Menu

Publishing (Advanced)

Page 1 | 2

Editors and Chief Editors have the ability to:

  • publish content submitted for approval
  • control timing by setting the publish and expiration dates
  • close content or create new versions

These tasks can be performed in various places in the Silva Management Area:

  • the publish screen of versioned content, such as documents
  • the publish screen of folders (and publications)
  • the editor screen of versioned content
  • the contents screen of folders (and publications)

The difference between the four is a matter of efficiency. In the publish screen of a document, you can only publish that document. In the publish screen of folders, you can publish multiple documents in one go, including documents nested in subfolders. These publish screens also allow fine grained control of publication and expiration times in the future.

The content screen of folders allows simple toggling between published and closed. Often you just want to close a document so you can move it, and republish it immediately, so there are close and publish now buttons available. In the contents screen you can only see items on one level, so you only publish (alt-p) and close (alt-l) items in that folder.

publishingactions.png

Fig.1. The controls bar of the contents screen.

In the editor screen there is also a publish now (alt-p) button that immediately publishes the content. A new version can then be created. (If you work with different screens in the tabs of your browser, say, one for the editor and one for public preview,  it speeds up the process considerably.)

Approve, publish, and export content

Bulk publishing operations occur in the publish screen. Documents, folders, and entire publications can be published to the web (made public).

publishing.png

Fig. 2. The publish screen as Editors and Chief Editors see it.

Editor publishes content

  1. Navigate to the Document, Folder or Publication you wish to work on.
    Then click the publish tab to get to the publishing area for that item. (Fig. 1.)
  2. Place a checkmark next to the items you wish to publish. You can use the “select all” selector (alt-a) as well. (Fig. 1)
  3. Fill in an expiration time if necessary. Click the publish now button (alt-p). All documents will be immediately opened to the public.
  4. Alternatively, fill in a publication date if the documents should be published in the future (time is optional). If necessary, fill in an expiration date too. Click the approve for later button (alt-l).
  5. Check the returning screen for success or failure of your approval.
  6. Any time after approval you can intercept publication via the revoke approval button (alt-v). In this case it’s a good idea to do this via the publish screen of the document, since you can fill in a message in the “Message to author(s)” textarea to inform the author about the reason for the revocation.
  7. You can close public content via the close (alt-c) button if you decide it should taken offline.

NB

  • You can make new versions of closed content later on.
  • Authors may make new versions (editable copies) to work on.
  • The difference between revoking approval and closing is that the link (re)colour indicates a problem with the document. If approval is revoked, the link turns red. Closed documents turn grey, which denotes the normal end of the life cycle of that document. (Fig.1.)
  • If you use the “select all” selector (alt-a) to publish everything, remember that publications are not transparent. The publish action does not affect content within a nested publication. You must publish the contents of each publication separately.


>Next