Joseph Rotblat Prize

Nuclear physicist Joseph Rotblat left his native Poland in 1939 to work at Liverpool University, and soon became involved in the Manhattan Project at Los Alamos to develop the atomic bomb. He was the only physicist to leave the Project for ethical reasons when it became clear that Germany was not going to develop a similar device. Deeply concerned about the morality of nuclear weapons, he was a founder member of the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament, launched in 1958, and co-founded the annual series of Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs in 1957 as a vehicle for scientists to promote the causes of peace and disarmament. Rotblat was determined that his research should have only peaceful ends, and so became interested in the medical and biological uses of radiation. During 1950-1976, Joseph Rotblat was Professor of Physics at St. Bartholomew’s Hospital, London, where his career was devoted to the application of radiation physics to medicine. In 1995, he and the Pugwash Conferences organisation he created were jointly awarded the Nobel peace prize.

The MSc in Radiation Physics was started in 1958 by Joseph Rotblat at St Bartholomew’s Medical College and Eric Roberts at the Middlesex Hospital Medical School. We award a prize in Prof Rotblat's name to our most outstanding MSc student.

Winners of the Joseph Rotblat Prize

Kate Ricketts
Catherine Eveleigh
Katie Eyre
James O'Callaghan
Edwina Peck
Anne-Marie Stapleton
Kehao Wang
Oscar Bennett



Oscar Bennett receiving the 2015 Joseph Rotblat Prize from Dr. Martin Fry.