XClose

UCL Medical School

Home
Menu

Year 3 (iBSc Year)


The iBSc year allows students to pursue an individual subject, of their choice, in considerable depth, with a strong emphasis on undertaking an extended research study. Active engagement with UCL’s connected curriculum means that students are encouraged to integrate this research intensive year into their ongoing medical studies and across all modules taken during the year.

The multi-faculty, multi-disciplinary structure of UCL means that we are in a strong position to offer a wide range of degree programmes of high academic standing (currently 18 programmes but this is subject to change). Detailed information about the available Integrated BSc programmes is made available to students during their second MBBS year.

iBSc Application Process

The multi-faculty, multidisciplinary structure of UCL means that we are in a strong position to offer a wide range of degree programmes of a high academic standing. Information on the numerous iBSc programmes can be found on the programme info tab adjacent to this one.

During Year 2, students need to apply for the iBSc programme they will undertake in Year 3. A two-part fair is held in early January with stalls and talks to help the students decide which programmes to apply for. 

The application process is predominantly done through Moodle, and the decision-making is based on personal statements by programme tutors. Students submit four preferences of programme, with a personal statement for each of their first two preferences only.

After the deadline, all first preference submissions are sent to each programme. Some students are not successful in their first preference as the programme is over-subscribed. In these cases the students’ second preference personal statement is sent to their second preference programme for consideration.
Submissions are sent to the iBSc tutors after the deadline which is usually early March.

For any students whose first and second preferences are both over-subscribed, or if the programme does not run, their third or fourth preference programmes are requested to consider them.

Please note the following:

  • The dates for the fair for 2018/19 are 6th December 2017 for the presentations and 13th December 2017 for the iBSc Fair . Details of the venue TBC.
  • iBSc application deadline is Wednesday 31st January 2018.
  • Selections for over-subscribed programmes are not based on a first come first served basis, but judged on the quality of the personal statements.
  • While the vast majority of students are accepted for the programme of their first or second preference, allocations cannot be guaranteed for any programme.
  • Student who are re-taking the year reapply through the Moodle course again and go through the same process as the other Year 2 students. Re-takers do not need to re-write your personal statements from last year (unless they wish to) and are welcome to resubmit them.
  • Graduates are exempt from the iBSc year, however they are welcome to apply should they so wish.
  • All information regarding the process will be communicated to the Year 2 students via UCL email.

Any queries about this process should be sent to medsch.mbbsy3@ucl.ac.uk.

Programme Information

Please click on the name of the programme for the programme details for 2016/17.

Anatomy, Cell, & Developmental Biology
Programme Administrator: Helen Jefferson Brown - h.jefferson-brown@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Professor Tim Arnett - t.arnett@ucl.ac.uk

Cardiovascular Science
Programme Administrator: Lucia Martin-Zamora - l.martin-zamora@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Professor Lucie Clapp - l.clapp@ucl.ac.uk

Clinical Sciences
Programme Administrator: Francesca Harrison - f.harrison@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Professor Marsha Morgan - marsha.morgan@ucl.ac.uk

Global Health
Programme Administrator: Caroline Smith - caroline_smith@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Shivani Singh - shivani.singh.10@ucl.ac.uk

History & Philosophy of Science & Medicine
Programme Administrator: Christina Ogunwumiju - c.ogunwumiju@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Dr Brendan Clarke - b.clarke@ucl.ac.uk

Human Genetics & Genomics
Programme Administrator: Kathryn Ball - kathryn.ball@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Dr Hazel Smith - hazel.smith@ucl.ac.uk

Immunology, Infection & Cell Pathology
Programme Administrator: Bilana Nikolic - b.nikolic@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Dr Richard Milne - richard.milne@ucl.ac.uk

Medical Anthropology
Programme Administrator: Chris Russell - christopher.russell@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Dr Aaron Pankhurst - a.pankhurst@ucl.ac.uk

Medical Physics & Biomedical Engineering
Programme Administrator: James Vallerine - j.vallerine@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director:  Professor Clare Elwell - c.elwell@ucl.ac.uk

Neuroscience
Programme Administrator: Nick Clarke - n.m.clarke@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Professor Chris Yeo - c.yeo@ucl.ac.uk

Orthopaedic Science
Programme Administrator: Stephanie McColl - s.mccoll@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Dr Stephen Taylor - stephen.taylor@ucl.ac.uk

Paediatrics & Child Health
Programme Administrator: Rahima Khanum - r.khanum@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Dr Paul Winyard - p.winyard@ucl.ac.uk

Pharmacology
Programme Administrator: Tracy Hicks - tracy.hicks@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Professor Lucia Sivilotti - l.sivilotti@ucl.ac.uk

Physiology & Pharmacology
Programme Administrator: Anushka Magan - a.magan@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Dr Paola Vergani - p.vergani@ucl.ac.uk

Physiology
Programme Administrator: Anushka Magan - a.magan@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Dr Ian Edwards - i.edwards@ucl.ac.uk

Policy, Communication & Ethics
Programme Administrator: Christina Ogunwumiju - c.ogunwumiju@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Dr Brendan Clarke - b.clarke@ucl.ac.uk 

Primary Health Care
Programme Administrator: Sandra Gerrard - s.gerrard@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Dr Surinder Singh - s.singh2@ucl.ac.uk

Psychology
Programme Administrator: Joanna Strange - joanna.strange@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Dr Hugo Spiers - h.spiers@ucl.ac.uk

Sports and Exercise Medical Sciences
Programme Administrator: sportsmedicineadmin@ucl.ac.uk

Women's Health
Programme Administrator: Rebeca Eaton - l.eaton@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Director: Dr Melissa Whitten - melissa.whitten@uclh.nhs.uk 

Support

STUDENT SUPPORT CLINICS

The Medical School has a team of Medical Student Support Tutors who conduct daily clinics at 74 Huntley Street.  Full details about the tutors, clinic and appointment system may be found on the Medical Student Support webpage at: http://www.ucl.ac.uk/medicalschool/staff-students/student-support.

Student Support Clinics are held throughout the week during term time, and predominantly occur in the mornings. The clinics are staffed by the Divisional Tutors and Medical School Support Tutors, who are available to discuss any academic or pastoral issue of concern to the student or their tutors. 

Requests for approved absence, interruptions of study and access to financial support from Medical School hardship funds etc should also be discussed at these surgeries. Problems with firm teaching would, normally, first be discussed with the firm lead although continuing problems could then be explored at these sessions.

Students in all years are strongly encouraged to make use of these clinics and to raise areas of concern as early as possible. The majority of appointment times are pre-booked. Bookings for Student Support Appointments should be made via MBBS Management either in person in the Student Office in the Medical School Building, or by using the appropriate contact below: 

medsch.student-support@ucl.ac.uk

However, we try to ensure that wherever possible one slot a day is kept for emergency appointments, Students needing an emergency appointment should email the contacts above making clear in the subject line of the email that this is an urgent request. Please note that compulsory Student Support appointments take precedence over all teaching. Please note that a brief note from all student support appointments is typed up and sent to you by email so that you can check the accuracy of the note and have a reminder for the agreed plan of action or relevant contact details. This note will not be shared with anyone outside student support without your permission, unless it relates to Fitness to Practise issues.

Please see www.ucl.ac.uk/medicalschool/staff-students/student-support for further details.

iBSc PROGRAMME QUERIES

If you have any concerns directly relating to your course and / or academic issues please contact your iBSc course tutor or iBSc personal tutor. Their contact details can be found at the Programme Information Tab.

iBSc YEAR

In order to progress to year 4 of the MBBS programme it is necessary to complete all components of the iBSc (i.e. sit all exams and complete all required coursework), although progression is allowed if the degree is not awarded.  To be considered for an honours degree it is necessary for an iBSc student to pass three of the four course units (including the project), that is, even if a student fails a 1.0 course unit taught module or two 0.5 units they can still be awarded a degree. If a student fails their iBSc because they have failed more than one taught module unit and/or the project, they are offered the opportunity to repeat the failed modules in the subsequent year. This is however not a requirement to progression. If a student takes the option to resit failed modules they will delay entering year 4 by one year, as it is not possible to resit iBSc modules/examinations during year 4.

If you have any concerns relating to academic issues about the iBSc year in general please contact the iBSc Academic Lead, Professor Stephen Davies: s.w.davies@ucl.ac.uk .

If you require any further information or are unsure where to direct a query to please contact the Year 3 MBBS Administrator:

medsch.mbbsy3@ucl.ac.uk

FORMS

FUNDING

 A limited number of bursaries are available to iBSc students. Further information on this application process will be sent to students via email.

Other sources of funding are detailed in the document below and it is recommended that students investigate possible sources of funding as early as possible in order to meet any deadlines. Please contact  the iBSc administrator if you wish to apply for any funding in this document so that the Medical School can both keep a record of your application and also assist with documentation if needed.

If you are experiencing financial hardship during your iBSc year please contact student support to arrange an appointment to discuss your concerns:medsch.support1-3@ucl.ac.uk

iBSc Funding List

EXTENUATING CIRCUMSTANCES

Please refer to http://www.ucl.ac.uk/srs/academic-manual/c4/extenuating-circumstances for UCL’s regulations and application process and to download an application form.  These processes provide a mechanism to support students in the event of any circumstances which are sudden, unexpected, significantly disruptive and beyond the student's control and which may affect their performance at assessment, such as a serious illness or the death of a close relative, and to enable alternative arrangements to be put in place, such as an extension or deferral of assessment to a later sitting. Students are required to indicate what form of mitigation they are seeking and medical students in all years except Year 3/IBSc should note that the integrated nature of the MBBS programme and examinations means that the option of ‘exclusion from module/progression/classification requirements’ does not apply and should not be ticked. 

Students in Year 3 should submit applications to their IBSc home Department/Faculty Office as instructed by each programme.  Applications for coursework extensions of up to 1 week will be managed by the IBSc Department/Faculty.   Applications for other types of mitigation will be referred onwards by the IBSc programme/Faculty to the Medical School Student Support Office at medsch.mbbsy3@ucl.ac.uk.

GENERAL


PLEASE NOTE UCL MEDICAL SCHOOL CANNOT OFFER PLACES ON THE INTEGRATED BSc TO STUDENTS FROM EXTERNAL UNIVERSITIES.