Institute of Brand and Innovation Law

Institute of Brand and Innovation Law

About IBIL

The Institute of Brand and Innovation Law was established in 2007, by the late Sir Hugh Laddie, to reflect UCL's strategy of expanding its activity in the field of intellectual property law. Professor Sir Robin Jacob, co-director of IBIL, is the inaugural holder of the Sir Hugh Laddie Chair in Intellectual Property Law.

As Sir Robin explains:

“IBIL is driven by a strong desire to build bridges between academics, practitioners, industry, the judiciary, policy makers and the student community worldwide. IBIL creates and facilitates opportunities for dialogue through hosting events which combine critical analysis with practical relevance and through producing research of the highest standards of scholarly rigour and real-world significance.”



The IBIL team has judicial, practical and academic experience. In addition, the team is assisted by an advisory panel, consisting of judges, practitioners and members of the intellectual property institutions.

The Rt Hon Professor Sir Robin Jacob, Sir Hugh Laddie Chair of Intellectual Property Law and Co-Director, IBIL

Dr Ilanah Fhima, Reader, and Co-Director, IBIL

Dr Matthew Fisher, Senior Lecturer and Co-Director, IBIL

Dr Daniela Simone, Lecturer and Co-Director, IBIL

Professor Ioannis Lianos, Reader in Competition Law and Economics

Dr Christopher Stothers, Honorary Professor

Mark Anderson, Visiting Professor

Daniel Alexander QC, Visiting Professor

Stephen Jones, Visiting Professor

John Hull, Visiting Lecturer

Dr Frederick Mostert, Visiting Professor

Lynne Chave, Research Assistant

Lisa Penfold, Events & CPD Manager

Cat Balogan, Event Coordinator

Phil Baker, Institute Administrator

Advisory Body

  • Professor Lionel Bently, Hershel Smith Professor of Intellectual Property Law, University of Cambridge
  • Alison Brimelow, Former President of the European Patent Office
  • Professor Jan Brinkhof, Former senior judge of the Court of Appeal in the Netherlands
  • Professor Josef Drexl, Director, Max Planck Institute for Intellectual Property and Competition Law, Munich
  • Lord Justice Floyd, Patent Judge of the High Court
  • Andrew Griffiths, Honary Senior Research Fellow, University of Manchester
  • Stephen Jones, Vice President, Chartered Institute of Patent Attorneys, UK
  • The Rt. Hon. The Lord Neuberger of Abottsbury, President of the Supreme Court
  • Randall Rader, Former Chief Judge of the Court of Appeal for the Federal Circuit, USA
  • David Rosenberg, Senior Executive of Glaxo Smith Kline
  • Stephen Rubin OBE, Chairman, Pentland Group PLC
  • Kong Xiangjun, Chief Judge of the IPR Division of the Supreme People's Court, China
  • Wang Yanfang, Judge of the IPR Division of the Supreme People's Court, China