Skip to site navigation

Text in other languages

  1. Start the Office application e.g. Word.
  2. Change the Language Setting. The Language Setting ("input locale") icon appears in the bottom right of the screen and displays the current language selection. Recently there has been a bug which means that the icon does not always display. If it doesn't, you can still change between languages by holding down the left Alt key and pressing the left Shift key.

    img: EN input locale
  3. Click once on the icon to see the list of installed languages.
  4. Select the language.

Note: If you open another program you will probably need to change the Language Setting to the language you are inputting.

There are some languages, such as Chinese, Japanese and Korean that require further selections. You may need to display a language input toolbar by clicking on the Language Setting icon and clicking Show the Language Bar.
If you selected, for example, Chinese (PRC), you would see this toolbar:

img: Chinese Language Bar

Adding and removing languages and keyboards:

If the language or keyboard you wish to use is not available when you click the Language Setting icon, you may be able to install it by clicking the small triangle on the left of the Language Bar and clicking Settings. For example, Urdu may be added and requires the Farsi keyboard. Settings is also where you remove languages you are unlikely to use. Another way of accessing settings on WTS is to go to Start | Settings | Control Panel| Regional Options | Input Locales | Change | Add/Remove.

List of languages installed:

Afrikaans, Albanian, Arabic, Armenian, Azeri, Basque, Belarusian, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese (Mandarin, traditional and simplified), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Faeroese, Farsi, Finnish, French, Georgian, German, Greek (inc. polytonic), Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Kazakh, Konkani, Korean, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Malay, Marathi, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Sanskrit, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Tamil, Tatar, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, Uzbek and Vietnamese.

The US (International) keyboard may be loaded with the English Input Locale when typing test with accents. An accent typed before a vowel is then understood as the vowel with the accent. For this purpose the accent keys are: ` (usually to the left of 1) for grave, ' (single inverted comma) for acute, @ (because " and @ are switched around on US keyboards) for umlaut, ^ (on the 6 key) for circumflex and ~ (usually to the right of @) for tilde. If you want single or double inverted commas followed by a vowel (rather than an acute or umlaut), type a space after the inverted comma.

Right to left:

You need to click an icon on your Toolbar to tell Word to input scripts such as Arabic, Farsi, Hebrew and Urdu from right-to-left. If you do not already have the icons, go to Tools | Customise in Word and click the Commands tab. Drag the Right-to-Left and Left-to-Right icons from Format onto your toolbar.

Notes on specific languages:

Chinese - Install the Chinese (PRC) Input Locale with the MS Pinyin IME 3.0 keyboard. When you are inputting characters, you need to press the left arrow key (<-) to display the list of alternate characters.
Note that you need to use Chinese (PRC) for traditional characters and to click the Charset icon on the Language Bar. If this icon is not displayed, click the down arrow on the right of the Language Bar and click Charset to display it. After clicking the icon, it changes from 'jian' to 'fan' and the characters you type should be traditional ones.

Greek - There is a special keyboard for polytonic Greek. You need to select it under Keyboard Layout/IME. Use these keys to add disacritics to a following vowel: [ for a grave accent, { for iota subscript, / for a smooth breathing and an acute accent, ? for a rough breathing and an acute accent, # for a rough breathing and a grave accent, and ~ for a smooth breathing and a grave accent.

Japanese - Once the Japanese Language Setting is selected, click A, click Input Mode and click Hiragana to input in Japanese Hiragana script. If an incorrect character appears, press the Spacebar to see other characters.

Urdu - See note under Adding and removing languages and keyboards above.

If you are using a machine outside UCL or an unManaged machine, set your local machine's Language Setting to English before using WTS.