NPP Logo
Feed icon

NPP News

Prof Ashmore honoured with RS Croonian Medal and Lecture

Please see for the news of Prof Jonathan Ashmore's Royal Society Croonian Medal and Lecture. The Lecture will be held at the RS the evening of the 15th May 2017, open to the public, no tickets required. More...

Published: Aug 2, 2016 4:24:34 PM

Congratulations to Prof Maria Fitzgerald

Our warmest congratulations to Prof Maria Fitzgerald for her recent election as a Fellow of the Royal Society.  Maria joins our NPP FRSs who are: More...

Published: May 5, 2016 8:10:41 PM

Prof David Attwell awarded 2016 FENS-Kavli Network of Excellence Mentoring Prize.

This award honors an individual who has demonstrated leadership in fostering the careers of neuroscientists.  More...

Published: Apr 25, 2016 6:48:04 PM

Matt Gold wins BCA prize

Dr Matt Gold has won an early career prize from the British Crystallographic Association (BCA). The prize was awarded by the Biological Structures Group of the BCA and sponsored by Rigaku. Matt collected the prize at the BCA Spring Meeting held in Nottingham in April, where he presented his structural work on a signalling protein complex that regulates synaptic strength. More...

Published: Apr 25, 2016 1:18:58 PM

Contact Details

Head of Department: Trevor Smart, FRPharmS, FMedSci, Schild Professor of Pharmacology

Location map for the research department


General Enquiries    
Executive Officer/PA to Head of Department    
Tina Bashford    
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 2013
internal 32013 
Undergraduate Student Admissions Enquiries    
Heather Gardiner

Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 7169

internal 37169
Undergraduate Admissions Tutors    
Neuroscience - Prof. Paola Pedarzani    
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 7744 internal 37744
Pharmacology-Dr. Guy Moss
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3752
internal 33752
Physiology (2nd year entry) - Dr. Richard Tunwell    
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3210 internal 33210
Graduate Tutors (Admissions/Procedures)    
Prof. Alasdair Gibb (lead)
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 1398 internal 31398
Prof. Alexander Gourine
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 2565 internal 32565
Graduate Administrator    
Joanna Fryer    
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 5461
internal 65461

Head of Teaching

Neuroscience, Physiology and Pharmacology

Dr. Talvinder Sihra    
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3296 internal 33296
Teaching Office Room G10, Medawar Building
Tracy Hicks (Manager)
internal 33240
Anushka Magan
internal 51034
Nick Clarke internal 33751
Tutors to Neuroscience Students    

Dr. Jeremy Cook

(1st year)

internal 46576
Prof. Paola Pedarzani
(2nd year & Programme Tutor)
internal 37744
Prof. Maria Fitzgerald
(3rd and 4th year)
internal 31303
Prof. Chris Yeo
(Integrated BSc)
internal 32007
Tutors to Pharmacology Students    
Dr. Guy Moss
(1st year)
internal 33752
Dr. Talvinder Sihra
(2nd and 4th year, and Programme Tutor)
internal 33296
Dr. Martin Stocker
internal 32990
Prof. Lucia Sivilotti
(Integrated BSc)
Tutor to Physiology and Pharmacology BSc/IBSc Students
Dr. Paola Vergani
internal 37908
Tutor to Physiology BSc/IBSc Students    
Dr. Ian Edwards internal 51034
Teaching Administrator, Project Officer
Dr. Christine Williams internal 37780
Finance and Grants Administration    
Roger Allman internal 65473
Rebecca Khan internal 65471
Stavroula Lialiou internal 65470
Human Resources Administration    
Rachel Tribe (Manager) internal 65469
Jeremy Guyer
internal 65467
Buildings Management    
Tony Langford internal 65454
Becki Sansome internal 65450
IT Support