Group members

PostDoctoral Scientists

Dr.Jing Zhao

Dr.Jing Zhao
My study is focused on sensory transduction and transmission in peripheral nervous system, especially in pain signalling. I use gene targeting in/transgenic mice as a model, combining molecular biochemistry, electrophysiology and behavioural approaches to identify the genes or molecules involved and to understand the molecular, cellular physiological and pathological mechanisms involved. Currently I am investigating 1) the trafficking of sodium channel Nav1.7, 2) the role of BDNF in chronic pain, 3) the function of microRNA in pain signalling and 4) the role of sodium channel Nav1.8 in cardiac conduction.
Telephone:020 7679 6722, e-Mail: jing02.zhao@ucl.ac.uk

Dr.James Cox

Dr.James Cox
I am a MRC Research Career Development Fellow focussing on the genetic basis of human pain. We study families with rare inherited pain disorders (either with pain insensitivity or chronic pain conditions). By sequencing the genome of our patients with pain disorders we aim to identify novel gene mutations. This enables us to highlight genes and pathways that are critical for normal pain sensation and potentially reveal new analgesic drug targets..
Telephone:020 7679 6704, e-Mail: j.j.cox@wibr.ucl.ac.uk

Dr.Ana-Paula Luiz
Telephone:020 7679 6722, e-Mail: a.luiz@ucl.ac.uk

Dr.Roman Gonitel
Telephone:020 7679 6722, e-Mail: r.gonitel@ucl.ac.uk

Dr.Abdella Habib
Telephone:020 7679 6704, e-Mail: a.habib@ucl.ac.uk

Dr.Vanessa Pereira
Telephone:020 7679 6722, e-Mail: v.pereira@ucl.ac.uk

Dr.Toru Morohashi
Telephone:020 7679 6725, e-Mail: t.morohashi@ucl.ac.uk

Dr.Edward Emery
Telephone:020 7679 6722, e-Mail: e.emery@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Stephane Lolignier
Telephone:020 7679 0793, e-Mail: s.lolignier@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Shafaq Sikandar
Telephone:020 7679 6722, e-Mail shafaq.sikandar@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

 

Technical Support

Mr. Sam Gossage
As Laboratory Manager my main role is to ensure the smooth running of the scientific service functions within the Laboratory, leading the delivery of services in strategic and operational matters and providing advice, guidance and support on a wide range of administrative issues within the group.


Telephone:020 7679 6855, e-Mail s.gossage@ucl.ac.uk

Miss Queensta Millet
Telephone:020 7679 6742, e-Mail q.Millet@ucl.ac.uk

Miss Sonia Santana
Telephone:020 7679 6742, e-Mail s.santana@ucl.ac.uk