Judicial Institute people

Judicial Institute directors

The directors of the Judicial Institute (JI) have established strong working relationships with judges, policy makers and academic experts both here and in other jurisdictions, enabling the institute to provide wide-ranging judicial studies.

Professor Dame Hazel Genn

Hazel Glenn photo

Professor Genn is an internationally renowned scholar on civil justice, inaugural commissioner of the Judicial Appointments Commission, member of the Advisory  Panel on Judicial Diversity.

She worked with the Judicial Studies Board for 12 years, serving as a member of the main board and the tribunals committee, and contributing to the design and delivery of training for the judiciary at all levels.

Professor Cheryl Thomas

Cheryl Thomas photo

Professor Thomas is the UK's first professor of Judicial Studies, the country's leading expert on juries, and a specialist in judicial decision-making and diversity.

She has served as a consultant on judicial affairs to the Ministry of Justice, the Judicial Studies Board, Her Majesty’s Crown Prosecution Service Inspectorate, the Council of Europe, among others.

The Judicial Institute Advisory Board

Lord Carnwath, Justice of the United Kingdom Supreme Court
Lord Dyson, Master of the Rolls of England and Wales
Lady Hale, Justice of the United Kingdom Supreme Court
Lord Justice Goldring, Court of Appeal
Lord Justice Jackson, Court of Appeal
Lord Justice MacFarlane, Court of Appeal
Sir Stephen Sedley, Court of Appeal (retired)
Judge Antoine Garapon, Secretary-General, l'Institut des Hautes études sur la Justice
Professor Judith Resnik, Arthur Liman Professor of Law, Yale Law University
Professor Richard Susskind, President of the Society for Computers and Law
Alexandra Marks, retired partner, Linklaters LLP, Recorder

UCL members of the Judicial Institute

Sir Anthony Hooper, UCL JI Judicial Fellow
Dr. John Sorabji, UCL JI Fellow
Dr. Nigel Balmer, UCL Laws, Centre for Empirical Legal Studies
Dr. Geoff Bird, UCL Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience
Dr. Basak Cali, UCL Department of Political Science, School of Public Policy
Dr. Roxanna Ferllini, UCL Institute of Archaeology
Dr. David Lagnado, UCL Division of Psychology and Language Sciences
Dr. Ruth Morgan, UCL Security and Crime Science, Director of the UCL Centre for Forensic Sciences
Professor Pascoe Pleasence, UCL Laws, Director of the UCL Centre for Empirical Legal Studies

Sara Razai, PhD candidate UCL Laws

UCL JI Judicial Training Fellows

Mr Godfrey Cole

Ms Yvette Genn

Mrs Mary Holmes

Mr Stuart Vernon

Visiting fellows

Professor Dennis Curtis, Yale University School of Law
Dr. Harold Epinuese, World Bank, Counsel for Justice Reform and Deputy Director, Institute des Haute Etudes de Justice
Professor Carlo Guarnieri, Department of Political Science, University of Bologna
Professor Daniela Piana, Department of Political Science, University of Bologna