Space Plasma Physics Welcomes 2 New Students

7 October 2013

The MSSL Space Plasma Physics group offers a warm welcome to our two new Ph.D students, Louise Cooper and Nadine Kalmoni. Louise joins us after having completed her degree at Aberystwyth and Nadine joins us from Imperial College.

Louise will be working with Prof. Andrew Fazakerley, investigating auroral acceleration processes using data from the Cluster spacecraft. Nadine will be working with Dr. Jonathan Rae examining substorm physics.

Both students attended the STFC introductory summer school on Solar and Solar Terrestrial Physics, which this year was held at the Eötvös University in Budapest, August 25-30, 2103.  Prof. Chris Owen, head of the Space Plasmas Group, also attended to lecture to the students on the structure of the magnetosphere.

In addition to the academic program, and number of evening walks around the city were organised.


Details of the current Space Plasma Physics group staff and students can be found on our webpages.

Page last modified on 07 oct 13 17:15