Awards and Appointments

March 2011

Awards, appointments, elections and honours

Professor Mark Girolami (UCL Statistical Science) has been elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE). Each new Fellow of the RSE is recognised within his or her peer group as having achieved excellence within their discipline or profession.

Professor Ray Dolan (Wellcome Trust Imaging Centre at UCL) has been elected to Honorary Membership of the Royal Irish Academy (MRIA). It is the highest academic honour in Ireland and is open only to those resident in the Republic of Ireland or in Northern Ireland.

Dr Wendy Carlin (UCL Economics) has been appointed to the Office of Budget Responsibility's Expert Advisory Panel.

Talia Atkin (UCL of Neuroscience, Physiology and Pharmacology) has been awarded the Biological Sciences Gold Medal at this month's SET for Britain event. SET for Britain is a poster competition in the House of Commons - involving 180 early stage or early career researchers - judged by professional and academic experts. The Silver Award went to Miss Jay Stone (UCL Institute of Ophthalmology).

Professor Derek Yellon (UCLH) has been honoured with the status of National Institute of Health Research (NIHR) Senior Investigator in the latest round of NIHR appointments. Professor Deenan Pillay (UCL Infection) was one of a number of existing Senior Investigators to be reappointed. NIHR Senior Investigators are made up of some of the nation’s most outstanding researchers. They are selected through an annual competition.

UCL awards and appointments

Awarded Honorary Fellowships: Professor Rick Batterbee (UCL Geography); Professor Bernard Buxton (former Dean, UCL Engineering); Mr Victor Chu (UCL Laws alumnus); Dr Jane Collins (CEO, Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children); Baroness Jean Coussins (advocate for the teaching of modern languages); Professor Janet Darbyshire Joint Director of the UK Clinical Research Network (UKCRN) Co-ordinating Centre); Professor Paul Davies (UCL Physics alumnus); Mr Michael Flesch QC (UCL Laws alumnus); Professor Max Pettini (Institute of Astronomy, Cambridge); Dr Mike Simons (Yale, and co-founder with Professor John Martin of the UCL-Yale Collaborative); Mr Maurice Watkins (UCL Laws alumnus).

Awarded Honorary Degrees: Lady Justice Arden (Court of Appeal); Professor Homi K Bhabha (Director of the Humanities Center, Harvard); Sir David Cooksey (chairman of the UK Centre for Medical Research and Innovation; UKCMRI); Sir Nicholas Grimshaw (President of the Royal Academy); Professor Gail Martin (Leader of the Martin Lab at the University of California San Francisco); Sir Keith Peters (Emeritus Professor of Physics at the University of Cambridge).

February 2011

Awards, appointments, elections and honours

Professor Ardis Butterfield (UCL English Language and Literature) has been awarded the 2010 RH Gapper Book Prize by the Society of French Studies for her book The Familiar Enemy: Chaucer, Language and Nation in Hundred Years War. This award is for the best book published in 2009 by a scholar working in Britain or Ireland in French studies, judged on the criteria of critical and scholarly distinction and likely impact on wider critical debate.

UCL awards and appointments

January 2011

Awards, appointments, elections and honours

David Willetts, the Minister for Universities and Science, has reappointed UCL President and Provost Professor Malcolm Grant to membership of the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC).

Professor Robin Clark gave the annual Minerva Lecture of the Worshipful Company of Scientific Instrument Makers on "Raman's Legacy: Spectroscopy in the Cause of Art and Archaeology", at the Glaziers' Hall, London on 18 January 2011.

Professor Andrew Pomiankowski (UCL Genetics, Evolution and Environment) has been awarded Fellowship of The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as a Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. Proffesor Pomiankowski's Fellowship was awarded for distinguished contributions in evolutionary genetics, theoretical and experimental, in particular in the fields of sexual selection, the evolution of mate preference and sexual signals.

Professor Dawn Oliver (UCL Laws) has taken up the role of Treasurer (i.e., Head) for 2011 of Middle Temple, one of the four Inns of Court. It is the first time that an academic lawyer has been elected to such a position.

Mr Mandeep S. Sagoo (UCL Ophthalmology) has been awarded the Syme Medal of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh. The Syme Medal is a prestigious mark of excellence awarded by the College to a Fellow or Member of the College in good standing, on the basis of a recently submitted thesis (MD or PhD), or published body of research, or Educational development. The Medal is awarded to Surgeons in Training or recently appointed consultants. 

UCL awards and appointments

Mssr. Frédéric Migayrou has been appointed as the new Bartlett Professor of Architecture. Professor Migayrou’s appointment at the Bartlett starts in March 2011, and will be held concurrently with his role as Director of Centre de Création Industrielle, and Deputy Director at the Centre Pompidou in Paris.

UCL has appointed Professor Murray Fraser to a Personal Chair at UCL in the Bartlett. Professor Fraser has previously taught at Oxford Brookes and Westminster, and is well known for having tutored many prize-winning students in both design and architectural history and theory in the RIBA President’s Medals and other competitions.