Medical Modelling Group

Current members

Dr Steve Baigent MA DPhil

Senior Lecturer, Department of Mathematics, UCL

Interests: medical modelling of physiological processes, lattice-Boltzmann simulations of fluid flow.

email: steve.baigent@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Robert Bowles BSc PhD

Senior Lecturer, Department of Mathematics, UCL

Interests: Fluid mechanics especially boundary-layer flows, boundary-layer transition and free-surface flows; branching-flow networks.

email: r.bowles@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Stefan Brew MD

Consultant Neuroradiologist, National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery

Interests: endovascular treatment strategies for neurovascular diseases, particularly arteriovenous malformations and cerebral aneurysms.

email: stefan.brew@uclh.nhs.uk

Dr Gaetano Burriesci MEng PhD

Lecturer, Department of Mechanical Engineering, UCL

Interests: artificial heart valves, optimisation and assessment of cardiovascular prostheses, numerical simulation of physiological systems, experimental stress analysis.

email: g.burriesci@ucl.ac.uk

Professor Peter Coveney MA DPhil

Professor in Physical Chemistry and Director of the Centre for Computational Science

Interests: molecular modelling and computational chemistry; mesoscale modelling and simulation; kinetics of complex nonlinear physicochemical processes; statistical mechanics.

email: p.v.coveney@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Vanessa Diaz MEng PhD

Lecturer, Department of Mechanical Engineering, UCL

Interests: the development of multi-scale, multi-physics and biologically-oriented, appropriate boundary conditions for 3D models in the cardiovascular field; the utilization of computational tools for the design and optimization of cardiovascular devices (mechanical heart valves, stents, etc.); the numerical simulation of physiological systems (with FSI); the use of optimization tools applied to the modelling and simulation of the cardiovascular system.

email: v.diaz@ucl.ac.uk

Professor Ian Eames BSc PhD

Reader in Fluid Mechanics, Dept of Mechanical Engineering, UCL Interests: fundamental research into fluid mechanics, encompasing  conceptual development in multiphase flows, practical applications to engineering problems, and health/medical related research.

email: i.eames@ucl.ac.uk

Professor Christopher Fry BSc BA PhD DSc

Professor of Cell Physiology, Institute of Urology and Nephrology, UCL Interests: flow in the lower urinary tract, in particular through the complex vessel configurations of the bladder and urethra, and its dysfunction.

Miss Joan Grieve MD FRCS

Consultant Neurosurgeon, National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery Interests: clinical management of arteriovenous malformations and other neurovascular pathologies, sub-arachnoid haemorrhage.

email: joan.grieve@uclh.nhs.uk

Professor David Hawkes PhD

Professor of Medical Imaging Science, Department of Computer Science, UCL

Interests: Medical imaging, extracting blood flow information from X-ray angiography.

email: D.Hawkes@cs.ucl.ac.uk

Mr Neil Kitchen MD FRCS (SN)

Consultant Neurosurgeon, National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery

Interests: clinical management of arteriovenous malformations, epilepsy, sub-arachnoid haemorrhage, cerebral aneurysms.

email: neil.kitchen@uclh.nhs.uk

Professor Sofia Olhede

Professor, Department of Statistical Science, UCL

Interests: applications of image processing, magnetic resonance imaging, detection.

email: s.olhede@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Nick Ovenden BSc PhD

Senior Lecturer, Department of Mathematics, UCL

Interests: Biomedical flows and mathematical medicine; modelling cerebrovascular networks with arteriovenous malformations; fluid-structure interactions; asymptotic and perturbation methods; lattice-Boltzmann simulations of fluid flow.

email: n.ovenden@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Fergus Robertson MD

Neuroradiologist, National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery Interests: endovascular treatment strategies for neurovascular diseases, particularly arteriovenous malformations and cerebral aneurysms.

email: fergus.robertson@uclh.nhs.uk

Professor Alexander Seifalian

Professor, Biomaterials & Tissue Engineering Centre, UCL

Interests: tissue engineering; surgical grafts; biomaterials.

email: a.seifalian@ucl.ac.uk

Professor Frank Smith MA DPhil FRS

Goldsmid Professor of Applied Mathematics, Department of Mathematics, UCL Interests: biomedical problems including modelling of complex phenomena through nonlinear theory, analysis, reduced-system computation and full simulation. Current projects concern networks in the brain, with applications to strokes, neurosurgery, modelling for complex cardiovascular shapes, modelling for the lower urinary tract, with applications to incontinence and prostate gland effects.

email: f.smith@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Eleanor P J Strid BEng(Hons) PhD

Lecturer, Department of Engineering Science, University of Oxford

Interests: characterisation and design of microbubble ultrasound contrast agents for medical diagnostic imaging and targeted drug delivery, novel techniques for non-destructive evaluation of synthetic tissue constructs.

email: eleanor.stride@eng.ox.ac.uk

Mr Laurence Watkins MA FRCS (SN)

Consultant Neurosurgeon, National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery

Interests: clinical management of arteriovenous malformations and other neurovascular pathologies; sub-arachnoid haemorrhage.

email: laurence.watkins@uclh.nhs.uk

Professor Guo Xiong Wu MSc PhD

Professor of Computational Fluid Dynamics, Department of Mechanical Engineering, UCL

Interests: linear and non-linear free surface flow, finite-element method, finite-volume method, boundary-element method, coupled fluid-structure analyses, flow with deformable boundary. Current activities in biomedical flow include CFD simulation of flow in flexible tubes, tube network, tubes with obstacles or defects.

email: g.wu@ucl.ac.uk



Page last modified on 22 feb 13 12:27