A A A
Feed icon

IHA News

Cell paper reveals how a cancer drug makes fruit flies live longer

A paper by researchers from the IHA Dr Cathy Slack and Dr Nazif Alic demonstrate new targets for drugs against ageing. Their research published in Cell shows how inhibition of the Ras-Erk-ETS pathway extends fly lifespan.
http://www.cell.com/cell/abstract/S0092-8674%2815%2900707-2 More...

Published: Jun 26, 2015 10:42:55 AM

Dr Jorge Ivan Castillo Quan - Anti-Aging: Beauty or Health?

Watch the IHA's Dr Jorge Ivan Castillo Quan's talk on Anti-Aging. His fascinating talk was part of a very successful event called TEDx held at Goodenough College. More...

Published: Jun 17, 2015 12:38:48 PM

Brain paper published by Partridge Lab

Research staff from the IHA's Partridge Lab, including Dr Jorge Ivan Castillo Quan and PhD student Ms Li Li, are among those whose work has recently been published in Brain. Their paper is entitled, "Loss of PLA2G6 leads to elevated mitochondrial lipid peroxidation and mitochondrial dysfunction".
More...

Published: Jun 11, 2015 2:42:41 PM

Principal Investigators


Core members
Field of expertise
UCL department
Email
Prof Dame Linda Partridge DBE FRS FRSE FMedSci (IHA Director)
Biology of ageing in Drosophila melanogaster Genetics, Evolution and Environment

Executive Officer, Michael Wright

michael.wright@ucl.ac.uk

Prof David Gems
Professor in the Biology of Ageing (IHA Deputy Director)
Biology of ageing in C. elegans Genetics, Evolution and Environment david.gems@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Nazif Alic
Biosciences Fellow
Transcription and lifespan in Drosophila Genetics, Evolution and Environment  n.alic@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Felipe Cabreiro
Lecturer
Metabolism and metabolic diseases

Structural and Molecular Biology

f.cabreiro@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Lazaros Foukas
Lecturer
Signalling mechanisms in mammalian ageing
Genetics, Evolution and Environment

l.foukas@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Daniel Pearce
Lecturer
Ageing of haematopoietic stem cells

Genetics, Evolution and Environment

daniel.pearce@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Matt DW Piper
Royal Society Research Fellow
Nutrition, metabolic physiology and ageing in Drosophila

Genetics, Evolution and Environment

m.piper@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Eugene Schuster
MRC Career Development Fellow
Functional genomics of ageing

Genetics, Evolution and Environment

e.schuster@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Nick Wood FRCP, FMedSci (IHA Deputy Director) Genetics of Parkinson's and neurodegenerative disease Institute of Neurology
n.wood@ion.ucl.ac.uk
       
Associates of the IHA      
Prof Arne Akbar Ageing and immunity in humans Immunology and Molecular Pathology a.akbar@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Jürg Bähler Global gene expression programs in fission yeast Genetics, Evolution and Environment j.bahler@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Ivana Bjedov
Molecular Biology of Cancer
UCL Cancer Institute
i.bjedov@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Emeritus Tim Cowen Ageing of mammalian neurones Anatomy and Developmental Biology
t.cowen@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Dominic Withers Genetics of murine energy homeostasis and ageing UCL & Imperial College London d.withers@imperial.ac.uk

Page last modified on 30 sep 14 11:58