Master of Laws (LLM) Programme

Student Prizes

UCL Laws awards prizes and scholarships to students who have achieved top marks in their examinations or who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement. It does this through the generous support of a wide range of sponsors, including legal firms, Laws alumni and individual benefactors who maintain strong links with the Faculty and who encourage our students to strive for excellence. Our prize winners are very special indeed. To be awarded a Faculty prize or scholarship is to be given significant recognition as truly outstanding amongst your peers.

*Please note that not all prizes are awarded annually.

Graduate Prizes

Baker & McKenzie LLP Prize for Overall Best Performance in the Intellectual Property LLM - Awarded to LLM Students taking IP law courses.

Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Prize for Highest Dissertation Marks in Dispute Resolution or Arbitration - One prize awarded to students attaining the highest individual marks for their dissertation on the subject of arbitration or alternative dispute resolution.

Cheng Cheng-Nan Prize For Public International Law - Awarded to the best postgraduate Public International Law student.

Francis Taylor Building Prize for Best Overall Mark in the Environmental Law LLM - Awarded to LLM students specialising in Environmental Law.

International Corporate Rescue Award for Excellence - Awarded to the author of the best LLB or LLM dissertation in the area of financial and/or corporate law as recommended by the UCL Centre for Commercial Law.

Jevons Institute Prize for Top Competition Law Students - Awarded to LLM candidates who excel in the competition law and economics.

Pump Court Tax Chambers Prize - Awarded to the student with the highest mark in International and Comparative Law of Trusts.

Rouse Prize for Excellence in International and Comparative Trade Marks, Designs and Unfair Competition - For LLM students taking the International and Comparative Trade Marks and Unfair Competition course.

Val Korah Prize for Excellence in Competition Law - Awarded to the best candidate specialising in competition law and chosen by the Val Korah prize committee.


The application process for the 2014-15 academic session, for entry in September 2014, is now closed.

Information regarding applications for September 2015 will be updated on the website in September 2014.

IMPORTANT NOTICE : Updated 28 May 2014

The Home Office issued an update about the acceptance of ETS tests (including TOEFL). They have now confirmed that Higher Education students applying for a Tier 4 visa may use a TOEFL test taken after 17 April, if a Higher Education Institution is willing to use its academic discretion. For those students entering in September 2014, UCL will continue to accept the TOEFL even if it was taken after 17 April. However, if an applicant still needs to book a test then we recommend that they take an alternative test to TOEFL. Those who have already arranged to take a different test following the previous advice from the Home Office, we encourage you to go ahead with taking the alternative test.

The TOEFL test will continue to be accepted for 2014 entrants who have been asked to take an English language qualification as part of their offer condition, and do not need to apply for a visa to study in the UK.