A A A
Feed icon

IHA news

Linda Partridge and the IHA feature interview with Time Out London

Professor Linda Partridge was recently interviewed by Time Out London and features in today's issue ('Rad Scientists', Time Out, 20/09/2016). You can read the article via our Facebook site at https://www.facebook.com/UCLInstituteofHealthyAgeing/
More...

Published: Sep 20, 2016 11:43:25 AM

Congratulations to Dr Teresa Niccoli on her paper in Current Biology

Congratulations to Dr Teresa Niccoli whose paper "Increased Glucose Transport into Neurons Rescues Ab Toxicity in Drosophila" has just been published in Current Biology by Cell Press. More...

Published: Aug 17, 2016 3:05:35 PM

ARUK funded post-doc position available at the IHA

The Institute of Healthy Ageing is currently seeking a post-doctoral research associate to work on the following ARUK-funded project.

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and frontotemporal dementia (FTD) are two devastating, mid-life, neurodegenerative disorders for which no cure is currently available. Large expansions of a hexanucleotide GGGGCC-repeat in the first intron of the C9orf72 gene is the most common genetic cause of both ALS and FTD. We recently developed novel Drosophila models of C9orf72 repeat-induced neurodegeneration (Mizielinska et al Science 2014, 345:1192-1194).

This 3-year post-doctoral position will build on this work by investigating disease mechanisms in a range of C9orf72 fly lines using several approaches including genome-wide transcriptomic and translational analyses in both flies and iPSC-neurons. You will work as part of a collaborative team of investigators in the excellent and supportive scientific research community of UCL.

The post is funded for 3 years in the first instance by Alzheimer’s Research UK and is available from October 2016.

For full information and to apply please visit the UCL website at https://goo.gl/E5vk8j
More...

Published: Aug 11, 2016 2:27:25 PM

Principal Investigators


Core members
Field of expertise
UCL department
Email
Prof Dame Linda Partridge DBE FRS FRSE FMedSci (IHA Director)
Biology of ageing in Drosophila melanogaster Genetics, Evolution and Environment

Executive Officer, Michael Wright

michael.wright@ucl.ac.uk

Prof David Gems
Professor in the Biology of Ageing (IHA Deputy Director)
Biology of ageing in C. elegans Genetics, Evolution and Environment david.gems@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Nazif Alic
Biosciences Fellow
Transcription and lifespan in Drosophila Genetics, Evolution and Environment  n.alic@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Felipe Cabreiro
Lecturer
Metabolism and metabolic diseases

Structural and Molecular Biology

f.cabreiro@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Lazaros Foukas
Lecturer
Signalling mechanisms in mammalian ageing
Genetics, Evolution and Environment

l.foukas@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Daniel Pearce
Lecturer
Ageing of haematopoietic stem cells

Genetics, Evolution and Environment

daniel.pearce@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Matt DW Piper
Royal Society Research Fellow
Nutrition, metabolic physiology and ageing in Drosophila

Genetics, Evolution and Environment

m.piper@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Nick Wood FRCP, FMedSci (IHA Deputy Director) Genetics of Parkinson's and neurodegenerative disease Institute of Neurology
n.wood@ion.ucl.ac.uk
       
Associates of the IHA      
Prof Arne Akbar Ageing and immunity in humans Immunology and Molecular Pathology a.akbar@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Jürg Bähler Global gene expression programs in fission yeast Genetics, Evolution and Environment j.bahler@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Ivana Bjedov
Molecular Biology of Cancer
UCL Cancer Institute
i.bjedov@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Emeritus Tim Cowen Ageing of mammalian neurones Anatomy and Developmental Biology
t.cowen@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Dominic Withers Genetics of murine energy homeostasis and ageing UCL & Imperial College London d.withers@imperial.ac.uk

Page last modified on 05 nov 15 14:18