XClose

Mathematical & Physical Sciences

Home

Intensity landscape of X-ray speckles

Menu

Summer scholarships

Deciding what career you would like to do following your undergraduate degree is always difficult. If you are considering doing a PhD then the best way to find out if this is for you is to obtain a summer placement within a research group.

Research themes across the departments in the MAPS Faculty include understanding the molecular and physical basis of life processes, the natural environment (e.g. predicting earthquakes and hurricanes), probing the origins of the universe, applying nanoscale technology to medical technology.

There are several schemes for doing this.

EPSRC Undergraduate Vacation Bursaries

These awards, supported by EPSRC, provide funding to enable undergraduate students, within the Faculty of MAPS to carry out a research project over the summer break under the supervision of a UCL academic. Funding is in the form of a weekly bursary, providing the London Living Wage to support a project of up to 8 weeks in duration.

Applications should be submitted via Talent Bank by 5pm on March 24th 2017.

Applications will be reviewed by the studentship committee, chaired by Dr Silvia Zane (s.zane@ucl.ac.uk) and candidates will be informed of the outcome by early May.

Further information on the Scheme, including eligibility requirements and proposal criteria can be found on the EPSRC Vacation Bursaries Webpage (link to: https://www.ucl.ac.uk/cdt/epsrc-vacation-bursaries)

International Students Dean's Summer Student Scholarships

Dean's Summer Student Scholarships are available for international students to spend a 2 month period carrying out research in the Faculty of Mathematical and Physical Sciences.

A few scholarships are available for summer 2017 to cover a 2 month stay in a research group of your choice. International travel will also be covered.  Please apply to the department of your choice by sending a CV and covering letter to the contact listed below (put 'Dean's Summer Student Scholarship' in the subject of the email).  The deadline for applications is Friday April 21st 2017.  The exact dates of the stay are not fixed but the student must be present at UCL on 18 August 2017 on which there will be a day of talks.

Chemistry: Dr Tom Sheppard tom.sheppard@ucl.ac.uk
Earth Sciences: Dr Graham Shields g.shields@ucl.ac.uk
Mathematics: Prof. Frank Smith frank@math.ucl.ac.uk
Physics and Astronomy: Prof. Ruben Saakyan r.saakyan@ucl.ac.uk
Space and Climate Physics: Dr. Silvia Zane s.zane@ucl.ac.uk
Statistical Science: Prof. Tom Fearn t.fearn@ucl.ac.uk

Other options

There are other department-specific options available. Most departments have some departmental funds to cover a few summer students. There are other means to get funding, such as the Royal Astronomical Society. In the first instance, contact your department's undergraduate tutor for information about options in your chosen field.