A A A

IHA News

Gems Lab Summer Roundup

Congratulations to Jennifer Tullet (again!)

In September, Dr Jennifer Tullet will cease to be a postdoc, and take up
a Principle Investigator position running her own lab at the University
of Kent, where she will continue her investigations of ageing in C.
elegans. Jennifer also recently spoke at the American Aging Association
meeting in San Antonio, Texas, and recently published a paper entitled
“DAF-16 target identification in C. elegans: past, present and future”
in the journal Biogerontology.

Congratulations to Dr Yila de la Guardia!

Yila de la Guardia recently passed her Ph.D. viva (examiners, Prof Bart
Braeckman from the University of Ghent, and Dr Lazaros Foukas from the
IHA). Yila has now returned to Panama, and she is much missed.

New members of the lab

The lab welcomes three new members! Dr Yuan Zhao moved to the lab from
Cancer Research UK, London, where she worked on telomeres in fission
yeast with Dr Julie Cooper; and Dr Evgeniy Galimov from the National
Research Centre for Preventive Medicine, Moscow, where he worked on ROS
signalling and p66shc with Prof Viktor Skulachev. Both positions are
funded by the Wellcome Trust. Welcome also to Thanet Sornda who recently
started Ph.D. research in the lab. Thanet previously did a Master’s
degree at the Institute of Ageing and Health, Newcastle University, and
is funded by the state of Thailand.

News about David Gems

David gave various talks, e.g. at the Genetics of Aging and Longevity
meeting in Sochi (April), Russia, the British Society for Research on
Ageing meeting in Liverpool (July), and at Oxford and Cambridge
universities. He recently published two essays: 'What is an anti-aging
treatment?' Exp. Gerontol. (2014) 58: 14-18; and 'Evolution of sexually
dimorphic longevity in humans.' Aging (2014) 6: 84-91.
More...

Published: Sep 4, 2014 5:02:16 PM

Congratulations to Adam Dobson

Congratulations to Dr Adam Dobson who has been awarded a grant from the Cornell Center for Comparative and Population Genomics to study how the Drosophila gut changes in response to nutritional manipulations. This will establish a collaboration between the Piper lab and Dr Nicolas Buchon at Cornell University.
More...

Published: Sep 4, 2014 4:58:38 PM

Science Paper published

A recent Science article published by a team of UCL researchers including the IHA's Dr Teresa Niccoli sheds light into toxicity mechanisms. View the article here: http://goo.gl/2sgNCb More...

Published: Aug 19, 2014 10:24:04 AM

Partridge Lab


For general lab enquiries please contact Giovanna Vinti (Lab Manager) or Michael Wright (Executive Officer) in the first instance. For telephone enquiries please call 020 7679 4380.

Name

Job title

Email address

Jennifer Adcott

Mumtaz Ahmad


Research technician

Media Preparation technician
j.adcott@ucl.ac.uk

mumtaz.ahmad@ucl.ac.uk
Hrvoje Augustin Post-doctoral researcher h.augustin@ucl.ac.uk
Ekin Bolukbasi Post-doctoral researcher e.bolukbasi@ucl.ac.uk
Melissa Cabecinha
Research technician m.cabecinha@ucl.ac.uk
Rebecca Callard Research technician rebecca.callard@ucl.ac.uk
Jorge Ivan Castillo-Quan PhD student ji.castillo-quan.09@ucl.ac.uk
James Catterson

Post-doctoral researcher

j.catterson@ucl.ac.uk
Fiona Kerr
Post-doctoral researcher f.kerr@ucl.ac.uk
Mobina Khericha
Research Technician
m.khericha@ucl.ac.uk
Li Li
PhD student
li.li@ucl.ac.uk
Marcia Merrick
Media preparation technician
m.merrick@ucl.ac.uk
Teresa Niccoli
Post-doctoral researcher
t.niccoli@ucl.ac.uk
Adam Cryar
PhD student
a.cryar@ucl.ac.uk
Arj Rajasingam
Research Technician
a.rajasingam@ucl.ac.uk
Jenny Regan
Post-doctoral researcher j.regan@ucl.ac.uk
Cathy Slack
Post-doctoral researcher c.slack@ucl.ac.uk
Oyinkan Sofola
Post-doctoral researcher o.sofola@ucl.ac.uk
Anna Tillmann
Post-doctoral researcher
a.tillmann@ucl.ac.uk
Giovanna Vinti
Laboratory Manager
g.vinti@ucl.ac.uk
Nathan Woodling
Post-doctoral researcher
n.woodling@ucl.ac.uk
Michael Wright
Executive Officer
michael.wright@ucl.ac.uk
Partridge Lab Group

Page last modified on 15 jul 14 16:58