The Department of Mathematics was one of the founding departments of UCL and as such it is the third oldest Mathematics department in England. Since its beginning, Mathematics at UCL has been enhanced by its many outstanding members of staff including JJ Sylvester, WK Clifford and Sir James Lighthill. Two of its students (and later staff) Professors Klaus Roth (1958) and Alan Baker (1970) have gone on to win the Fields Medal, the Mathematician's equivalent of the Nobel Prize. Another former member of staff, Professor Tim Gowers won the Fields Medal in 1998 for work he did whilst at UCL.

The department engages in world-leading research in both pure and applied
mathematics including analysis, number theory, inverse problems, fluid mechanics with industrial and environmental applications, integrable systems, combinatorics, field theories and gravitation, mathematics applied to biology and medicine, and theory of composites and homogenisation. The department is committed to excellence in teaching and its broad range of research interests is reflected in the large choice of courses available in the third and fourth years of the degree programmes.



Page last modified on 25 apr 14 10:20