LMCB - MRC Laboratory for Molecular Cell Biology

Rob De Bruin's picture
LMCB Group Leader, UCL Professor of Molecular Cancer Biology
+44 (0)20 7679 7255
LMCB Room B101
Twitter @DeRobertus
Cell Cycle Regulated Transcription and Genome Integrity

Research Synopsis

The de Bruin lab focuses on two main lines of investigation: (1) elucidating the mechanism and functional importance of the regulation of the cell cycle transcriptional program by the checkpoints that ensure maintenance of genome integrity, and (2) obtaining a better understanding of fundamental regulatory pathways that cause changes in cell cycle-regulated gene expression and the importance of this regulation for the maintenance of genome integrity.

Our work is aimed at understanding, at the molecular level, why defects in proteins ranging from gene-specific transcriptional regulators to global regulators of transcription are associated with human disease, most notably with cancer.

Selected Publications

Bertoli C, et al (2016). Sustained E2F-Dependent Transcription Is a Key Mechanism to Prevent Replication-Stress-Induced DNA Damage. Cell Reports, 15 (7), 1412-1422. doi:10.1016/j.celrep.2016.04.036
Caetano C, et al (2014). Tolerance of deregulated G1/S transcription depends on critical G1/S regulon genes to prevent catastrophic genome instability. Cell Rep, 9 (6), 2279-2289. doi:10.1016/j.celrep.2014.11.039
Bertoli C, et al (2013). Chk1 inhibits E2F6 repressor function in response to replication stress to maintain cell cycle transcription.Current Biology.
Bertoli C, et al (2013). Control of cell cycle transcription during G1 and S phases. Nat Rev Mol Cell Biol, 14 (8), 518-528. doi:10.1038/nrm3629
de Oliveira FMB, et al (2012). Linking DNA replication checkpoint to MBF cell-cycle transcription reveals a distinct class of G1/S genes. EMBO JOURNAL, 31 (7), 1798-1810. doi:10.1038/emboj.2012.27


Cancer Research UK

Research Themes

Regulation of transcription, Signalling pathways


Light microscopy, Translational research, Bioinformatics,  Super-resolution microscopy, Electron microscopy


Cosetta Bertoli (Postdoctoral Fellow)
Elena Ledesma (Postdoctoral Fellow)
Beth Pennycook (PhD Student)
Gemma Wilson (PhD Student)
Sophie Cooke (PhD Student)
Silvia Peripolli (PhD Student)
Joe Jones (PhD Student)
Conner Langworth-Green (Masters Student)


Buzz Baum (LMCB, UK)
Eva Paluch (LMCB. UK)
Janos Kriston-Vizi (LMCB, UK)
Jurg Bahler (UCL, UK)
Ravi Gupta (UCL, UK)
Paul Russell (The Scripps Research Institute, USA)
Marcus Smolka (Cornell University, USA)
Amir Aharoni (Negev University, Israel)
Nick Buchler (Duke University, USA)