Skip to site navigation

Removing attachments

Thunderbird offers a number of options to remove attachments. If you select a message with an attachment, the attachments are displayed at the bottom of the message. If you right click on the attachment it will display a number of options for what you want to do with the attachment :-

  • OPEN - Will open the selected attachment.
  • SAVE AS - Will give the option to save a copy of the attachment in a location of your choice.
  • DETACH - Will detach the attachment from the email and save it to a new location of your choice . Please note on the WTS system this option will not indicate if an attachment has been removed and is often unreliable. We recommend if you wish to remove an attachment use the save as option ( to save a copy of the attachment in a new location ) then select delete to remove the attachment completely.
  • DELETE - Will delete the selected attachment. A red cross through the attachment will indicate that the attachment is deleted from the message.
  • SAVE ALL - Will give you the option to save a copy of all attachments associated with the message to a location of your choice.
  • DETACH ALL - Will detach all attachments associated with the message and save it to a location of your choice (not recommended for reasons given above under DETACH).
  • DELETE ALL - Will delete all attachments associated with the message.
Removing Attachments