UCL Institute of Neurology
Support UsAthena SWAN silver award

About the Institute

UCL Institute of Neurology and the NHNN

The Institute of Neurology was established in 1950, merged with UCL in 1997, and is a key component of the Faculty of Brain Sciences at UCL. The Institute has eight academic Departments, which encompass clinical and basic research within each theme. In parallel, there are currently six Divisions representing professional affiliations. The UCL Institute of Neurology has a significant postgraduate teaching and training portfolio, with over 200 graduate students at Queen Square. The Institute employs over 500 staff, occupies some 12,000 sq m of laboratory, lecture room and office space, and has a current annual turnover of £53m.

Please see our web page for current officers of the Institute and timeline for further information on key figures in Queen Square's history.

33 Queen Square

A number of important research centres are based at the Institute of Neurology. These include:

The Institute also has active collaborative research programmes with the Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience and the Gatsby Computational Neuroscience Unit, co-located at Queen Square and which will play an important role in the new Sainsbury Wellcome Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour

Please see our Related Organisations page for other collaborators.

Page last modified on 09 jun 15 13:08