- Before deleting mail you must select the message(s) that you wish to remove. You can select messages by clicking in the box next to the message so that a tick appears as shown below:
- To select all the messages on the current screen, you can click on Toggle All (next to the navigation links at the top of your mailbox). Click on Toggle All again to de-select the messages.
- Click on the Delete Button towards the top of the mailbox. The message(s) that you have deleted will then be transferred to the Trash folder (INBOX.Trash).
Emptying your trash folder - The following is especially important
- To empty your Trash folder, you first need to refresh your folder list by clicking on the Refresh Folder List link (under Folders towards the top left-hand corner of your screen).
- A (purge) link will then appear next to your Trash folder. Click on it to permanently delete all the messages in your Trash folder.
It is very important to remember to purge your messages after you delete them. If you do not do this, the 'deleted' mail continues to sit on your account and use up your quota. In a short space of time you will find that you have run out of space and will be unable to receive new email messages.
When you purge, your messages are permanently removed and cannot be retrieved at all.
If you run out of quota...
You will need to delete some messages in order to receive new mail. The easiest place to start is by removing the messages with the biggest attachments. SquirrelMail does not by default show you the size of your messages. You will need to add that column by going to Options > Index Order and add Size.
Once you have done that, go back to your Inbox and scroll down to search for large sized messages. You will likely find that the largest messages are ones with attachments. Any messages which are over 1MB should be removed, either by deleting or first saving the attachment to another place such as a USB key and then deleting the message (which will also remove the attachment - remember to purge!).
Click on other mail folders and follow the same procedure.