Current and Previous Keeling Scholars

Keeling Scholarships in ancient philosophy

The UCL philosophy department offers a number of scholarships annually for graduate students working in ancient philosophy. Up to three Keeling scholarships for research in ancient philosophy for either the MPhil. Stud. or MPhil/PhD, or PhD, will be offered, for study beginning in 2016.

Amount and Eligibility 

The Scholarship will fund tuition fees (UK/EU), full AHRC-equivalent London maintenance for two years ( MPhil. Stud.), or for up to three years ( PhD), and a research allowance of up to £1000 p.a. Only applicants to UCL Philosophy research programmes can be considered for a Keeling Scholarship. Applicants should indicate on their application form that they wish to be considered for the Keeling Scholarship by writing 'Keeling Scholarship' in section §29 'Funding'. The deadline for applications to these programmes is 4 January 2016. 

Specific details for MPhil.Stud and PhD Candidates 

MPhil Stud students awarded a Keeling Scholarship are required to specialise to some extent in ancient philosophy over the two year programme, by completing at least two half year modules in the area of ancient philosophy, by attending a weekly ancient Greek reading group, and by writing their research thesis (25,000 - 30,000 words) on a topic in ancient philosophy. They may also complete modules in the relevant ancient Greek language as necessary. PhD students awarded a Keeling Scholarship will be pursuing a doctorate on a topic in ancient philosophy. 

Supervising your thesis

Those able to supervise graduate research in ancient philosophy at UCL include: Fiona Leigh (Philosophy), Simona Aimar (Philosophy), Mark Kalderon (Philosophy), Amanda Greene (Philosophy) and by arrangement, M.M. McCabe (Keeling Scholar in Residence, Philosophy) and Jenny Bryan (Greek and Latin).

 Further enquires 

Page last modified on 30 nov 15 15:02