A A A

IHA News

IHA MRes students to receive Distinctions in their degrees!

Congratulations to IHA MRes students Michael Shannack, Nattaphong Rattanavirotkul, Adam Summerfield and Parina Patel. All four received a well-deserved Distinction in their Masters course. We wish them all the best for the future. More...

Published: Sep 19, 2014 3:20:37 PM

Dr Nazif Alic paper published in PLOS Genetics

In their recent paper in PLOS Genetics Alic and co-workers explore the complex relationship between Drosophila foxo, a transcription factor with evolutionarily conserved role in ageing, and Anterior open, an ETS-family transcription factor that is a direct target of dFOXO in the adult gut and whose activation can extend lifespan.

The paper is entitled, "Interplay of dFOXO and Two ETS-Family Transcription Factors Determines Lifespan in Drosophila melanogaster"

View the article here: http://tinyurl.com/off4cqq More...

Published: Sep 19, 2014 9:58:55 AM

Gems Lab Summer Roundup

Congratulations to Jennifer Tullet (again!)

In September, Dr Jennifer Tullet will cease to be a postdoc, and take up
a Principle Investigator position running her own lab at the University
of Kent, where she will continue her investigations of ageing in C.
elegans. Jennifer also recently spoke at the American Aging Association
meeting in San Antonio, Texas, and recently published a paper entitled
“DAF-16 target identification in C. elegans: past, present and future”
in the journal Biogerontology.

Congratulations to Dr Yila de la Guardia!

Yila de la Guardia recently passed her Ph.D. viva (examiners, Prof Bart
Braeckman from the University of Ghent, and Dr Lazaros Foukas from the
IHA). Yila has now returned to Panama, and she is much missed.

New members of the lab

The lab welcomes three new members! Dr Yuan Zhao moved to the lab from
Cancer Research UK, London, where she worked on telomeres in fission
yeast with Dr Julie Cooper; and Dr Evgeniy Galimov from the National
Research Centre for Preventive Medicine, Moscow, where he worked on ROS
signalling and p66shc with Prof Viktor Skulachev. Both positions are
funded by the Wellcome Trust. Welcome also to Thanet Sornda who recently
started Ph.D. research in the lab. Thanet previously did a Master’s
degree at the Institute of Ageing and Health, Newcastle University, and
is funded by the state of Thailand.

News about David Gems

David gave various talks, e.g. at the Genetics of Aging and Longevity
meeting in Sochi (April), Russia, the British Society for Research on
Ageing meeting in Liverpool (July), and at Oxford and Cambridge
universities. He recently published two essays: 'What is an anti-aging
treatment?' Exp. Gerontol. (2014) 58: 14-18; and 'Evolution of sexually
dimorphic longevity in humans.' Aging (2014) 6: 84-91.
More...

Published: Sep 4, 2014 5:02:16 PM

Principal Investigators


Core members
Field of expertise
UCL department
Email
Prof Dame Linda Partridge DBE FRS FRSE FMedSci (IHA Director)
Biology of ageing in Drosophila melanogaster Genetics, Evolution and Environment

Executive Officer, Michael Wright

michael.wright@ucl.ac.uk

Prof David Gems
Professor in the Biology of Ageing (IHA Deputy Director)
Biology of ageing in C. elegans Genetics, Evolution and Environment david.gems@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Nazif Alic
Biosciences Fellow
Transcription and lifespan in Drosophila Genetics, Evolution and Environment  n.alic@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Felipe Cabreiro
Lecturer
Metabolism and metabolic diseases

Structural and Molecular Biology

f.cabreiro@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Lazaros Foukas
Lecturer
Signalling mechanisms in mammalian ageing
Genetics, Evolution and Environment

l.foukas@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Daniel Pearce
Lecturer
Ageing of haematopoietic stem cells

Genetics, Evolution and Environment

daniel.pearce@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Matt DW Piper
Royal Society Research Fellow
Nutrition, metabolic physiology and ageing in Drosophila

Genetics, Evolution and Environment

m.piper@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Eugene Schuster
MRC Career Development Fellow
Functional genomics of ageing

Genetics, Evolution and Environment

e.schuster@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Nick Wood FRCP, FMedSci (IHA Deputy Director) Genetics of Parkinson's and neurodegenerative disease Institute of Neurology
n.wood@ion.ucl.ac.uk
       
Associates of the IHA      
Prof Arne Akbar Ageing and immunity in humans Immunology and Molecular Pathology a.akbar@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Jürg Bähler Global gene expression programs in fission yeast Genetics, Evolution and Environment j.bahler@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Ivana Bjedov
Molecular Biology of Cancer
UCL Cancer Institute
i.bjedov@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Emeritus Tim Cowen Ageing of mammalian neurones Anatomy and Developmental Biology
t.cowen@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Dominic Withers Genetics of murine energy homeostasis and ageing UCL & Imperial College London d.withers@imperial.ac.uk

Page last modified on 11 mar 14 17:06