XClose

UCL Psychology and Language Sciences

Home
Menu

Events

Language and Cognition Seminar Series

Term 1 - 2017/18

Date/Room Speaker
Title/Abstract
Tuesday 3 October
13:00 - 14:00
Chandler House, room G10
Dr Vitor Zimmerer
Dept. of Language & Cognition
University College London
The syntax-lexicon continuum in cognitive disorders
Monday 9 October
13:00 – 14:00
Chandler House, room G10
Dr Ben Ambridge
Institute of Psychology
Health and Society
University of Liverpool
The Retreat from Overgeneralisation in Child Language Acquisition
Monday 23 October
13:00 – 14:00
Chandler House, room G10
Prof Bert de Smedt
Parenting and Special Education Research Unit
University of Leuven (KU Leuven)
What predicts individual differences in arithmetic fluency? The role of symbolic numerical processing
Monday 30 October
13:00 – 14:00
Chandler House, room G10
Dr Kirsten Abbot-Smith
School of Psychology
University of Kent

Cognitive Underpinnings of Pragmatic Language:

Theory of Mind versus Real World Knowledge

Wednesday 15 November 13.00-14.00 Chandler House, G10 Prof Norbert Schmitt
University of Nottingham
School of English
Formulaic Language: Processing and Measurement
Tuesday 28 November
13:00 – 14:00
Chandler House, room B02
Prof Kate Nation
Department of Experimental Psychology
University of Oxford
Learning to read and the transition from novice to expert: why reading experience matters

Wednesday 6 December
13.00-14.00
Chandler House, G10

JOINT EVENT WITH CSLIR APHASIA RESEARCH GROUP

Dr Lucy Series
Cardiff University
School of Law and Politics
Universal legal capacity: A human rights approach to supported-decision making

Term 2 and 3 - 2017-18

Date/Room
Speaker
Title/Abstract
Thursday 1 February
16:00 - 17:00
Chandler House, room G10
Dr Francina Clayton
Department of Psychology
University of York
TBC
Wednesday 21 February
13:00 – 14:00
Chandler House, room G10
Dr Will Mandy
Dept. of Clinical, Educational & Health Psychology
University College London
TBC
Wednesday 28 February
13:00 – 14:00
Chandler House, room G10
Dr Lucy Cragg
School of Psychology
University of Nottingham
TBC
Wednesday 7 March
13:00-14:00
Chandler House, room G10
Prof Chris Chambers & Dr Rachel Adams
School of Psychology
Cardiff University
TBC
Wednesday 14 March
13:00-14:00
Chandler House G10
Sophie Chesney
School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
QMUL
Incongruent Headlines: Yet Another Way to Mislead Your Readers
Wednesday 21 March
16:00-17:00
Chandler House 118
[JOINT EVENT WITH CSLIR]
Prof Charles Hulme
Department of Education, University of Oxford

TBC
Wednesday 25 April
13:00-14:00
Chandler House G10
Prof Padraic Monaghan
Department of Psychology,
Lancaster University
Effects of preschool language on literacy development: Insights from a computational model of reading
Wednesday 2 May
13:00-14:00
Chandler House G10
Becca O'Brien
Sue Ryder Care Centre, University of Nottingham

TBC
Wednesday 16 May
13:00-14:00
Chandler House 118
Dr Catherine Davies
School of Languages, Cultures and Societies, University of Leeds

TBC
Wednesday 23 May
13:00-14:00
Chandler House G10
Prof Claire Hughes
Centre for Family Research,
University of Cambridge
Early Executive Function: A Family Affair?
Wednesday 30 May
13:00-14:00
Chandler House G10
Dr Lee de-Wit
Department of Language & Cognition, UCL
What's your bias: Can psychological science help us understand political polarisation and political engagement?


For a list of previous seminars click here.

Other UCL events webpages: