl.ac.uk
Cristian Bianchi Theoretical Foundations of Human Rights / Normative Methods cristian.bianchi.13@ucl.ac.uk
Sarah Breathnach Salience and dietary behaviours – nudging; sugar-tax; food-labelling sarah.breathnach.17@ucl.ac.uk
Matilda Carter   matilda.carter.15@ucl.ac.uk
Roberta Damiani The impact of the Italian Senate in the legislative process r.damiani@ucl.ac.uk
Giulio Fornaroli Political Theory - Neutrality and independence from comprehensive moral values as key components in political liberalism' response to the question of pluralism giulio.fornaroli.14@ucl.ac.uk
Matt Godwin Diasporas and diaspora influence on foreign policy; civil wars; comparative legislatures matthew.godwin.13@ucl.ac.uk
Bibi Groot I get by with a little help from my friends: Field experiments on social support and academic success in further education colleges in the UK anthona.groot.13@ucl.ac.uk
Heleen Jalvingh The role of the National Parliaments in the EU h.jalvingh.11@ucl.ac.uk
Andreas Juon State Categorisation, the Salience of Ethnic Identities, and Conflict andreas.juon.16@ucl.ac.uk
Kasim Khorasanee The implications of research in cognitive psychology on voter competence for democratic theory k.khorasanee@ucl.ac.uk
Radoslaw Kowalski Natural language processing for policy and management: What insight does performance measured with written feedback give in addition to existing measurement methods of organisational performance in healthcare? radoslaw.kowalski.14@ucl.ac.uk
Eliza Kozman Investigating how role models can influence attitudes to education among white working-class boys eliza.kozman.16@ucl.ac.uk
Karin Kuhlemann The nature and content of the right to procreate and the legitimate scope of anti-natalist population policies karin.kuhlemann.11@ucl.ac.uk
Sarah Leo Carrots vs sticks: How should governments deal with terrorist violence? sarah.leo.13@ucl.ac.uk
Ben Morgan Reducing political failure in high salience institutions: the role of bureaucratic effectiveness b.morgan.12@ucl.ac.uk
Jay O'Connor Democratic Accountability and Modern State Governance j.o'connor.12@ucl.ac.uk
Amelia Odida Investigating the role of the United Nations in Post-Conflict Constitution-Making amelia.odida.16@ucl.ac.uk
Dominic Perera Civic Space, Civil Society and Citizen Activism: Responses to Restrictions on Human Rights Defenders dominic.perera.17@ucl.ac.uk
Antonio Reyes-Gonzalez   antonio.reyes.16@ucl.ac.uk
Christopher (Kit) Rickard
'Cooperation or Competition? How External Support Shapes Rebel Behaviour'
Philipp Schroeder   philipp.schroeder.13@ucl.ac.uk
Ruxandra Serban Prime Ministers and parliaments in parliamentary democracies ruxandra.serban.13@ucl.ac.uk
Jinyu Sun   jinyu.sun.12@ucl.ac.uk
Patrick Taylor The impact of the UK’s National Citizen Service on young peoples’ civic attitudes and behaviours patrick.taylor.16@ucl.ac.uk
Markus Trengove The ethics of violent protest in liberal democracies markus.trengove.17@ucl.ac.uk
Annabelle Wittels Can feedback mechanisms 'nudge' bureaucrats to greater responsiveness? annabelle.wittels.16@ucl.ac.uk 

Research Staff at Department of Political Science

Name Position Contact
Roberta Damiani  Research Assistant 1.01, 31 Tavistock Sq
Julia Kreienkamp 
GGI Research Assistant
4.01, 31 Tavistock Sq
020 3108 9290
Dr Paolo Morini Research Associate B.17, 29/30 Tavistock Sq
Michela Palese  Research Assistant - McDougall Fellow  2.02, 31 Tavistock Square michela.palese.10@ucl.ac.uk
Jess Sargeant Research Assistant 2.02, 31 Tavistock Sq