A A A

IHA News

Science Paper published

A recent Science article published by a team of UCL researchers including the IHA's Dr Teresa Niccoli sheds light into toxicity mechanisms. View the article here: http://goo.gl/2sgNCb More...

Published: Aug 19, 2014 10:24:04 AM

Knudra Transgenics prize success for IHA

In a recent competition organised by the biotech company KNUDRA TRANSGENICS three members of the IHA were awarded prizes to make custom transgenic animals.

Second prize $3000 to Nuria Vergara to develop the project "Can human FOXO3a replace DAF-16 to promote longevity in C. elegans?" using CRSPR technology.

Third prize £1500 to Jennifer Tullet to investigate "How do translational errors affect longevity and health in C. elegans?"

Sixth prize $500 to Lamia Mestek to expand our knowledge in "Understanding the role of DAF-16 transcription factor in longevity"

The results of the competition can be checked in the following link: http://knudragrants.knudra.com/?page_id=39

Congratulations to all the winners!!!
More...

Published: Aug 19, 2014 10:10:57 AM

New Wellcome Trust video 'Until' features IHA scientists

The Wellcome Trust’s online publication, Mosaic, have released a new video ‘Until’, an exploration of ageing which asks the question, ‘how long would you like to live?’. The video includes interviews with leading ageing scientists (including the IHA's David Gems and Linda Partridge), transhumanists, elderly people and the young children and asks them when they think would be an appropriate time to die, if they had the choice. It also explores the possibilities and realities of extended lifespans in the future. The video can be found here: http://youtu.be/BsUZHyh4n-c More...

Published: Aug 6, 2014 11:44:15 AM

Principal Investigators


Core members
Field of expertise
UCL department
Email
Prof Dame Linda Partridge DBE FRS FRSE FMedSci (IHA Director)
Biology of ageing in Drosophila melanogaster Genetics, Evolution and Environment

Executive Officer, Michael Wright

michael.wright@ucl.ac.uk

Prof David Gems
Professor in the Biology of Ageing (IHA Deputy Director)
Biology of ageing in C. elegans Genetics, Evolution and Environment david.gems@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Nazif Alic
Biosciences Fellow
Transcription and lifespan in Drosophila Genetics, Evolution and Environment  n.alic@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Felipe Cabreiro
Lecturer
Metabolism and metabolic diseases

Structural and Molecular Biology

f.cabreiro@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Lazaros Foukas
Lecturer
Signalling mechanisms in mammalian ageing
Genetics, Evolution and Environment

l.foukas@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Daniel Pearce
Lecturer
Ageing of haematopoietic stem cells

Genetics, Evolution and Environment

daniel.pearce@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Matt DW Piper
Royal Society Research Fellow
Nutrition, metabolic physiology and ageing in Drosophila

Genetics, Evolution and Environment

m.piper@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Eugene Schuster
MRC Career Development Fellow
Functional genomics of ageing

Genetics, Evolution and Environment

e.schuster@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Nick Wood FRCP, FMedSci (IHA Deputy Director) Genetics of Parkinson's and neurodegenerative disease Institute of Neurology
n.wood@ion.ucl.ac.uk
       
Associates of the IHA      
Prof Arne Akbar Ageing and immunity in humans Immunology and Molecular Pathology a.akbar@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Jürg Bähler Global gene expression programs in fission yeast Genetics, Evolution and Environment j.bahler@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Ivana Bjedov
Molecular Biology of Cancer
UCL Cancer Institute
i.bjedov@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Emeritus Tim Cowen Ageing of mammalian neurones Anatomy and Developmental Biology
t.cowen@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Dominic Withers Genetics of murine energy homeostasis and ageing UCL & Imperial College London d.withers@imperial.ac.uk

Page last modified on 11 mar 14 17:06