Jevons Institute for Competition Law and Economics

Jevons Institute for Competition Law and Economics


The Jevons Institute was founded by Professor Antonio Bavasso and Professor David S. Evans and operates within the Faculty of Laws at University College London.

It is directed by two Executive Directors (Professor Antonio Bavasso and Professor David S. Evans) and an Associate Executive Director (Dr Ioannis Lianos).

The Dean of the Faculty of Laws (Professor Dame Hazel Genn QC) chairs the Jevons Institute's Academic Board which comprises UCL faculty members active in this area.

Professor Valentine Korah is the Honorary President of the Jevons Institute.

The Jevons Institute is assisted by an Advisory Committee comprising individuals of outstanding international reputation in the field of competition law and economics. The Advisory Committee members contribute to the Jevons Institute's activities and advise its directors on strategy and international policy directions.


Academic Board

Advisory Committee

  • Sir Christopher Bellamy
    Linklaters, Formerly President of the Competition Appeal Tribunal, London
  • Judge Nicholas Forwood
    Court of First Instance, Luxembourg
  • Chief Judge Douglas H. Ginsburg
    U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit, Washington
  • Professor Frédéric Jenny
    Cour de Cassation, Paris
  • Professor Robert Pitofsky,
    Georgetown University and former chairman US Federal Trade Commission, Washington