Archive of Physics News Viewer

<< 2011 Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec 2013 >>

Using a X-ray free-electron laser to probe photo-isomerisation

Publication date:

Average kinetic energy per fragment as a function of time delay after the UV excitation in UV x ray (blue, left axis) and UV IR (red, right axis) CHD ring-opening experiments. The inset shows the electronic states of the CHDHT pair.

Jonathan G. Underwood & co-authors

Transient X-Ray Fragmentation: Probing a Prototypical Photoinduced Ring Opening

 ESA's Euclid Cosmology Mission

Publication date:

Artist's impression of the Euclid satellite (Credit: ESA/C. Carreau)

The European Space Agency (ESA) have formally adopted the Euclid Cosmology mission, this is largest collaboration of astronomers in the world, with UCL Astrophysics and MSSL members of staff playing a major roles.

Gruber Cosmology Prize 2012 awarded to Charles L. Bennett and the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe Science Team

Publication date:

Dr Hiranya Peiris

The 2012 Gruber cosmology prize has been awarded to Charles L. Bennett and the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe (WMAP) team. Dr Hiranya Peiris (Astrophysics; WMAP Science Team member 2001-2006) is a co-recipient of the prize.

Robust Constraint on Cosmic Textures from the Cosmic Microwave Background

Publication date:

A random collection of textures taken from high-resolution, supercomputer simulations. Red indicates a positive twist in the topological charge density and blue a negative twist. Credit: V. Travieso and N. Turok

Stephen M. Feeney, Matthew C. Johnson, Daniel J. Mortlock, Hiranya V. Peiris

Phys. Rev. Lett. 108, 241301 (2012)

UCL student blog: The physics of climbing - and falling

Publication date:

Photograph: UCL Mountaineering Club

Leo Westland, president of the UCL Mountaineering Club and undergraduate physics student comments on climbing, physics, and how to safely absorb gravitational potential energy.

Dr Paul Bartlett: Recipient of a Provost's Teaching Award

Publication date:

Dr Paul Bartlett

Dr Paul Bartlett has been awarded one of ten UCL Provost's Teaching Awards. The Provost’s Teaching Awards were set up to celebrate the best of pedagogic prowess at UCL and to reward staff who are making outstanding contributions to the learning experience and success of our students.

Particle physics: A reminder of the beauty we know

Publication date:

Prof. Steve Bramwell: Winner of the 2012 Europhysics Prize

Publication date:

Prof. Steve Bramwell

Professor Steve Bramwell has won the Europhysics Prize, Europe’s foremost prize for condensed matter physics. The prize is awarded every 2 years by the .

<< 2011 Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec 2013 >>