A A A

IHA News

Prof David Gems on BBC1's 'Bang Goes The Theory' 31/03/2014

The IHA's David Gems will feature in the upcoming episode of  ‘Bang Goes the Theory’ which airs on Monday 31st March at 7.30pm on BBC1 and iPlayer. The episode focuses on ageing. http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00lwxj1 More...

Published: Mar 27, 2014 4:38:10 PM

4 year PhD studentship in the IHA available

A 4 year PhD studentship to study under the supervision of Dr Nazif Alic is now available. The project will examine how genetically or pharmacologically induced changes to gene expression, at the level of transcriptional regulation, extend healthy lifespan in Drosophila melanogaster. To explore this question the student will use a broad range of techniques, including fly genetics and physiology, molecular biology, microscopy, protein chemistry and genomics. The student will gain a broad training in basic biogerontology that will prove relevant to a career in any of the currently relevant aspects of ageing and ageing related-disease. More...

Published: Mar 25, 2014 10:08:50 AM

Dr Jorge Iván Castillo Quan receives Faculty Prize

Congratulations to the IHA's Dr Jorge Iván Castillo Quan who last week was awarded 1st prize for best poster/presentation at the UCL Faculty of Brain Sciences Symposium. This follows his earlier success at UCL Faculty of Life Sciences Research Day held in September 2013, where he also won 1st prize. Well done Jorge!
More...

Published: Feb 25, 2014 3:24:12 PM

Principal Investigators


Core members
Field of expertise
UCL department
Email
Prof Dame Linda Partridge DBE FRS FRSE FMedSci (IHA Director)
Biology of ageing in Drosophila melanogaster Genetics, Evolution and Environment

Executive Officer, Michael Wright

michael.wright@ucl.ac.uk

Prof David Gems
Professor in the Biology of Ageing (IHA Deputy Director)
Biology of ageing in C. elegans Genetics, Evolution and Environment david.gems@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Nazif Alic
Biosciences Fellow
Transcription and lifespan in Drosophila Genetics, Evolution and Environment  n.alic@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Felipe Cabreiro
Lecturer
Metabolism and metabolic diseases

Structural and Molecular Biology

f.cabreiro@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Lazaros Foukas
Lecturer
Signalling mechanisms in mammalian ageing
Genetics, Evolution and Environment

l.foukas@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Daniel Pearce
Lecturer
Ageing of haematopoietic stem cells

Genetics, Evolution and Environment

daniel.pearce@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Matt DW Piper
Royal Society Research Fellow
Nutrition, metabolic physiology and ageing in Drosophila

Genetics, Evolution and Environment

m.piper@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Eugene Schuster
MRC Career Development Fellow
Functional genomics of ageing

Genetics, Evolution and Environment

e.schuster@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Nick Wood FRCP, FMedSci (IHA Deputy Director) Genetics of Parkinson's and neurodegenerative disease Institute of Neurology
n.wood@ion.ucl.ac.uk
       
Associates of the IHA      
Prof Arne Akbar Ageing and immunity in humans Immunology and Molecular Pathology a.akbar@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Jürg Bähler Global gene expression programs in fission yeast Genetics, Evolution and Environment j.bahler@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Ivana Bjedov
Molecular Biology of Cancer
UCL Cancer Institute
i.bjedov@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Emeritus Tim Cowen Ageing of mammalian neurones Anatomy and Developmental Biology
t.cowen@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Dominic Withers Genetics of murine energy homeostasis and ageing UCL & Imperial College London d.withers@imperial.ac.uk

Page last modified on 11 mar 14 17:06