Commission on Social Determinants of Health (CSDH)

The Goal of the Commission on Social Determinants of Health (CSDH) is to lay the foundations for health equity to be a shared global goal. Acting on that goal demands action on the underlying causes of ill health.

The CSDH is comprised of:

- an independent body of twenty Commissioners (an international group of national leaders from political, government, civil society and academic fields) chaired by Professor Sir Michael Marmot, UCL.

- the Scientific Secretariat which helps to coordinate and synthesize the work of the Knowledge Networks, and explores additional areas of work, such as the role of violence as a social determinant of health. UCL members of the secretariat include Dr Sharon Friel, Dr Sebastian Taylor, Dr Tanja Houweling and Dr Ruth Bell.

Knowledge Networks (NK) providing the evidence base on which to identify priority actions and interventions. The NK are comprised of leading scientists, policy-makers and practitioners from both developing and developed countries working on the following themes:

Early child development
Priority public health conditions
Health systems
Employment conditions
Urban settings
Social exclusion

Page last modified on 04 apr 11 12:07