Research Departments

The research programme is driven by teams led by a Principal Investigator, with staff grouped into eight Research Departments that reflect their specialist interests and affinities. This structure helps promote close multidisciplinary interaction between teams of scientists with a wide variety of backgrounds and qualifications who work together on a single disease-based topic.

The mission is to translate neuroscience discovery research into treatments for patients with neurological diseases.

The academic staff also belong to one of six different Divisions: these have been established to ensure that professional affiliations are well represented and to provide a forum for those with similar specialist training.

Please also see our Research profilesResearch Groups and Themes and our Research Excellence page. The Faculty of Brain Sciences website also has videos of some of our researchers talking about their research.

Research Departments

The Institute also has active collaborative research programmes with the Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience  the Gatsby Computational Neuroscience Unit, Leonard Wolfson Experimental Neurology Centre , the Sainsbury Wellcome Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour and the Synaptopathies initiative

Please see our Partners page for other collaborators.

Page last modified on 09 feb 16 10:36