A A A
Feed icon

IHA news

David Gems on BBC Radio 4 "Archive on 4"

On Saturday, November 26 2016 BBC Radio 4 broadcast a 1 hr programme entitled "Logan's Run and Intergenerational War", presented by Ed Howker, with extensive contributions from IHA Co-Director Professor David Gems. The programme included in depth discussion of the impact of the ageing of populations, and the prospects for treatments for ageing to improve late-life health. Among other contributors to the programme were former Universities and Science minister David Willetts and the actress Jenny Agutter.

The programme is available for a short period via the BBC iPlayer at http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b083j672#play
More...

Published: Nov 30, 2016 12:53:17 PM

UCL Ageing Event blog post

Members of the IHA including Dr Nazif Alic and Dr Jenny Regan recently helped organise and participate in the highly successful UCL Ageing Event. This was the second Ageing Event and was targetted at post-doctoral researchers working in the ageing field across UCL. Emma Chambers, Research Associate in the Division of Infection and Immunity, has written a blog about the event.
More...

Published: Nov 18, 2016 2:53:13 PM

CNN news: How long can humans live?

Following her BBC interview Professor Linda Partridge spoke with CNN's Bianca Britton, whose article asks, "how long can humans live?" More...

Published: Oct 6, 2016 3:07:38 PM

Principal Investigators


Core members
Field of expertise
UCL department
Email
Dr Nazif Alic
Biosciences Fellow
Transcription and lifespan in Drosophila Genetics, Evolution and Environment n.alic@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Jürg Bähler Professor of Systems Biology Global gene expression programs in fission yeast Genetics, Evolution and Environment j.bahler@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Filipe Cabreiro
Lecturer
Metabolism and metabolic diseases

Structural and Molecular Biology

f.cabreiro@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Frances A Edwards
Reader
Neuronal ageing and Alzheimer’s disease Neuroscience, Physiology and Pharmacology f.a.edwards@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Lazaros Foukas
Lecturer
Signalling mechanisms in mammalian ageing
Genetics, Evolution and Environment

l.foukas@ucl.ac.uk


Prof David Gems
Professor in the Biology of Ageing (IHA Deputy Director)
Biology of ageing in C. elegans Genetics, Evolution and Environment david.gems@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Linda Partridge Weldon Professor of Biometry (IHA Director) Biology of ageing in Drosophila melanogaster
Genetics, Evolution and Environment

Executive Officer, Michael Wright

michael.wright@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Max Yun
Senior Research Associate
Regenerative Biology
Genetics, Evolution and Environment maximina.yun@ucl.ac.uk
       
Associates of the IHA      
Prof Arne Akbar Ageing and immunity in humans Immunology and Molecular Pathology a.akbar@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Ivana Bjedov
Molecular Biology of Cancer
Cancer Institute
i.bjedov@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Emeritus Tim Cowen Ageing of mammalian neurones Anatomy and Developmental Biology
t.cowen@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Dominic Withers Genetics of murine energy homeostasis and ageing Imperial College London d.withers@imperial.ac.uk
Prof Nick Wood FRCP, FMedSci
Genetics of Parkinson's and neurodegenerative disease Institute of Neurology n.wood@ion.ucl.ac.uk

Page last modified on 08 nov 16 10:46