Shared data area - how it works
The S: drive is part of the central windows filestore and enables groups of users to access and share files necessary for their work. Note that only data will be stored on the S: drive, departmental software cannot be installed.
When your departmental computer rep applies for a new S: drive they must nominate a co-ordinator to organise the S: drive. The co-ordinator is responsible for adding and removing users to the S: drive, arranging users into groups, defining appropriate File Access Permissions, and outline the way the files will be managed on the S: drive, creating an initial list of folders to store the files.
user can be a member of as many different groups as necessary.
Users should be divided into groups according to the way they will be viewing the files and folders on the S: drive. For example users who all need access to particular files should be made into one group; users who do not need access to that file should be added to a different group.
The S: drive has
file locking mechanisms in place. Therefore if a file is already in
use, any other users who try to access the file will only be given a read-only
The user will be informed that the file is already in use, and they will receive a copy of the file. This prevents loss of data when two people are trying to update a file simultaneously.
S: drive code
Each department or section can have their own Shared Data Area (S: drive) which is assigned its own unique code- e.g. shrccaan1.
The departmental computer rep and the shared data area co-ordinator must keep a note of this code as it will be needed every time the S: drive is updated.
Co-ordinators can request to have restricted folders created on their S: drive. This means that only certain users of the S: drive will be able to access the contents of a restricted folder. When the restricted folder has been created, a new group code will be given associated with the folder.
The co-ordinator should keep a note of this code as it will be needed every time you wish to add/remove users from the restricted folder.
File access permissions
File Access Permissions control the way that a user is able to view a folders and the files within it. There are three types of file access permissions:
|Full Control||The users is able to create, open, read, modify or delete any files or folders.|
|Read Only||The folder and any files within it can be opened and read but the user is not able to edit or delete any files or save anything within the folder.|
|No Access||The folder or file can be seen but when the user double clicks on the file or folder to open it an ‘access denied’ message appears and the file or folder will not open.|
By default all users of a new departmental S: drive have Full Control i.e. all members have the permissions to create, read, write, delete and modify all the files and folders on the S: drive. Once a new folder is created or a new file is saved, the default Full Control permissions are assigned automatically to them.
Page last modified on 11 sep 12 14:17