Bentham Association

Bentham Association: Presidents

2000 | 1990's | 1980's | 1970's | 1960's | 1950's | 1940's

2014 Lord DysonLord Dyson Are the judges too powerful?
Read Presidential Address
2013 Sir Robin JacobProfessor Sir Robin Jacob IP Law: Keep Calm and Carry On?
Watch this lecture online
2012 Dame Heather HallettLady Justice Hallett DBE

Independence under Threat?
Read Presidential Address
Watch this lecture online

2011 Lord NeubergerLord Neuberger of Abbotsbury Swindlers (including the Master of the Rolls?) not wanted: Bentham and Justice Reform
Read Presidential Address
2010 Lord Hope of CraigheadLord Hope of Craighead In Law, Is Procedure really that important?
Read Presidential Address
2009 David PannickLord Pannick QC Replacing the Law Lords by a Supreme Court
2008 Lord Walker of GestingthorpeLord Walker of Gestingthorpe Security, Freedom of Speech and Criminal Justice in the age of Pitt, Burke and Fox
Read Presidential Address
2007 Baroness Ruth Deech Judging the Universities
Read Presidential Address
2006 Sir John Laws Bentham and the Greeks
Read Presidential Address
Lady Hale
Confessions of a Lady Law Lord
Read Presidential Address
When Judges Fail Justice
Read Presidential Address 
2003 Lord Phillips of Worth Matravers
Private Life and Public Interest
Read Presidential Address
2002 Sir Ian Kennedy  
2001 Lord Bingham of Cornhill
Mr Bentham is Present
Read Presidential Address
2000 Lord HoffmannLord Hoffmann
Bentham and Human Rights
Read Presidential Address


1999 Baroness Kennedy of the Shaws, Q.C.
1998 The Hon. Justice Richard Posner
1997 Sir Richard Scott
1996 Lord Steyn
1995 Sir Iain Glidewell
1994 Lord Woolf
1993 Lord Browne Wilkinson
1992 Lord Slynn of Hadley
1991 Sir T. L. Yang
1990 Lord Donaldson of Lymington


1989 Lord Justice Butler-Sloss, D.B.E.
1988 Sir Robert Megarry
1987 Sir Roger Ormrod
1986 Lord Goff of Chieveley
1985 Sir Jack Jacob, Q.C.
1984 Lord Roskill
1983 Lord Lloyd of Hampstead, Q.C.
1982 Lord Emslie
1981 Lord Hailsham
1980 Lord Elwyn-Jones


1979 Sir Garfield Barwick
1978 Baroness Wooton of Abinger
1977 Lord Goodman, C.H
1976 Rt. Hon. Bora Laskin
1975 Lord Edmund-Davies
1974 Lord Cross
1973 Lord Morris
1972 The Hon. Warren E. Burger
1971 Lord Diplock
1970 Lord Gardiner


1969 Professor Otto Kahn-Freund
1968 Lord McDermott
1967 Lord Kilbrandon
1966 Lord Justice Scarman
1965 Lord Parker
1964 Sir Francis Vallat, Q.C.
1963 Professor G.W. Keeton
1962 Mr Justice Thompson
1961 Lord Justice Salmon
1960 Professor J.L. Montrose


1959 Sir David Hughes Parry
1958 Lord Tangley
1957 Lord Hodson
1956 Lord Devlin
1955 Professor H.G. Hanbury
1954 Professor H.F. Jolowicz
1953 Lord Evershed
1952 Lord Justice Denning
1951 Sir Cecil Carr, K.C
1950 Lord Normand


1949 Lord du Parcq