Top Teacher and Administrator Awards


Throughout the course of the year, UCL Medical School students are given the opportunity to nominate teachers who were particularly helpful or inspiring to them during their studies.  

Students have also been given the opportunity to nominate administrators whom they found particularly helpful and supportive.

Top Teachers and Administrators 2014-15

Winners 2014-15
Category Awards Issued
Year 1
Year 2
Year 3
Year 4
Year 5
Central Sites 5

Year 6
GP   3
SSC (All Years)   12
Vertical Modules (All Years)   8
Administrators   11

Year 1 Winners

Circulation and Breathing

Dr Leslie Dale (UCL, Department of Cell & Developmental Biology)

Dr Jonathan Fry (UCL, Department of Neuroscience, Physiology & Pharmacology)

Foundations of Health and Medical Practice

Dr Finn Werner (UCL, Structural & Molecular Biology) 

Dr Sandra Martelli (UCL, Cell & Developmental Biology) 

Dr Ian Edwards (UCL, Anatomy)

Fluid, Nutrition and Metabolism

Prof. Peter Delves (UCL, Dept of Immunology)

Dr Richard Milne (UCL, Dept of Immunology)

Infection and Defence

Dr Bambos Charalambos (Medical Microbiology, Royal Free)

Prof. Peter Delves (UCL, Dept of Immunology)

Dr Kate Ward (UCL, Dept of Infection)

Year 2 Winners

Endocrine Systems and Regulation

Dr Pam Houston (UCL, Biomedical Sciences)

Dr Bernard Khoo (Royal Free Hospital, Endocrinology) 

Movement and Musculoskeletal Biology

Dr Alan Bates (UCL, Cellular Pathology)

Dr Sandra Martelli (UCL, Cell & Developmental Biology)

Neuroscience and Behaviour

Prof Christopher Yeo (UCL, Anatomy & Developmental Biology)

Prof Fred Spoor (UCL, Cell & Developmental Biology)

Year 3 IBSc Winners


Year 4 Winners

Module A

Dr Chee Loong (Royal Free)

Dr Rodric Jenkin (Whittington)

Dr Daniel Marks (UCL, Centre for Molecular Medicine)

Module B

Prof Anisure Rahman (UCLH)

Dr Christos Toumpanakis (Royal Free)

Dr Rachel Westbrook (Royal Free)

Module C

Dr Julie Andrews (Whittington)

Dr Bernard Davis (Whittington)

Year 5 Winners

Child and Family Health

Dr Johnny Canlas (Whittington)

Dr Jonathan Cohen (Institute of Child Health)

Dr Rose Crowley (Whittington)

Dr Michael Eisenhut (Luton and Dunstable)

Dr Adam Friedmann (Whittington)

Dr Trevor Hedges (Luton and Dunstable)

Dr Charlotte Holland (North Middlesex)

Dr John Moreiras (Whittington)

Dr Sam Mukerjee (Basildon)

Women’s Health and Men’s Health

Miss Amma Kyei-Mensah (Whittington)

Year 6 Winners

Dr Ritwik Banerjee (Luton & Dunstable)

Dr Kalpesh Bershedas (Barnet)

Dr Parthipan Pillai (Luton & Dunstable)

Dr William Topping (Lister)


Year 1 SSCs 

Dr Claire Elliott (UCL, Medical Humanities)

Dr Katherine Harrison (Whittington)

Dr Zaheer Mangera (Royal Free)

Mr Clive Mason (UCL, British Sign Language)

Dr Jacqueline Pitchforth (Whittington)

Dr Scott Rice (UCLH)

Dr Zalli Agirta (UCL, Research Department of Infection and Population Health) 

Year 2 SSCs 

Dr William Lynn (Ealing Hospital)

Ms Asma Ashraf (UCL, Research Department of Infection and Population Health)

Year 6 SSCs

Mr Manolis Gavalas (UCH)

Dr Philip Lodge (Royal Free Hospital)

Dr Rob Stephens (UCH)

Vertical Module Winners

Dr Amanda Band (Royal Free)

Dr Deborah Kirklin (Whittington)

Dr Heather Suckling (Whittington)

Dr Farah Paruk (Whittington)

Dr Eileen Rosenfelder (Royal Free)

Ms Deidre Wallace (Royal Free)

Ms Janeen Hughes (Royal Free)

Dr Susan Snoxall (Bloomsbury)


Dr Riadh Dawood

Dr Jeremy Marshall

Dr Russell Hearn

Back to Top

Administrators Awards

The Top Administrator awards were introduced to provide recognition to the exceptional administrators involved in the MBBS.

Ms Julie Smith (Basildon)

Ms Anne Collings (NMUH)

Mr Mohammad Hafeez (Barnet)

Miss Christina Mandersen (Barnet)

Mrs Chloe Marshall (Bloomsbury)

Mr Yusuf Ozkizil (Institute of Child Health)

Ms Anne Thurston (Bloomsbury)

Ms Su Gill (Luton & Dunstable)

Ms Hannah Golec (Royal Free)

Ms Louise Hurford (Queen Square)

Ms Eibhlin Mullarney (Whittington)

Back to Top

Back to Top

Page last modified on 20 oct 15 12:11