Jurisprudence @ UCL

Jurisprudence @ UCL

The Annual Quain Lectures in Jurisprudence

The Quain Chair of Jurisprudence, currently held by John Tasioulas, is an established professorship devoted to the study of legal philosophy.

Past holders of the Quain chair include the political philosophers G.A. Cohen (2008-10) and Ross Harrison (2006-7), Ronald Dworkin (1998-2005), the legal theorists William Twining (1983-1996) and Lord Lloyd of Hampstead (1956-1980), and the legal scholar and law reformer Glanville Williams (1945-1955).

An annual Quain Lecture was established in 2012, with the inaugural lecture being given by Professor Philip Pettit of Princeton University. From 2013, the format will change to a series of three lectures, delivered usually within the space of a week. A special session on each years' lectures will be held under the auspices of the Colloquium in Legal and Social Philosophy. The Quain Lectures will from 2013 also be associated with an OUP book series of the same name to be edited by Professor John Tasioulas and Dr George Letsas.

Last year's Quain Lectures:

  • 2013: Joseph Raz (KCL/Columbia University)
    'The Normativity of Law'
    (Delivered on April 22, 23 and 25, with colloquium session on April 26th)

Past lecturers include:

The 2014 Lecture Series 'From Personal Life to Private Law', is given by Professor John Gardner of Oxford University.

Monday 28 April 2014
Professor John Gardner, Oxford
'That's the story of my life'

Tuesday 29 April 2014
Professor John Gardner, Oxford
'Say it with flowers'

Thursday 1 May 2014
Professor John Gardner, Oxford
'The way things used to be'