UCL School of Pharmacy


UCL School of Pharmacy: at a glance

Medieval apothecaries


The division was founded by the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain in 1842 as the College of the Pharmaceutical Society. 

It was renamed The School of Pharmacy in 1949 when it became independent of the Pharmaceutical Society and was incorporated into the University of London as a constituent college. The School was granted a royal charter in 1952 and merged with UCL in January 2012.

Present day

The UCL School of Pharmacy is one of the most highly rated pharmacy schools in the United Kingdom.
1904 School of Pharmacy Students

Our Master of Pharmacy (MPharm) is a 4 year undergraduate degree that leads, after a further year of paid pre-registration training, to registration as a pharmacist in Great Britain. We offer eight different taught postgraduate degrees (7 MSc degrees and one MRes):

In addition, the School offers a postgraduate research degree programme, which is divided into our four research themes and spanning a huge range of fields, including cancer chemotherapeutics, cancer drug discovery, clinical pharmacy, drug delivery, medicinal chemistry, molecular neuroscience, neuropharmacology, paediatric medicines, pharmaceutical analysis, pharmaceutical technology and materials science.

Germ bacteria

We also offer a Postgraduate Diploma, an MSc for practising pharmacists, a  School Certificate programme for pharmacy technicians, and also a Qualified Person course for pharmacists wishing to further their scientific training. This information can be found in our Professional Development area. 

We are highly rated both for Teaching Quality and for Research and offer all our students the opportunity to receive a first class education.