A A A

IHA News

Wellcome Trust Conference - Healthy Ageing: From Molecules to Organisms

IHA Director Professor Linda Partridge is one of the organisers of the new Wellcome Trust Conference on Healthy Ageing being held 18-20 May 2015.
https://registration.hinxton.wellcome.ac.uk/display_info.asp?id=467

Ageing can lead to declining health and function, and it is the major risk factor for cancer, neurodegenerative and cardiovascular disease. This new Wellcome Trust conference will focus on recent discoveries and current challenges in ageing research, with a focus on translating basic research insights into health improvement for older people. We aim to explore the mechanisms of ageing in cells, tissues and organisms in order to identify interventions that can ameliorate its negative effects. The meeting will also emphasise the connection between discoveries made in model organisms and mechanisms leading to healthy ageing in humans.

The meeting is aimed at scientists, clinicians and drug developers involved in research into ageing and other relevant fields. We welcome the submission of abstracts from all areas relevant to the main themes of the meeting. Several oral presentations will be chosen from the abstracts submitted.

Topics will include: Human ageing Stem cells and cellular senescence, Physiology of homeostasis, Nutrition and metabolism, Genome stability, Epigenetics, Systems biology, Drug developmen. More...

Published: Mar 9, 2015 3:44:49 PM

Dr Nazif Alic paper published in Royal Society Proceedings B

Congratulations to Dr Nazif Alic whose paper has been published in the Royal Society's flagship biological research journal Proceedings B.
More...

Published: Dec 18, 2014 5:19:24 PM

Linda Partridge to speak at Nobel Week Dialogue, Live streaming and Q&A

Join in the digital discussion on ageing with IHA Director Linda Partridge as part of this year's Nobel Week Dialogue on 9th December.  More...

Published: Dec 4, 2014 11:04:44 AM

Principal Investigators


Core members
Field of expertise
UCL department
Email
Prof Dame Linda Partridge DBE FRS FRSE FMedSci (IHA Director)
Biology of ageing in Drosophila melanogaster Genetics, Evolution and Environment

Executive Officer, Michael Wright

michael.wright@ucl.ac.uk

Prof David Gems
Professor in the Biology of Ageing (IHA Deputy Director)
Biology of ageing in C. elegans Genetics, Evolution and Environment david.gems@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Nazif Alic
Biosciences Fellow
Transcription and lifespan in Drosophila Genetics, Evolution and Environment  n.alic@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Felipe Cabreiro
Lecturer
Metabolism and metabolic diseases

Structural and Molecular Biology

f.cabreiro@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Lazaros Foukas
Lecturer
Signalling mechanisms in mammalian ageing
Genetics, Evolution and Environment

l.foukas@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Daniel Pearce
Lecturer
Ageing of haematopoietic stem cells

Genetics, Evolution and Environment

daniel.pearce@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Matt DW Piper
Royal Society Research Fellow
Nutrition, metabolic physiology and ageing in Drosophila

Genetics, Evolution and Environment

m.piper@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Eugene Schuster
MRC Career Development Fellow
Functional genomics of ageing

Genetics, Evolution and Environment

e.schuster@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Nick Wood FRCP, FMedSci (IHA Deputy Director) Genetics of Parkinson's and neurodegenerative disease Institute of Neurology
n.wood@ion.ucl.ac.uk
       
Associates of the IHA      
Prof Arne Akbar Ageing and immunity in humans Immunology and Molecular Pathology a.akbar@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Jürg Bähler Global gene expression programs in fission yeast Genetics, Evolution and Environment j.bahler@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Ivana Bjedov
Molecular Biology of Cancer
UCL Cancer Institute
i.bjedov@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Emeritus Tim Cowen Ageing of mammalian neurones Anatomy and Developmental Biology
t.cowen@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Dominic Withers Genetics of murine energy homeostasis and ageing UCL & Imperial College London d.withers@imperial.ac.uk

Page last modified on 30 sep 14 11:58