Skip to site navigation

Publishing (Advanced)


Publication and expiration time

If content is approved, it will become publicly visible only within the time frame between publish time and expiration time. If you do not set an expiration, the published content will remain public forever, or until someone closes it. Note that you have to check the “clear expiration time?” check-box when you want to remove the expiration, otherwise the expiration time will remain.

Content that is approved or published can have its expiration date settings changed. Fill in the new dates (time is optional) and click the update timing button (alt-u).

Publication state of Publications and Folders

You cannot publish Publications and Folders. Instead their publication state is managed via the content. A Folder is considered published if it contains published content.

Reading information in the Publish screen

If you want to check the condition of the content, you’ll find the information in the listing table of the Publish screen. This does not depend on your role; the information is always visible. In the listing ids are shown on the left (note that only publicly visible items appear, no folders or assets). Titles are indented to show the publication structure.

The relevant status information can be found in the three rightmost columns of the listing table (discussed from left to right).

Revision column

Displays information about the current version. The possible states are:

  • draft: (link colour is red, a ‘stop’ colour) the content is waiting for approval.
  • pending: (link colour is dark yellow, like a traffic-light) the approval task is on some Editor’s To-Do list.
  • approved: (link colour is green, a ‘go’) the content has been approved, but is not published yet. (You must revoke the approval before re-editing it.)
  • published: (link colour is blue, a normal link) the content is visible for the public.
  • closed: (link colour is grey) indicates that there is no new version and the public version is closed. You can create a new version by clicking the edit link, or use the new version button (alt-n) for a bulk operation.
Publication due column

If a there is a publish time set in the future, the date is listed. Otherwise the cell is empty.

Expiration due column

If a there is an expiration time set, the date is listed. Otherwise the cell is empty.

Published column

Information about the published, non-editable version. This may contain a blue “published” link for currently public versions, a grey “closed” note for closed or expired versions, or be empty if there is no public version. If the content is published then it’s linked to the publicly visible page. If an expiration time is set, the publish range of the content is shown.

Versioning of documents

Once content is published a new version can be created. The published version stays online for the public, while the editable versions can be worked on, and approved with a publication date in the future.

Page last modified on 26 apr 13 12:06